Bark Busters Dutchess County Reviews

Reviews

129 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.94 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Michael S.
    3 years ago — Rhinebeck, NY

    I'm happy to give an entirely positive review to Barbara Fassett: Our new rescue dog Elly came home with us, only to start chasing our two cats. This after the the shelter had said they'd tested her with a cat. (It's quite possible that this chasing behavior might not have manifested itself until she arrived home with us.) When Barbara came, she explained her training philosophy and then started to put us through our paces.

    It was our job to do our homework, and we started to see Elly respond to our corrections fairly quickly. Now, a month and half later, we have plenty of pictures of Elly next to the two cats; she and they are calmly going about their business. Yes, when she's excited - meal times, for sure - she'll dart after them. But she seems to correct herself once she get close a cat. And they're no longer fearful of her. Good job all around!

    • #Other
  • Stephanie S.
    3 years ago — Salt Point, NY

    I am so happy with Barbara Fassett from Bark Busters!!! She was so knowledgeable, friendly, patient and always punctual. She did a wonderful job training Scooter (and me )! Prior to Scooter, I'd trained or had a dog trained before so I had no idea what to expect or how long it would take for him to do the few things I need him to do (sit, stay, come, and walk without dragging me behind him on a leash). After our initial discussion, she come to my home (kindly accommodating my work hours) and we had a more in-depth discussion and Scooter's first training session. Let me tell you, not only was that discussion incredibly informative, but by the time she left that night, Scooter would come to me when called!!!! That blew my mind; I was not expecting that at all. And things progressed like that at every appointment thereafter; whatever it was we worked on Scooter would do it for me by the end of that session. Our homework was always to continue to work on those commands to really solidify it for him and she would give me helpful pointers to make me a more effective "pack leader". She would explain the training every step of the way, and not just what to do, but the why behind everything (which helped me better understand how to effectively work with my dog). It only took 4 lessons with Barbara to get Scooter to a point where he knows all the commands I need him to know. And I love that there's a lifetime guarantee; which means if I need her in the future, she'll be there for me and if I have questions at any point, I can just reach out to her for some guidance. If you're looking for a trainer, she is the person you want to work with. Trust me, you will not be disappointed. This was money well spent!

    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you so much for your kind words, Stephanie. You and Scooter were a dream team to work with. You did everything I asked and he responded perfectly.
    Keep up the good work and, as you know, if you need me, don't hesitate. In the meantime, stay safe and be well.
  • Lori A.
    4 years ago — Pawling, NY

    Photo of Brutus Lolipop Bark busters has been invaluable in shifting our puppy from over exuberant to well mannered. Jumping, nipping, pulling through doors, cruising and stealing have all been curbed.

    The puppy had been a little too rough with my preschooler. That’s also been checked.

    The tools are simple, the instructions thoughtful and easy to understand. With a bit of “homework” in the form of repetition, we were able to make the lessons stick.

    If your dog is giving you grief, don’t hesitate to use Bark Busters. It’s made our house a happier home for us and for our dog.

    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you for you kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and working with Brutus. If you have any questions or issues in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me. Be safe, be well and have the happiest of holidays.
  • Rebecca S.
    4 years ago — Poughkeepsie, NY

    Photo of Franklin Barbara was the absolute best when it came to training our newly adopted 5 month old Golden Retriever. She helped us correct and overcome his behavioral issues and stubbornness (resource guarding, basic commands, and manors) without any physical force or food reward! I highly recommend Barbara for any level of training needs you may have.

    • #Aggression
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you so much for your kind words. Its was such a pleasure working with you and Franklin (DJ too). Questions or problems in the future, don't hesitate to contact me.
  • Katie H.
    4 years ago — Poughkeepsie, NY

    Photo of Charlie August 2020 - Barbara is an amazing trainer and wonderful person. She has been great help to us with our pug Charlie since 2009. She is reliable, professional and very responsive. Highly recommend!

    • #Barking
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    It has been such a pleasure working with you and Charlie through the years. You are one of the best doggie moms that I know. Thank you for your kind words.
  • Robin F.
    5 years ago — Lagrangeville, NY

    Barbara was wonderful. She taught us techniques that were essential to our coexistence with our new rescue Bobbie. We actually had no idea what we were doing. Barbara made it fun, because we were seeing progress, but in reality, it involved work and patience. She certainly has a way with animals. That was quite obvious. I would recommend her to anyone that has a challenging situation with their pet, and needs guidance.

    • #Aggression
    • #Toileting
  • Adam S.
    5 years ago — Rhinebeck, NY

    Barbara and Bark Busters have been a tremendous help in getting our dogs on the right track. She makes herself available to help whenever the need arises and provides professional and sound direction on eliminating and managing issues with your pooch.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Sharon R.
    5 years ago — Poughkeepsie, NY

    Photo of Polly Barbara was extremely helpful in training Polly.

    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
  • Paul T.
    5 years ago — Staatsburg, NY

    Ranger is a pleasure to walk now, he would take me for a walk constantly pulling, now i can take him for a walk and he stays right at my side, the change in his behavior is amazing

    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Joe & Val S.
    5 years ago — Wappingers Falls, NY

    Barbara did a great job of helping diagnosis Alice’s behavior and coming up with a plan to help us connect with and foster a structured environment to help her develop during her puppy training. Barbara was always available to answer questions we had and provided additional exercises for her to work through with Alice. Alice is doing well and it’s because of Barbara’s guidance and and training program. We’re very grateful to have brought her on board with Alice’s development.

    • #Aggression
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Separation anxiety