Bark Busters Greater San Diego Reviews

Reviews

139 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 5 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Mariah M.
    10 months ago — Encinitas, CA

    It has been about 1 year since our first training session, and we are still using and loving the tools today' It's not like a one time lesson and our dog was instantly fixed. In fact, we fell off from using the tools we'd learned for a few months, then realized we needed to get strict with our behavior so Koa could go back to his relaxed state of mind. The onus is on us as Kia's humans to do the work so he's a happy, healthy pup, and that was one of the biggest lessons from Justin. A year later I still think the training was worth every penny and I recommend it to anyone even slightly interested.

    Thank you again, Bark Buster's!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Dana G.
    10 months ago — La Jolla, CA

    I cannot recommend Justin enough for anyone struggling with their dog's behavior. He has been a game-changer for us and our dog Ziggy. We came to Justin when Ziggy was exhibiting leash reactivity, separation anxiety, and excessive barking, which was making it difficult for us to enjoy walks and even leaving the house without worrying about our neighbors complaining.

    From the very first consultation, Justin was incredibly patient, knowledgeable, and kind. He took the time to listen to our concerns and understand Ziggy's personality and tendencies. He explained the psychology behind dogs' behavior and how we could communicate more effectively with Ziggy to help him overcome his challenges.

    Justin also gave us easy-to-follow homework and guided walkthroughs that helped us build confidence and trust with Ziggy. We saw significant improvements in Ziggy's behavior after just one session. He is much more relaxed and comfortable being left alone and coming in contact with other dogs and people.

    Most importantly, Justin was always available to answer our questions and provide support whenever we needed it! He truly cares about his clients and their dogs, and it shows in his work.

    Overall, I cannot recommend Justin enough for anyone looking for a knowledgeable, patient, and effective behavioral dog trainer. Best decision we could’ve made to help our dog, and we are so grateful for his help!

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    Dana we are so glad Ziggy is doing so well. Congrats to you for doing the homework.
  • Randy M.
    10 months ago — Poway, CA

    Jenna Finch is a miracle worker!! My two Havanese dogs, ages 5 years and 7 years have had numerous classes and private trainers over their lives. Despite being affectionate and friendly each had developed behaviors that made them less than desirable neighbors in high rise buildings. No trainer was able to change those negative behavior. Rushing the front door, going into frenzies when guests arrived and being very demanding of attention from those guests were the most frustrating behaviors. In one visit, Jenna eliminated all of those actions and the new behavior has remained consistent with reinforcement homework by me. I discovered by accident that my older dog barked constantly when my husband and I are both gone from home. Jenna showed me how this was classic separation anxiety behavior. With the assistance of a nanny cam and Jenna's patient guidance and support, my boy has stayed quietly in his bed during our absences. I had to make sure the camera was actually working I was so astonished! All of these incredible results after only a week! Jenna is a pleasure to work with, explains everything then gives you very clear guidance in writing. She has been unfailingly available , including on nights and weekend. I couldn't be more delighted by the results of her training!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Jesse S.
    20 months ago — San Diego, CA

    Justin was INCREDIBLE. Highly recommend!!! He was truthful about the challenges of my dog and the situation in general. His feedback was so honest and genuine despite the difficult nature of my dog. I can’t recommend him any higher. Thanks so much Justin.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Other
  • Sadie K.
    2 years ago — San Diego, CA

    Photo of Penny I am still in shock with how quickly my dog went from an anxious aggressive dog to a calm happy dog. Justin is incredible. We have worked with multiple other trainers for over a year and within one session, our dog was transformed. The photo attached is our dog who is so relaxed she is ASLEEP right next to another dog. To be honest, we had given up hope before meeting Justin. His tips are simple and yet effective. Don't waste your time with anyone else. Hire Justin- he understands dogs!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Monty S.
    2 years ago — San Diego, CA

    Photo of Rin When we adopted Rin we knew nothing about her first four years of her life and we realized early on that she will need special care for her behavior. She was anxious, insecure, and wary of her new surroundings, new people, and new life in the city. We were patient with letting her acclimate, but when the half year mark came around we knew we needed help. We were so relieved when Justin finally came by and gave us the right tools and the right frame of mind when it comes to interacting and helping Rin-- in just one session. Justin did what google search couldn't do, and it was provide on-site expert opinion and advice, providing us with exact answers and tools to help face the challenges we have with Rin.
    Lastly, Thank you for the important dietary advice! Rin loves her food now more than ever.

    • #Other
  • Adam P.
    3 years ago — San Diego, CA

    Five stars for Justin without a doubt. Our Aussie was very reactive. For 5 years we were tormented with her going into a frenzy whenever she encountered another dog whether it be walking, car rides or seeing one on TV. She would lunge, growl and bark and act as though she wanted to fight even though she would never bite or attack another dog.

    Luna's behavior started when she about 6 months old. We had three different dog trainers prior to Justin. The first two were "positive reinforcement" using treats, clickers and commands. They did not work. The third was the e-collar which gives the dog a shock to prevent the unwanted behavior. This did not work either. We loved Luna but after five years of anxiety filled walks, drives and TV watching we were stressed out, frustrated and running out of ideas and patience. We did not want to rehome her after five years but we also were not convinced more training would do the trick.

    I did a search for dog trainers in San Diego and found Bark Busters. I read the reviews and it sounded promising. They guaranteed the problem would go away. I called them and the fellow I spoke with let me know that their behavior training wouldn't include bribes, clickers or any other gimmicks. He said it was much more similar to what I may have seen on TV's Dog Whisperer. So, we gave it a chance! We were hopeful yet skeptical.

    Appointment day came and Justin and Jenna showed up. Justin explained the method to us, and it made sense, but I was anxious to see the "concept" go into practice. Sure enough, within 1 hour with Justin coaching from the sidelines Luna was behaving. It was amazing! We walked by dogs and she was calm and submissive. The method is quick and easy and best of all, it works! We have a new dog. We are happy and Luna is happy.

    Best training ever! Money well spent. Our only regret is not doing it sooner. Justin knows his stuff, his training works, and it is easy to follow. Thank you Justin!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
  • Johann C.
    3 years ago — La Mesa, CA

    I adopted, Rowan, my 6 yr. old chocolate lab mix when he was 3. I have no knowledge of his history but soon realized that he was not dog friendly and exhibited fear behavior when around other dogs, that is, barking, pulling, lunging and growling. When I recently moved from Denver to La Mesa, the pulling, tugging, lunging on leash became worse. My daughter heard about Bark Busters from a friend in Canada. I set up an appointment with Justin and had two appointments with him. The change in my dog's behavior was astonishing and monumental using the bridle and techniques we learned from Justin. Now Rowan and I can walk past other dogs on the street calmly with no tugging, pulling or barking. It has transformed walking with my dog. Thank you, Justin!!!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Alyssa B.
    6 years ago — San Diego, California

    When Justin first came in, I was more apprehensive than ever while watching one of my pugs jump on his face while the other started nosing through his backpack. They were definitely pulling out all of the stops to show him why we needed him there and I was mortified. Justin immediately put my husband and I both at ease with his passion and knowledge when it comes to working with dogs. What stands out immediately is that he is HAPPY in his field and he isn't there to shame you for the behaviors that your dog has picked up. He is there to teach us the language necessary to communicate boundaries and expectations to them so that we, pups included of course, are thriving and living happily among one another.

    Seriously, our dogs were completely different dogs within the first half hour of him being there. It has been 24 hours since Justin came and these hours have been the most calm I have ever seen them. They are happy as can be and so are we. The tools that Justin equipped us with have made a world of difference in the way that our home feels and that is absolutely priceless. Our lives are truly changed. Thank you so much, Justin! We may not NEED to see you again but we all sure would like to :) #justinthedogwhisperer, #barkbustersisforreal

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
  • Eugene S.
    6 years ago — San Diego, California

    CESAR MILAN WHO?! ITS ALL ABOUT JUSTIN "The Real Dog Whisperer"

    I am going to keep it short and simple if you haven't ready the hundreds of reviews below and been convinced then read this one!! We have a 80 pound Argentino Dogo puppy named Chance who is a absolute bolt of lightning! His issues included pulling on the leash, jumping on guests, attacking the front door when mailman or delivery drivers or just about anyone knocks, stealing food, jumping on counters etc... What I can tell you is that is true its all true, the session took about two hours start to finish, and within minutes Justin had our puppy acting respectfully and fully under our control. I was skeptical like everyone else about having to pay a large amount of $$$ and getting no results in return. Justin is worth every penny and to be honest I would have paid more!!! His techniques are simple, easy, and effective. No shock collars, no physical abuse of any kind to our puppy. Everyone suggested we use a shock collar simply because the breed is massive and normally cant be controlled by someone small or passive. However my 135 pound wife had our puppy walking by her side like a champ no pulling no lunging just a focused and controlled puppy! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND JUSTIN TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A REAL HONEST EASY GOING TRAINER!!! DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY LOOKING FOR ANYTHING BETTER! There is a reason it takes two months to get an appt with him, so book now you wont be sorry! Justin you are the man, and we are glad that we have you in Chance's corner! Now as for you the reader pick up the phone and call the darn number, should not take you more then 10 awesome reviews to make a decision and in the meantime your dog is probably eating your shoe! SO GET TO DIALING!! ;-)

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Digging
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling