Bark Busters Tampa Reviews

Reviews

175 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.92 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Christine P.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    Like many I adopted a COVID-19 baby. I am a firm believer in professional training. Due to the pandemic it was hard to find in person training. I opted for an online program which helped with some basics. But not overall obedience. I contacted Barkbusters to help progress Wally, now 18 months old to the next step. His separation anxiety and ease of excitement is off putting to some in my family and with the holidays approaching I needed a solution. Jef was incredibly responsive. He offered two different packages. I selected the Gold as it promotes long term success. It is also important to note I chose Barkbusters because of the method. No shock or choke collars. No treats. My first experience with dog training many years ago centered on using a choke collar to get the dog to comply. I found it to be mean and so did my dog. I have also used the sleep away camp training and although effective, it took longer for my dog to respond to me. Barkbusters teaches verbal cues and the use of body language. You have to rewire your own brain because you may have to move your vocal range from low to high quickly. But it works! After just one session I am amazed at the results. Daily behaviors I had a hard time controlling are in control. Wally responds immediately to my cue. Another note Jef trained me not Wally. You have to be willing to put in the work and then consistently reinforce the training. We are done yet. But I look forward to our next session! *Highly recommend **

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Christine! I had so much fun working with you, Will, Wally and Thomas. You are off to a really good start. Looking forward to the follow up visit.
  • Kathryn T.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    We are so happy that we found Jef to help us when we were concerned that our dog was showing aggressive behaviors (growling and being territorial). When we noticed the behaviors getting worse, we called Jef and upon his first visit he immediately put us at ease that it was correctable. Jef is extremely professional, and we have learned so much from his visits. Our dog's behavior is improving, and we can breathe a little easier knowing he will only get better. If you have any concerns, don't give up on your dog, please call Jef!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Digging
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Kate! It's been a joy to work with you and Kurt. You both are doing a great job teaching Solo what the rules are. Keep up the great work!
  • Darcy F.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    Jef is punctual, relatable, and patient. We needed the patience the most during this training because we are training two dogs that are 7 years old who have really had no training in their lives. After just one visit, the dogs were notably different. They have less anxiety and are now more respectful of their space and us. Jef makes training them an easy and positive experience. We feel like we can have some sort of order in our lives now that the dogs are more at ease. I highly recommend Jef as your trainer.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Toileting
    Trainer Note:
    Hi Darcy,

    Thank you for the kind review. You and your family have treated me like an old friend so it's been a joy to help you all with Nica and Paco.

    all the best,

    Jef
  • Valerie W.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    Photo of Royal, Lola & Lindy We had our first session and the dogs learned a lot and we learned even more! The girls are all responding so well to the new commands. The barking is starting to get under control! Looking forward to spending time with Jef. Highly Reccomend! Professional and Effective!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Toileting
    Trainer Note:
    Hi Valerie,

    Thank you so much! You and James are well on your way to a pack of well behaved pups. Looking forward to our next session!

    All the best,

    Jef
  • Desi & Vinny V.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    Photo of Sky 'm a firm believer in dog training without e-collars, and finding a trainer who didn't employ them wasn't easy but we found Bark Busters.... Jeff is teaching me how to speak dog! We've met for one session and I've learned so much already. Best of all, it's working. I have a husky mix, so needless to say the training is more than necessary. Luckily, this is for life... sorry Jeff, you're stuck with us.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Hi Desi,

    LOL, I'm thrilled to be stuck with great clients like you and Vinny! Sky is lucky to have such good humans. I'm impressed by your and Vinny's commitment to help Sky learn good behavior. Looking forward to our next session!

    Jef
  • Sherri A.
    2 years ago — Palm Harbor, FL

    My husband, Mark and I have an eight year old Golden Retriever named Callie and recently brought home an English Cream Golden Retriever Puppy named Kenzie. Callie was a very easy puppy to train and is a great dog except for a few easy to overlook habits. Kenzie arrived and was a lot more head strong and difficult. We have had four other golden retrievers prior to these and had participated in several training programs over the past 40 years. We felt we needed to refresh our training skills and our vet suggested BARK BUSTERS. Jef Evans from BARK BUSTERS contacted us quickly and was very interested in helping us. Getting started with Jef, we have had the opportunity to learn a different way to train. With this new program and the new knowledge we are gaining, we are finding it more effective and lasting as well as an enjoyable experience for us and our dogs. Jef is very patient helping us with transitioning from some old school training methods, implementing our new training skills and the results speak for themselves. Our trainer is very supportive and responsive. Callie and Kenzie (now 5 1/2 months old) are both making good progress and we are all enjoying working on this together. We will be happy to report back again on our progress as we continue to work with Jef and BARK BUSTERS on our communication, relationship and bonding.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Sibling rivalry
    Trainer Note:
    Hi Sherry,

    Thank you for sharing your story and for the kind words about your experience in the training process. It has been my pleasure to work with you and Mark. The hard work you’ve invested in the training process is evidenced by Callie and Kenzies improved behavior. Keep up the good work and I’ll see you soon.

    Jef
  • Janet A.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    I am using Bark Busters for my newfoundland dogs. They are big dogs and I needed a program that ensured that I would be able to learn how to be the "BIG DOG in charge!" Bark Busters is a program that works effectively and quickly. Beyond that, Jef, my trainer, is amazing! He explains everything so clearly and with such great examples that I understand what I have to do to put myself in a leadership position in my pack. Jef is friendly and professional and I look forward to having him come to my house for training sessions! He encourages me and helps me correct my behavior so my dogs can be happy and positively respond to the training. Jef is reliable and responsive and even his emails have ideas for me to try before our next session. Imagine how wonderful it is once you understand the program, to have someone available to ask for help and get it immediately! That is Jef Evans!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Pulling
    • #Sibling rivalry
    Trainer Note:
    Your dogs are twice as big as you, but you totally the BIG DOG. Thank you for the compliments. I'm impressed with the leadership you show your gentle giants. It's been a joy to visit and look forward to the updates!
  • Tyler H.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    Jef works miracles! My dog Shadow was aggressive with other dogs and wouldn't listen to my commands. Out on a walk, he would growl and lunge at other dogs. When someone came to the front door, he would go into attack mode to the point where I had to put him into his crate. Jef taught me how to step up and be the leader and Shadow was like a different dog. Don't wait!

    • #Aggression
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Tyler! The miracle is all credited to you. You did a great job with the communication and Shadow picked up on it immediately. Keep up the good work!
  • Adam & Mary G.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    We were recommended to Bark Busters from a client of ours and we're so glad we reached out. Jef helped us determine that one of our dogs felt like she was the pack leader and that's what was creating all of our/their problems. Our first visit was almost 4 hours and we saw changes in them from the first visit. We love that Bark Busters uses positive reinforcement training methods too. Our dogs were barking at any noise outside, dogs on TV, dogs on the other side of the fence, when someone knocked on the door and so on. Jef helped us realize that they had given themselves the protection role and we needed to take it back to relieve them of that stress, which lead to more harmony in the home. The training is well worth the investment and we can't wait till our follow up sessions to learn more. Highly recommend!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Hi Adam & Mary!

    Bee and Rigby were ready for leadership and you guys did so well right off the bat. Keep up the great work. Looking forward to my next visit.

    thanks,

    Jef
  • Raul M.
    2 years ago — Tampa, FL

    Great training program. My puppy went from borderline out of control to obedient, and well behaved.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Toileting
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Raul! Boot is such a good dog now that he has your leadership. Looking forward to updates!