Bark Busters Denver Reviews

Reviews

129 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.99 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Jamie C.
    8 years ago — Comment by Jamie Cooke on Denver, Colorado

    My dog Charlie is a corgi/husky mix and for a long time I thought it was not going to be an easy task to train him. After just the first visit with Scott we saw a significant improvement in his behavior. Relief is all i am feeling and i couldn't be happier. We will continue to use his techniques and can't wait for him to come back to see his improvement! THANK-YOU SCOTT !!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Jennifer k.
    8 years ago — Denver, CO

    We just had our 2nd training visit from Scott and we are so impressed with how well and quickly our pup, Sage, has responded. She's a german Shepard mix, 10 months. I had worked with her from 8 weeks old on basic training and she could do the main commands but I was having trouble controlling her "manners" in the house (jumping, barking, etc). We also needed a lot of help with leash control. She just wasn't responding to the training tactics I was trying. We learned from Scott that she thought of herself as the alpha and with some basic commands we had her understanding that she wasn't in control.

    The first visit we worked on indoor issues, and she's been responding incredibly well, stopped jumping right away, THANK YOU! And it's great to be able to tell/show her when we need her out of our space, she's not perfect with this yet, but it's been a huge improvement and we are still working with her. The second visit concentrated on the leash and especially not pulling/leading. Already impressed with her response!

    We knew we had a smart dog on our hands and we wanted to get everything under control quickly, especially with a 2 yo in the house and a baby on the way. We love our Sage pup and want her to be apart of all of family activities without being a pest. Thanks Scott!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Cindy F.
    8 years ago — Denver, CO

    Our otherwise lovely, kind and calm 2 1/2 YO Labradoodle has aggression issues when on leash and is generally stressed/anxious when out on on-leash walks. He is also anxious when he visits other people's houses and has a hard time calming down. Our goal is to be able to walk him in our downtown Denver neighborhood without incident, as well as take him to new places without him being stressed.

    We had our first session today. Scott was great ! he listened and took the time to explain the training and the concepts behind it. While the 'BAH' and the leash check are going to take a little getting used to (the leash check feels a little aggressive), we are confident that this will be more effective than the 'open the buffet' treating method we have tried before.

    Now it's up to us to practice, practice, practice!

    • #Aggression
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
  • C & L P.
    8 years ago — Denver, CO

    After much deliberation, we decided our family needed assistance to manage our German Shepherd/Lab mix. Overall, she is a great dog, but she has certain behaviors that are out of our control. We have trained her through PetSmart for about two years, and she is awesome at doing "tricks" and following certain commands. However, certain triggers caused her to lose focus and become unmanageble. We needed more than dog training. We needed people training. Specifically, our main complatins were that she could not stop barking when guests come to the door. And, even more troubling, she has become quite agitated when we play with our two year old daughter. We were afraid that she would inadvertently hurt our child or one of us.

    After 1.5 hours of working with Scott, our relationship with our dog has dramatically changed! He taught us how to lead her through certain stressful situations so she doesn't have to step-in to take control. As a result, within 1 day, barking when someone knocks at the door is eliminated. Even more exciting, very clear boundaries have been drawn with respect to our child and how our dog 'may' interact with her at 'our direction.'

    It's been 5 days since we've had Scott help us. In these 5 days, my dog is more relaxed. She plays more. We have more opportunities to praise her. And, our home is much safer now that she follows our lead. What amazing results! Our neighbors are in SHOCK at our quiet dog and they are so grateful that they don't have to deal with her loud barking and encroachment on their space when they come over.

    My husband was worried that Scott would recommend removing the dog from our home and he was resistent to having Scott get a close look at our situation. There was NO judgement and it was clear from the start that Scott's intent was to help our dog fit into our life. Scott made some recommendations that we thought might be difficult to implement. For example, he suggested that we don't allow our dog to sleep in our bed. We adopted ALL of his recommendations including giving her a new bed. The changes had IMMEDIATE and widespread impact that we could not have predicted. We are so thankful to have control over our large and very powerful dog for the first time in 4 years.

    Scott's been great. He improved the quality of our home life in minutes and I know he could do the same for any family. Good luck with your dog's behavior issues!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
  • Gretchen W.
    8 years ago — Longmont, CO

    We were to the point that either Hazel had to go or she had to change. She had started attacking our other elderly dog and growling and snapping at us and our toddler. After just the first training, we had a new dog! One of the great things was that we didn't just learn commands, but learned why Hazel was acting the way she was and how to change her mindset. Hazel was thinking she was the head of the 'pack', so she was trying to control us. Teaching her that we are the head of the pack allowed her to relax and just enjoy life.

    • #Aggression
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Sibling rivalry
  • Rachel B.
    8 years ago — Denver, CO

    Photo of Lucca I am so thrilled with the training Scott provided to my puppy Lucca. He took the time to understand my specific concerns and issues with Lucca's behavior and gave me the tools to help train Lucca in a humane and effective way. Lucca has responded beautifully to the training Scott provided, and I couldn't be happier at the transformation in his behavior. It's obvious Scott cares deeply about the dogs he trains and makes himself readily available for questions or concerns. If you are having any issues with your dog--young or old--call Scott. You will be so glad you did!

    • #Chewing
    • #Digging
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
  • Abby W.
    8 years ago — Denver, CO

    Photo of Nash, Enzo I honestly can't say enough great things about Scott. I had been going back and forth in my mind about seeking professional help for my 2 rescues and had been disappointed by Petsmart puppy training classes. I want to raise 2 happy dogs and, as a result, have avoided any sort of real discipline. I did, however, realize that my dogs were not viewing me as the leader and were engaging in defensive/protective/anxious behaviors as the result of my lack of authority. After the first visit, I was blown away by the noticeable difference in my dogs. With a few simple techniques and exercises, my dogs started looking to me before acting, seeking to understand what I wanted them to do. They no longer bark at the mailman or dogs passing by. They no longer jump on visitors or race me to the door. They leave me alone when I'm working or eating, and they seem to feel infinitely more secure in their lives now that they know they don't constantly have to be on guard. I hadn't realized what a disservice I was doing to them by not making my role as their leader and caretaker more clear. My friends and family are stunned by the changes they have seen, and I truly believe my dogs are happier. Scott makes the process so easy and if you're truly dedicated to practicing with your dogs on a regular basis, the results are amazing. I am so grateful that I called Bark Busters and made that investment in my dogs' futures!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Sam Y.
    8 years ago — Georgetown, CO

    Photo of Cortez Scott was very helpful during our first meeting! Cortez' tail immediately went down once the training began and has stayed down since. He has walked next to me on every walk since with little to no problems, and has been incredibly more obedient. We look forward to future meetings with Scott!

    • #Aggression
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Jan P.
    9 years ago — Arvada, CO

    I set an appointment however I read some reviews that had me concerned. I called to cancel my appointment. My dog is a very aggressive rescue breed so I was skeptical based on what I read and I needed to ensure that I had the right trainer for him.

    Scott called me right away and explained the training. He offered to come over and would not charge us. Well that all changed for sure. Scott immediately worked with us on the techniques and it was amazing.

    We know what to do and what to work on. It truly works! THIS IS NOT an abusive program. I am sure there are trainers that people have problem with but Scott is so very good at his craft and deserves the recognition.

    Shame on me for listening to some of these bad reviews. I feel extremely fortunate that Scott called. My Barney is behaving himself as I write this. I will see Scott in three weeks and will be looking forward to his next visit so I can show him that this is a family who wants to continue to rescue the aggressive breed and help them adjust to society.

    We are doing our due diligence in ensuring their place in our family. I am on my second day and I have been doing my homework. Barney is a new dog and he now understands that he is not the pack leader.

    Thanks Scott!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
  • Mollie S.
    9 years ago — Denver, CO

    Scott was better than expected and was amazing with our dog, Brie. After the first session we were stunned that Brie could walk on the leash without pulling us along! We can't wait for our upcoming session with Scott to continue to watch Brie become a more well-behaved dog.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Pulling