Keith Axsom dog training reviews

Keith Axsom

Expert Dog Trainer, Keith Axsom

See below for all reviews for Keith Axsom, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Kelly F Magnolia, New Jersey | March 14 2020
My husband and I adopted a sweet, goofy, 2 year old German Shepherd. Chloe was previously food and crate trained, she adjusted wonderfully! However, we soon found out she had difficulty with leading on walks/interactions with other dogs. We love our Chloe-bear and are overjoyed he and I can give her the best life! I will admit, at times I found myself crying because her walks were too hard to manage. (Don't even get me started on visits to Petsmart haha.) Knowing Spring is approaching and more dogs will be out and about, we had no choice but to seek help. As a customer, I am always reading reviews! That is how we discovered Bark Busters and Keith. Within the FIRST training, Chloe showed tremendous improvement! Keith is prompt, kind, approachable and highly professional. (He loved to give Chloe her scratches!) My husband and I continue to work closely with Keith and we are grateful for the ongoing support!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks for the great review Kelly and Mike, awesome job with Chloe!
review image
Mat F East Brunswick, New Jersey | February 21 2020
It's been about 24 hours since our first session with Keith, and the results are well beyond my expectations. It's like our dog, Grace, knew the rules this whole time, and just realized that they weren't optional yesterday. He taught us how to build leadership by communicating with Grace in a way that she understood. It even seems like she's happier now, which I attribute to her better understanding what we need from her. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Recall
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks for your kind review Mar, you're on your way!!!
Bea C
Bea C Mountainside, New Jersey | February 04 2020
My family had an excellent experience with Keith when we worked with him a few weeks ago. One of our two 9 month old pointer rescue puppies began displaying possessive aggression behaviors against his brother and our cats. Inappropriate guarding, growling, and snapping when our other pets came near members of our family. We have owned high-energy sporting breeds for years, and tried all sorts of usually effective things to change Kep’s behavior, but had no luck. We knew we were missing part of the puzzle to communicate effectively with our dog. We were scared for the safety of our other pets and were unsure where to turn. I reached out to Keith and heard back within the day to set up an appointment for that weekend. Keith showed us new methods to “speak dog” and drastically improved our relationship and communication with both our boys. These methods are particularly useful because they are easy to repeat and maintain, all you need to is your voice and body language. Kep has not had ANY aggressive incidents since our session with Keith. I almost couldn’t believe how effective the training was in the first lesson. Due to the program’s simplicity, we have been able to consistently maintain results on Kep’s training in the weeks following. I would HIGHLY recommend working with Keith, his love for dogs and his job is obvious. Thank you Keith! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks so much Bea, very happy for your success with Kep and Pick!
review image
Claire D Monroe, New Jersey | January 03 2020
We have two 13 1/2 month old coonhound/lab mix brothers. They wouldn't stop barking and lunging at people, cars etc. they are actually good natured dogs once they get to know you, but the barking was out of control, whether they were on a leash or in the car or in the house. Keith came over to our home for the first time yesterday. He said there would be improvement the first day and unbelievably there was!!!He showed us how to deal with them and teach them what is expected of them without treats. Of course we have to continue training them until we have our second session. The folder he gave us with all the informative needed to train them is so helpful. He is always available by phone for advice or to come by if necessary. I can't say enough good things about Keith. He is a pleasure to deal with and the dogs responded to him so well. We look forward to our second session. I can't believe the difference he made in one day. We were really impressed with him and his training procedure. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Keith : Thank you for your kind review Claire, very happy for your success with Gatsby and Jimbo!
Meredith K
Meredith K East Windsor, New Jersey | December 04 2019
Keith is an amazing trainer! We had Keith help us with our new rescue that we adopted from a pretty rough shelter. Focus and acclimating her with our family cats were our main goals. Well, less than 24 hours after our first session, our girl is showing amazing progress. Keith has a calm, reassuring demeanor that really puts the dog at ease. He is also very good at communicating with us pet parents, giving us all the tools to make the training achievable and results stick. Our girl came out of her crate this morning and walked through the house focused on her dad, and not her kitty siblings. She is more relaxed on the leash and immediately responsive to commands. When we do need to use correction, she responds immediately and positively, showing that the training is helping to build her confidence within our family. We are beyond pleased with the results of our first session, and beyond grateful to Keith for his guidance. Can't wait to have him back to see her progress! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Keith : Great job Meredith and thanks for the review!
