Greg Kleva dog training reviews

Greg Kleva

Expert Dog Trainer, Greg Kleva

See below for all reviews for Greg Kleva, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Christine F Dumont, New Jersey | October 31 2015
I don't even know where to start. My husband and I adopted our then 7 month old potcake from NSAL who was fearful and reactive. This is my husband first pet and the 2nd dog I've had. At the shelter his fearfulness and re activeness wasn't as obvious, we knew we would need to work with him but we didn't realize how much until about the 2nd week we had him. I had trained my previous dog on my own and thought I could with Hunter but I quickly realized we needed help, so we got a trainer. Hunter would bark at anyone and everything, try to nip (especially visitors at home), he would whine constantly, potty training was a struggle (he was house broken but would only go on walks, not in the backyard in a specific spot), he chewed 2 pairs of shoes and a coffee table, jump on the sofa only when we weren't home, was scared of the AC or heat turning on, would pull on leash and bark at everyone and everything, and who can remember what else... So the trainer told us to give him treats ALL THE TIME..When people would come over - constant treats - during walks - constant treats - when he barks - constant treats!! TREATS TREATS TREATS.. as you could guess it didn't work. He would vomit from so many treats and it wasn't good for his health. I literally followed every instruction the trainer gave us perfectly to avoid any issues, I was crazy about it (my poor hubby!!). He and I would argue over Hunter. After about 3/4 months no real changes, living with Hunter was a nightmare and he and I didn't know what to do. We couldn't enjoy walks, have friends or family over, or enjoy our new home! I wanted a dog to bring joy to our lives, I wanted my husband to experience the love a person can have for a dog and a dog towards a person. I had such a wonderful experience with my first dog, also a rescue, that I wanted that again. Needless to say my husband was sick and tired of being sick and tired of Hunter, and honestly, I was getting there too. The shelter told us he was adopted once before and returned because the new owners couldn't deal with him, I remember thinking what a**holes would do that .. and now I was thinking of doing the same..I figured lets try one more trainer and if that doesn't work there was nothing else we could do, we could at least say we did our best. I had to convince my hubby to spend money yet again on training, not an easy thing to do! We both agreed it was the last chance. After our first session with Greg all 3 of our lives changed. I honestly can't say enough good things, he changed everything for us. Hunter is happy and healthy, and we love spending time with him. We now go on hikes, long walks, play in the back yard, have friends over, all without worrying! He went from barking whenever a guest would stand up to go to the bathroom, to waiting by the couch as they entered and then greeting them! He will never be that super friendly dog (which we are ok with) but we can have friends over and not worry. He even stayed with my parents for 2 weeks while we were out of the country and they had NO problems with him! Not to mention they always have people over their house! The best is that Hunter can relax and enjoy his life, he doesn't have to be fearful, and we are so proud to be part of the change in him. I once feared he would bite someone and we would need to put him down..That is not a worry anymore. I know how to be best pet parent for him and what he needs, my husband and I know how to help him navigate through the world. We rescued him but Greg helped us save him. I know this is a long review but we had a tough time and this was our last shot. I honestly can't thank Greg enough. The change has been incredible and it has only been a couple months, people aren't kidding when they see changes in day 1..We didn't think we would but holy cow, instantly we saw a change. And with more work the change continued. We are still working for him and will always have to but even friends say "he is a completely different dog". We finally have the happy little family we wanted. THANK YOU GREG Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Digging, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Toileting
review image
Valerie K Old Tappan, New Jersey | October 11 2015
We adopted Bear, a 3 year old shelter dog with fear aggression and behavior issues, and had tried another trainer with no success. A friend recommended Greg at Bark Busters and we are amazed at our results! After just one session, Bear was no longer jumping up on us, waking us up during the night, and would come inside when called. He also tolerates guests in our home rather than growling at them! We also noticed an unexpected but very welcome side effect --Bear seems happier and more confident- he is a more playful, tail wagging, happy dog!! Hard to believe it only took one session! Thanks Greg!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
GARY G ENGLEWOOD CLIFF, New Jersey | September 16 2015
Greg was very good with my Great Dane Onyx from the first minute he walk in the door. Amazed at how well he methods and techniques worked...very successful and now its a pleasure to walk and be around Onyx! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Vinny S Old Tappan, New Jersey | September 16 2015
Greg was awesome!! Very personable and knowledgeable. Made it easy for my whole family to understand the program. Remy took to the training right away and we could not be happier right now. Looking forward to more lessons with Greg as Remy gets older. Would (and already have) recommend Greg to all pet owners. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
erica L Rivervale, New Jersey | September 15 2015
Greg was a training trainer for our stubborn puppy Marty! He gave us useful tips to curb his puppy behavior and now Marty is about to turn 1 years old and is such a fantastic WELL BEHAVED dog. We absolutely could not have trained Marty without Bark Busters assistance. He was patient and Marty was not the typical Dog.... He was a challenge! But Greg did not get discouraged and encouraged us to stick with the training and it paid off:) I strongly recommend his services to anyone with a puppy or a dog in need of training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Jessica M Fair Lawn, New Jersey | September 02 2015
Working with Greg to train our 9 month old puppy to stop aggression towards our 3yo dog has been a lifesaver. We were having to remove the 3 yo from the house at times due to fear of harm from the puppy. Almost instantly after Greg arrived the puppy, Bentley, was responding to the commands. Very shortly after that he was responding to the commands from my husband and I. The training has been helping tremendously and we continue to see it improve over time. We are truly grateful that the process was so quick, easy and effective. We are also applying the techniques to other situations such as walking on a leash and distance control. Thank you again, Greg! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
review image
Emily H Hoboken, New Jersey | September 01 2015
Training through Bark Busters has gone great! We started to see the effects of training on the very first day. Our rottie/aussie mix is an extremely energetic pup and we thought we would never be able to train her, and particularly keeps her from jumping up and stealing things from all over the house, but we were proved wrong! Greg Kleva was really great at addressing the issues we had and truly teaching us the value of earning the respect of our dog! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other
Jenica A
Jenica A Township of Washington, New Jersey | August 25 2015
We finally decided after 1 previous puppy class to bring in some outside help for our 2 year old rescue Brittany Spaniel, Banner. From the moment Greg arrived, it was apparent that he was not only knowledgable about dogs and dog training but was noticing things about Banner and how he responded to myself and my husband. We learned from Greg about how much our boy wants to please us and how by shifting how we communicate with him, he is better able to respond to us and allows us to be the leader of his pack, instead of the other way around. We also addressed his fixation with lights and shadows, a newer issue over the past few months that had us concerned since he wouldn't focus on anything else. We finally are starting to see our dog's personality come back! We would absolutely recommend Greg to anyone that has struggled with training, our only regret is that we waited so long to bring him in. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Ellice L
Ellice L Closter, New Jersey | July 23 2015
Greg was amazing! I must say his way of training made so much sense. We had other trainers before but Greg's training was so effective we saw results right away which was truly amazing. We realized that that my husband and I must both be on the same page and in agreement while teaching our dog. Greg was very patient and reassuring. I called him the day after the training to just go over something we weren't 100% sure of and he took the time to re-explain it and go over it again. He was very clear in explaining everything and we fit alot into our session. We are all on the same page, and the support he has shown us is wonderful. I wish I had found him 2 years ago when we first got our dog, but it's never too late. Thank You Greg! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Toileting
review image
Eleni P Emerson, New Jersey | July 04 2015
We saw so much improvement in our puppy after just one session! Highly recommended! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter