Bark Busters Southeast Michigan Reviews

Reviews

68 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.98 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Sean & Samantha M.
    8 years ago — Southeast Michigan

    Ruth worked amazingly with us and our puppy !! She explained the training process thoroughly. The demonstrations and "hands on" training were key to our learning. Our goals were exceeded in the first training session. We would refer Ruth and Bark Busters to anyone. The written instructions she left with us serve as a good reminder for our leadership communication and training approach.
    Thank you so much !!!

    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    Great clients and great dog !!
  • Alexandra S.
    8 years ago — Ypsilanti, MI

    Photo of Vinny Vinny is my 2 year old rescue pit bull who struggled with fear aggression, barking at strangers, ect. I had an unfortunate incident where he attacked someone and it made me fearful of trusting him and taking him out in public. I work at Michigan Ave Animal Hospital in Ypsilanti and some of the girls from my work mentioned Ruth from Bark Busters. Later on that day I called her and she talked to me over the phone taking the time to let me explain my situation to her asking questions and just listening to my concerns, after that phone call I felt like I already was great pals with Ruth and was looking so forward for her to come over and meet Vinny. The day came for my appointment and I was extremely nervous for both myself and Vinny, I was fearful of another incident. Ruth walked in my apartment with a smile and an attitude to help me and my Vinny. The session couldn't have gone better for myself and for Vinny. She took the time to explain everything to my understanding and made me feel comfortable as well as Vinny. The techniques she used Vinny responded too very quickly and positively, I saw improvements with in minutes, did I mention I have two others, a pitt bull puppy and a boxer mix, who Ruth took the extra time to meet & greet as well as give me some pointers on them? How awesome is she!! Long story short I would recommend Ruth to anyone and everyone who's having any sort of problem with there furry friend. I see a bright future for Vinny and I, Ruth helped me gain my confidence back as a good dog owner as well as helped Vinny gain confidence back in me. Thank you Ruth, and future clients do not hesitate for a second to give her a call!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Alexandra ... the pleasure was all mine. It is always very rewarding to see clients enjoy our
    training approach, as well as, the positive results they start to see right away. You all did a great job !!
  • Dawn & Brian H.
    8 years ago — South Lyon, MI

    Photo of Flossy Our trainer, Ruth, was prompt, professional, and personable. She spent plenty of time with us, teaching us several techniques that were immediately effective. We are practicing what she taught and looking forward to her next visit.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Diane S.
    8 years ago — Brighton, MI

    Ruth is wonderful, she was at our home for two hours. She worked great with us and Arrow. We are empty nesters, treating Arrow as one of the pack and we were not the leaders of him. I've been a Veterinary Technician for 23 years and never have been tested as much as this 17 pound terrier has tested me. About a week ago, Arrow bit a 4 year old neighbor girl in her rear. I was ready to euthanize him. After one session with Ruth we feel much better about how to prevent this from happening again. I will definitely recommend her and Bark Busters to all of our clients who are having behavioral issues. Unfortunately, I've seen more pets having more behavioral issues as each year goes by.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Jaquelin W.
    8 years ago — Southeast Michigan

    Ruth is great! The training is extremely helpful. Each time we meet she gives Rocky and I homework and he showed signs of improvement after the first lesson we had. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for some obedience help.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Pulling
  • Kathy R.
    8 years ago — Brighton, MI

    I was really impressed with how quickly and well Bacardi´responded to Ruth's methods. Now I just have to remember to be consistent with applying them!

    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Toileting
  • Brittany C.
    9 years ago — Saline, MI

    I am very pleased with Ruth and what she has done for Mya. Thankfully Ruth has been able to explain Mya's anxiety in a way that makes sense! Mya responded well to the first training session and I can't wait to see what the future sessions bring. I liked that the training equipment is not harmful and Ruth did not push medications or excessive exercise as solutions to Mya's anxiety as so many other professionals and vets have. Now I am able to communicate with my dog in a way that she understands which leads to a more relaxing atmosphere.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
  • Bob & Ellen D.
    9 years ago — Southeast Michigan

    Ruth is very patient with both dog and owners. She understands issues very well and is confident in her techniques. She is very interested in resolving problems and behaviors with both dog and owners !!

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
  • Patti M.
    9 years ago — Howell, MI

    Photo of Onyx I am so grateful and in such SHOCK! I HIGHLY recommend Bark Busters for dog training and corrective behavior. I especially HIGHLY recommend Ruth Skinner. She is AMAZING! I'm exhausted. I just spent and hour and a half being trained myself then working with Onyx (my 2 yr old German Shepherd male). I was successfully able to have her knock & ring the door bell on two separate attempts and Onyx did not charge the door nor BARK. He even actually sat down once I opened the door & he could see her. INCREDIBLE! We went out back too. He did really well being corrected and allowed her to get near the fence about 5 feet away. She then got my neighbor to come out to test him. My neighbor and the trainer stood in my neighbor's yard near her house and Onyx did quite well. My neighbor even told the trainer that he's drastically different. Background on my dog Onyx, we were attacked a couple times by two different sets of two dogs that got out of their yard. At 7 months old, the first attack by two pit bulls happened. My pup at the time protected me and scared them off. He hasn't been the same since. He's always on guard whenever anyone is outside or comes to the door. Prior to that attack, he was very social and everyone could be around him even multiple (100's of people at a time) and he'd just be very relaxed and social and even lay down. I want that dog back and Ruth has made such a difference in just an hour and a half. God bless her.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Other
  • Jacci D.
    9 years ago — Brighton, MI

    Photo of Dunkn My rescue dog Dunkn came from a puppy mill, he was a stud that lived in a cage. He had no idea what the outdoors was like, birds, squirrels or stairs. When outside he would stare, and drink the entire bowl of water, pace & jump on my screens at wildlife. I called Ruth who changed my life within the first 40 minutes. Often a dogs behavior is due to the owner. Ruth teaches you to be the best owner/leader for your best friend! He listens to commands because of Ruth and she taught us how to go for a walk not have him walk me. She helped with potty training, barking and rewarding him with high praise not treats! She is very caring about my concerns and very responsive. Thank you for changing my life Ruth!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Toileting
    • #Other