Greg Reetz dog training reviews

Greg Reetz

Greg Reetz

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Madison | September 19 2012
It's only been a week and a half since Greg's visit and we have already seen significant changes in our dog's behavior. Walks are much improved, and no more barking at neighbors as they walk past the window! Greg was great. He was very patient and answered all of my (numerous) questions. The techniques he showed us are simple, and his explanations helped us understand the reasoning behind why they work so effectively. It's also great to know that should we need help in the future, he's only a phone call away. It's such a relief to have that support system. I highly recommend Greg as a trainer. He clearly loves what he does and loves dogs. It was a great experience working with him. Permalink
review image
Madison | July 19 2012
We adopted a very troublesome 7 month old beagle who needed a lot of training and guidance. Within four days of having him, we knew we needed professional help as soon as possible. I called Greg from Bark Busters, and luckily he had an opening at the end of the same week. Unfortunately, the end of the week could not come fast enough, so I called Greg and he thankfully gave me training tips over the phone to help us through the next couple of days. Once Greg came, and we implemented the training techniques, our dog's behavior dramatically improved. We were very impressed. However, this dog proved to be a very stubborn beagle that needed extra attention. Greg was gracious enough to give us extra visits to help us with our pup. We are forever thankful for Greg's help and dedication. Throughout the difficult training period, he was very accessible and empathetic to our situation and would always call to follow-up and ask about the behavior issues. Should we ever have a behavior problem with another dog, Greg will be the first we call! Permalink
review image
Madison | July 03 2012
Working with Greg has been wonderful! His methods and training has been such a blessing to us and our dogs. We've had a Lakeland terrier, Chloe, since 2008, and we introduced a Shar Pei, Fiona, into our home in August 2011. Chloe was pretty well behaved before we got Fiona, but after they both turned into terrors. Chloe became very protective of her food and toys, and Fiona was crying all of the time and chewing the wall and furniture. They fought on a regular basis and couldn't be in the same room together, and this made our home very uncomfortable. I found Greg through a Google search and when I called him I actually asked him if the testimonials were real (he laughed and said yes), and here I am writing one. He came into our home in February 2012 and worked with my fiance and I, and helped us realize that the dogs needed more leadership, which we weren't giving them. Since then, the fights have been reduced dramatically, they can hang out together, the growling has been reduced, and their behavior has improved so much. In this case, I feel like Greg wasn't a dog trainer so much as a people trainer because we need training, too. Greg is always available, he's so helpful and he checks up on us regularly. I've enjoyed working with him because he wants us to call if we're having an issue with our dogs, he always says "If you don't call me, I can't help." He's even helped me with finding dog-friendly apartments in Madison. I thought that the training was more than I wanted to pay in the beginning, but the techniques that we've learned and Greg's attention to us has been priceless. I would (and have) recommend Greg to everyone who is having issues with their dog(s). I remember before I called him, in the back of my mind, I was afraid that I would have to give up one of my dogs, which was a terrible, terrible thought, but he was our saving grace. I'm so, so happy with Greg, the training, and my two happy dogs in our peaceful home. Permalink
review image
Madison | April 11 2012
Our dog Bella was about 7 months when we saw Greg's Bark Buster car and decided to check it out. After doing a little research, we gave Greg a call. To name a few concerns, Bella was terrible at going for walks, would get very anxious when we left the house, and would bark during the night. After our first visit with Greg we both felt more in charge. We had Bella sleeping through the night right away and after plenty of patience and practice leaving the house and going for walks become much more pleasant. Greg's guidance has been very beneficial and we are very glad we gave him a call. Thanks Greg! Permalink
review image
Wisconsin Rapids | January 28 2012
Greg came to my house to train Raggedy Anne of some of her bad habits. Greg was very impressive with her. She responded very quickly to his commands. She is doing 110% better now since Greg has trained her. I would highly recommend Greg to train your out of control dog he will get the job done right. I will use Greg all the time for any of my Training needs. Permalink
review image
Madison | December 09 2011
We can't speak highly enough about Greg and Bark Busters. Our terrier was adorable, but a hand-full. Two puppy classes didn't at all help. Then we heard about Bark Busters. Greg has made suggestions on corrections that are tailored to Seamus' personality. Thanks to Greg, Seamus is happy, content, playful, and yet the good boy we hoped he could become. We absolutely could not have made it on our own. Instead of fattening up your dog with treats (which, for us, didn't work), call Bark Busters. Greg has spent all the time we've needed, and he's always available. A wonderful service, and a bargain for what he provides. Permalink
Waunakee | November 14 2011
My wife and I have a 2½ year old Siberian Husky, named Pavlov, that we adopted from Adopt A Husky. He was found in the streets of Chicago and there was no information on where he came from or what he had been through. We had noticed that Pavlov had an issue with food aggression and being in the presence of other dogs. Pavlov would snarl at us if we came close to him while he was eating. When he would see another dog he would lunge, growl and bark like a maniac. Pavlov absolutely loves people and would roll over on his back to get his belly rubbed whenever he would meet someone. Greg informed us that Pavlov could be the author on "passive dominance" and that even though he was soooooo cute, he had to have more discipline and had to know that we are the pack leaders. Gregs methods worked very well with getting Pavlov to eat his food without snarling at us, breaking the cycle of him going belly up and then doing what we want and just general sits and stays when we needed him to. Pavlov use to lay between furniture, in corners or in his crate, but now he trusts us more, knows he is safe and will lay out on his bed, in the middle of the floor or under our legs with no issues. Pavlov sits and stays when visitors come, heels on walks and comes on command when he is outside. Due to the time of year (getting dark at 5) and us having very busy schedules we have not been able to work on Pavlov's behavior around other dogs that much. We plan on working with Greg in the spring and getting Pavlov to behave around other dogs. However, using some of Greg's techniques, we have been able to start getting Pavlov more comfortable around dogs we encounter on walks. Greg has helped us make Pavlov the absolute best dog in every way. Pavlov listens, sits and stays on command, comes when called and we believe Pavlov feels more secure and safe with us than he ever has before. Greg has done a great job and I would recommend him to anyone. THANKS GREG!!!! Permalink
review image
Oregon | April 08 2011
My dog, Nestle, was barking a lot. Greg came in and worked with us for one two and a half hour session. Nestle is NOT barking as often, is easy to correct when he misbehaves. I feel more confident in my leadership skills both inside the house and while we are outside walking. Thanks for your help Greg! Permalink
Middleton | March 29 2011
I am fostering a dog for a local rescue since mid-January 2011. She is a 4-6 year old Bichon/Maltese and is a retired breeder puppy mill dog that has lived her entire life in a cage. She is however a sweetheart but very shy and entirely untrained. We've patiently worked with her and she's made improvements but we hit a wall with her separation anxiety and nothing was working. She bonded with me to the extent that if she left my side she would bark uncontrollably until I returned. To make the matters worse, when she was anxious and barked she lost control and always pooped in the house. I called Greg who picked up and he agreed to promptly visit us for a private session. He was very generous to not charge for this consultation since this was a foster dog, which was highly appreciated by us and the rescue. To say that Greg was outstanding is an understatement. He first set and talked with us to understand the problem and the environment around the dog. Then, he was able to make the dog stay though we had never been able to do this, and he worked on basic obedience and separation anxiety. Greg managed to immediately control the dog and put her in a calm state of mind, as I left the house several times practicing realistic scenarios that had been problematic until that time. Greg patiently helped us understand how to communicate with the dog; he gave a presentation of the Bark Busters methodology, and showed us how to use training tools indoors/outdoors. The results were instantaneous, amazing and fantastic, there has been no more barking since his visit. Greg returned for a follow up visit and also e-mailed us specific instructions and homework in order to keep up the great Bark Buster leadership training. He also gave us handout materials for further reading. I say it without hesitation that Greg is the best dog trainer I have worked with and I very highly recommend him. He has helped change the fate of this rescue dog from unadoptable to entirely adoptable, and he has single-handedly ensured that this dog who has had a horrible past will now have a home sweet home to call her own. Thank you very much, Greg! Permalink
review image
Madison | October 11 2010
Greg Reetz is truly a remarkable trainer. I own a 1-year-old Maltese named Lily; cute as a button and adorably full of life, but at times, a little too much life. Let's just say, she was definitely calling the shots in this household. The constant barking, jumping up on guests, and nipping at pant legs were a growing annoyance, but I became concerned when Lily no longer wanted to go to doggy day care, and that's when I called Greg. I quickly learned that Lily was easy to train; I was the one that needed to be trained. To my defense, Lily is the first puppy I've owned, so I didn't know what I was doing wrong. Greg does an excellent job of analyzing the situation in your own environment. He instantly picked up on Lily's territorial behavior with our home and me. I was Lily's grand possession, which explains her no longer wanting to go to day care; she was developing separation anxiety. Within just 2 hours, Lily was a calm and happy dog. Granted, she still has her moments, but it's work in progress; the more I commit to working with her, the better she becomes. If you're having problems with your furry loved one, give Greg a call. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Permalink

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more