Josh Gent dog training reviews

Josh Gent

Expert Dog Trainer, Josh Gent

See below for all reviews for Josh Gent, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Hamed B West Hempstead, Nassau, New York | February 01 2020
We’ve had mason for almost 6 years and couldn’t figure out how to correct his bad behavior. Josh figured mason out in the first hour. He taught us strategies to gain control and finally correct masons behavior effectively. Thanks Josh, your the man! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
Thomas Y Bayside, New York | January 25 2020
Josh was super helpful and was able to put us at ease and make sure we understood the best way to train our newest addition to the family. He is always willing to come back and do some follow up as well. Would recommend to anyone! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
review image
Maria S Brooklyn, New York | January 25 2020
My first day with Josh was great. He was knowledgeable and patient, and while I got lucky and found my dog responded to the methods (initially... will update my review once everything is complete) I truly never would have come to the conclusions that Josh was able to that helped explain my dog’s behavior. He was very good at providing tailored advice that suited my dog and my lifestyle. Looking forward to many more good sessions! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling, Recall
review image
Rose B Brooklyn, New York | January 21 2020
I have had dogs before but I haven’t had a puppy in a very long time. Wanted to start training my 11 week old Rico as quickly as possible. Josh started with training us all and we can see the difference right away. He gave us a schedule to work on with Rico and are looking forward to show him the progress we have made. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Josh : Thank you Rose. Love working with you guys and Rico!
review image
Sara K Howard Beach, New York | December 17 2019
I contacted Josh Gent, who came highly recommended by a friend. I’m so glad I did! I contacted him and within no time at all he got back to me. We had a great phone conversation and he reassured me that my dog was going to be okay. We scheduled an appointment right away and had AN AMAZING first session. I’m so relieved that this man is in my dogs life. Thank you Josh!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Separation anxiety
review image
Selena W Forest Hills, New York | December 14 2019
I don’t like dogs. I don’t hate them I’m just much more of a cat person. So much so that I have 3 cats. But then my mother got dementia and my brother and I had to put her in a rest home. She has a chihuahua named Cinnamon that she loves very much. When I put her in the home she asked me what would happen to Cinnamon and I promised her she would always be a part of the family. I tried to take Cinnamon but it went horribly. She constantly chased the cats, was always wired and crazy acting, and there was no peace in my apartment. So after two weeks I asked my brother to try. He also couldn’t do it so he found Cinnamon a home and said he was sending her to live with another family. But I thought about the promise I made my mother. I decided to search for a dog trainer in the hopes that would help. And I found Josh Gent. Cinnamon was such a terror I was EXTREMELY skeptical he could do anything meaningful but at the same time I knew I had to let him try because I couldn’t see myself breaking my promise to my mother. Within one. hour. of his FIRST visit he had Cinnamon calm, obeying commands, and learning to use her crate. By the second visit she stopped barking at the door when someone would enter, and started to get along with my cats. It’s been one week and it’s like I don’t even have the same dog. The techniques he taught me and his guidance as a trainer has completely transformed her. I can take her for walks without her barking her head off at people, she goes in her crate on her own, and hasn’t used the bathroom in the house not once. She coexists with the cats and there is peace once again in my home. Josh is friendly, knowledgeable, patient, answers every single question I have, and is always available. His technique to say the least is amazing. Thanks to Josh, not only did I keep my promise to my mother but I think I’m becoming a bit of a dog person. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Kimberly R Bayside, New York | December 04 2019
We rescued our little guy, Ringo, only recently. Unfortunately, from day 1 you can see he was scared and stressed he was and how little he trusted new people to be himself around. We gave him some time to adjust to his new home and siblings but it still wasn’t enough. He was tormenting the cats, refused to use the bathroom outside because he was so scared to go in front of us, was starting to pee around the house, and barked at absolutely anything. We knew we had to call for help and Josh was just the trainer we needed! When Josh came by for the first time, Ringo spent a solid 15 minutes running around the house barking. At first, he barked at Josh because he was a new face but then it just turned into barking because he wanted to bark and no one was paying attention to him. Fast forward to a little over an hour later and Ringo had calmed down significantly; he stopped barking, overcame some of his separation anxiety, and was even giving Josh high-fives goodbye!!!! Words cannot describe how different he has been since Josh taught us to communicate better with Ringo. Josh taught us it takes time, patience, and consistency and with the results we’ve seen within just 2 days, we cannot wait to see the happy and relaxed Ringo that’s waiting to come out. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
review image
Seth L Long Beach, New York | December 04 2019
I must leave a review for Josh. So far we have only had one in home visit, and we have seen such great results. We have a new (3 month old) goldendoodle puppy and wanted to initiate some training. Josh is knowledgeable, approachable, and teaches the puppy and owners with great patience. He not only trains the puppy well, but teaches the owners the "why" behind his methods. I fully recommend BarkBusters and Josh if you are thinking about it. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
review image
Maria V Elmhurst, New York | November 21 2019
We have a 10 years old Maltese Lucky, that we have never had him trained. The reason we look for training was because he became very posesive of me and start barking and winning every time I got home . I cant never sit in my living room watching TV or talk to my husband anymore, Because of his barking and wining all over us. He also got aggressive over time. So we got Josh. He was just what we need , from first day Lucky was another dog. I was staring to give up on him when Josh show us a few things to do with him and that was it .. he is doing great with his training and hopefully with Josh's magic hand he will became the dog that we want him to be .. We highty reccomend Josh Gent and Bark Busters.. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Separation anxiety
review image
Debbie C 11361, New York | November 06 2019
Josh was very knowledgeable and helpful with our new puppy Buddy. We immediately saw changes in his behavior. He sat and explained to us what how and why certain technique works. He was very patient and thorough when speaking with us. I will def recommend Josh to other dog owners. I will definitely call him for another session! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more