Scot Masamery dog training reviews

Scot Masamery

Expert Dog Trainer, Scot Masamery

See below for all reviews for Scot Masamery, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Sara V West Springfield, Massachusetts | July 19 2017
I was so skeptical to hire a trainer as I expected to get someone who only taught basics like sit and stay. My dogs both have behavioral issues. Scot walked in my door and within 3 seconds he stopped my female from barking which would typically continue for a full 30 minutes. Not a peep out of her for the entire 3 hours. Scot takes the time to listen and assess your needs and teaches you how to change your behavior to illicit the responses you desire in your pets. He's been gone for an hour and a half and I haven't had to reprimand them once since he walked out. I am aware that we have work ahead of us but it's clear that I've gained their attention already! I highly recommend Scot. He was professional and focused and never once promoted hurting or fear based training. Very helpful. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Trainer note from Scot : Thank You Sara. I had a blast working with you and the girls. Keep up the good work and let me know if you need anything.
Terri F
Terri F Braintree, Massachusetts | June 25 2017
When Scot came to our home, our puppy Charlie was barking, jumping, and had tons of energy. Immediately Scot effectively taught us and Charlie how to calm down. He talked to us most about how important it is to be the alpha dog in the relationship, and how to communicate with Charlie, and that we would not get through to him speaking the "foreign language" we call English. He taught us how to keep Charlie from toileting in the house too. Most of all he helped us enjoy being with our dog more. The most amazing part is that he did all this in 3 hours! We cannot wait to see Charlie's progress, and hope and expect great changes in our relationship and behavior for both Charlie and us humans. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
Pat B
Pat B Springfield, Massachusetts | April 28 2017
Scot's training with Casper was amazing. I can not believe how quickly I see the results of stopping Casper's aggression. Casper and I still have work to do together, Scot gave us the tools to succeed. Scot is extremely knowledgeable and explained everything in an understandable manner. I recommend Scot to anyone who has any issue with their dog, no matter how big or small. Thank you Scot Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
Tiffany J
Tiffany J Enfield, Connecticut | March 08 2017
Scot was simply amazing. He was flexible and understanding. He came in with a great session structure in mind and got straight to work. Our dog has been so well behaved since we have been consistent with the techniques he taught us. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Recall
Heidi B
Heidi B Boston, Massachusetts | March 06 2017
We called on Scot after over a year of escalating aggressive and distressing behavior by our 3.5 year-old pug. After moving into a new home, when our pug was about 2 years old, he began to showing signs of dominance, aggression and separation anxiety. For example, he perceived anything on our new, large screen TV as a threat, and he would repeatedly run at the wall the TV screen is mounted on, barking and running around the house, sniffing out a mispercieved threat. It got so bad that he was getting overheated from the distress. It got to the point that we could no longer turn on the TV without him going ballistic. This behavior then generealized to images on our laptop computers and smart phones that he would see. When we would try to put him in a separate room so we could watch TV without exposing him to the distress of the TV, he began attacking us as we would try to close the door, say, to our bedroom or office, where we would try to keep him. Additionally, he became increasingly aggressive with us (and anyone) who would try to leave our house -- jumping, barking, nipping and trying to block our exit. To try to remediate these behaviours, which were distressing to our pug as well as everyone in our family, we read books and watched videos online to try to find a fix, but our efforts yielded nothing helpful. Finally, feeling desperate, we stumbled across Scot and Bark Busters online. We were drawn to the in-the-home approach of Bark Busters as well as a number of other features of theirs that seemed more appealing than other options we had researched. Incredibly, after only a few hours of working with Scot, our pug's behaviour (as well as our family's towards him) improved. For the first time in over a year, we can now turn on and watch TV without eliciting a firestorm of barking and distressing behaviour from our pug. While we need to continue to practice and reinforce the techniques/approaches Scot taught us, we finally feel like we are on solid footing in our interaction with our pug. The dynamic between us has been reset. Our only wish is that we had learned these approaches earlier: a lot of stress and frustration could have been saved for all. Still, we are so happy to be where we are now, and we are so very grateful for the kind, knowledgeable and practical approach that Scot brought to training our pug and us -- no doubt the bulk of the education was directed at training us humans how to communicate/interact more effectively with our pug. Scot's thoughtful approach is something we hope more people experience. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Separation anxiety
review image
Barbara W Windsor, Connecticut | August 23 2016
Scot arrived at my house and was afraid to come in because Thelma was barking beyond viciously at the door. I ended up putting her in her crate so he could safely enter. We (me, my daughter, and my boyfriend) spent the 1st couple of hours learning about 'dog-speak' from Scot. It was obvious that he is extremely knowledgeable and experienced in communicating with dogs and teaching their owners the same. He is a most excellent teacher and made learning about how to understand your dog, communicate with your dog, and make sure your dog is well taken care of and loved in a way that was so easy to comprehend! We were all impressed with Scot's ability to present this information in such an intuitive way. Thelma continued to bark (aggressively) in her crate while Scot was educating us. When she finally stopped, we all went in to the living room. She immediately started barking viciously again. I have never seen her so aggressive - she was truly a wild animal and we were all frightened. With utmost patience, Scot showed us how to make her understand that I was the alpha and she could trust and depend on me to take care of her. After another hour or so, Thelma had quieted down and was obeying my commands calmly. We gave her rewards of love and affection when she obeyed me, Scot, my daughter, and Ed (boyfriend). By the end of the afternoon she was a different dog - Calm and quiet and most amazingly - friends with Scot! I am continuing Thelma's training the Bark Buster way and she continues to be obedient and trusting of me - her new pack leader. She is making amazing strides and responds to my commands more eagerly and quickly each day. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
Theresa D
Theresa D Springfield, Massachusetts | November 22 2015
Thank you Scott. It only has been 3 days but we see such an improvement in all 3 dogs. We actually can sit at the table and eat without our German Shepherd trying to steal our food. We don't have to put the trash up high anymore, she lays next to our rabbit's cage with out going crazy. It's so peaceful in the house. All 3 dogs have been doing much better on the barking. With a German Shepherd (5-months old) Chihuahua/Italian greyhound (2-yrs old) and a Chihuahua (6-yrs old) thy seem to get each other barking. Having Scott come to the house was the best thing. He knows what he is talking about and helped us out so much. Very nice guy and easy to talk to. I know if we keep up on the training techniques our dogs will have manners and be happy. Thank you so much Scott. You made our house a happy peaceful house. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Puppy management
Nicole L
Nicole L Middletown, Connecticut | July 13 2015
Today's class was amazing. Scott came in worked with me on how to better communicate with my dog better. It was the most amazing thing. After he left I went for a walk and was able to control his barking and pulling. I couldn't believe it. Just using a few techniques and changing how I acted I was waking a new dog. It was fabulous. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling
review image
Mikkisha C Holyoke, Massachusetts | July 02 2015
Our first visit was awesome! I can't even express the relief I feel knowing that we now have the tools and support to help us communicate with Boss! I've had boss for 8 years. 8 long years of fear aggression and seperation anxiety. He is 20lb so we just put up with it. But with the addition of our first child the nipping progressed into straight aggression. He actually attacked my mothers neighbor ending up in a home owners claim! We were at our end and actually considering putting him to sleep. Scott was our last chance! It's been 24 hours since we met with Scott and it's already like I have a new boy. He hasn't barked or growled once and three people have visited our home. I knew he was a good boy deep down and now we finally have what we need to bring it out! Bark busters saved my Boss's life, literally! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Separation anxiety
review image
Brittanie K West Hartford, Connecticut | January 06 2015
Prior to our session, my puppies were essentially ruling the house. They jumped up, didn't listen, and were pretty frustrating to train. All of that changed when Scot walked in; I've never seen anything like it. The education wasn't just for them either; he taught us how to act and think like canines so that we could take control of our home again. Since the session they have done a total 180 and I'm still in shock. Thanks Scot for helping us take back control of our home. It's nice being the alpha... Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more