review image
Maria T Metuchen, Middlesex, New Jersey | November 01 2019
A BIG thank-you to Keith! I was at my wit's end. My adopted dog would mouth and jump at me, or anything else he could find around the house in order to get my attention. It was impossible for me to do simple tasks, like taking a 5 minute phone call, because he would seek my attention by chewing my shirts, arms, and hands. Keith showed me how to correct and communicate with my little guy so that he knew when to chew a toy instead of ME. Moreover, he is already a MILLION times better on walks, and quickly picked up door programming. Thank you, Keith, for teaching me how to "speak dog!" Guinness and I are on the same page now and continue to train daily. You've made a world of a difference! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks very much Maria, very happy for your success!
review image
Rainelle H Monroe Township, Middlesex, New Jersey | October 19 2019
Henry was the terror of the neighborhood. People walking with or without a dog tried to stay away from us as I did with them. Henry would bark and carry on like a rabid dog. We had quite the reputation. We would have to lock Henry in a bedroom if people came to visit. Henry would even try to smash through the sliding glass doors to get to a squirrel, chipmunk or bird. It was horrible. The turning point was when this 20 pound dog almost knocked me down, I knew I would have to either rehome Henry or address the issues. After 1 training session with Keith, Henry was a different dog. Henry's whole demeanor has changed. We can now walk Henry throughout the community and people who have come in contact with Henry think that we switched dogs, they cannot believe it is Henry. He is now a true pleasure to walk and he is making friends with other dogs and people in the neighborhood, Our many many thanks to Keith for his proficiency in the art of knowing animal behavior. Keith is dedicated, professional, knowledgeable and always available. I highly recommend Keith, he is a phenomenal Dog Behavioral Therapist and Trainer. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Keith : Thanks Rainelle, very happy for you and great job with Henry!
review image
Casey C Millstone, New Jersey | October 13 2019
Keith is a true professional. I never thought that our dog would transform as drastically as she did with the initial training program. I was skeptical. After Keith left, I had to leave for work as well. As I got home (4 hours later) I said outloud as I got home "No Way This Is My Dog" You'll understand what you've been doing wrong You'll also understand why it works. IT WORKS - INVEST IN IT Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Keith : Very happy for your success with Luna, thanks so much for the review!
review image
Jaina B Burlington, New Jersey | September 24 2019
Keith is an amazing trainer! We have a 1-2 year old Cane Corso, that we rescued from a shelter. He is around 100 pounds, and would get very mouthy, pull on the lease, jump when excited, and grab food from anywhere. After the end of our first session, we were able to sit an entire slice of pizza on the floor without Kong going for it!! Now, the work isn't over once Keith leaves. It takes continual follow up with your dog to reinforce the behaviors that you want them to display. But the time spent with Keith is well worth it! He is always available and willing to help. Highly recommend!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other
Trainer note from Keith : Very happy for your success Jaina and great job on the follow through!
Alice R
Alice R Monroe, New Jersey | August 28 2019
I initially contacted bark busters after seeing their amazing reviews on yelp. I have a very over protective dog who barks aggressively at anyone or any dogs. It was not controllable. She also bites of excitement and gets very over protective over me. We needed help. Keith was our trainer. He was very helpful when he came to our house explaining their methods and techniques on how they train each dog . As soon as we started training my dog with her behavioral barking I saw a change right away!! It was unbelievable. With very easy teaching techniques and some correction my dog was a totally different dog I could not believe it ! Keith was so patient and informative with the whole process I couldn't have asked for a better trainer. I can't wait to get together again for our next session to see my dog improve even more!! I would definitely recommend barkbusters to those who need help with their dog with behavioral issues. Definitely worth it!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
Trainer note from Keith : It was great to work with Alice, you did a great job with Coco. Congratulations on your success!

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter