Josh Gent dog training reviews

Josh Gent

Expert Dog Trainer, Josh Gent

See below for all reviews for Josh Gent, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Ethan S
Ethan S Queens, New York | April 12 2020
Look no further!!! My German Shepard was a mess. Anxious, couldn't walk, didn't listen, was mouthy name a dog problem she had it. I kid you not IMMEDIATELY after spending an hour with Josh she was a brand new dog. He is absolutely amazing! So informative so professional and he knows his stuff. We have interviewed many trainers and I have had few dogs in my life where I worked with trainers none compare to josh. The fact that he is so talented and his price is CHEAP for the service he provides. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Josh : Great training with you I am always thrilled to achieve results fantastic work!
review image
Colin N Queens, New York | April 09 2020
Josh was responsive and had time to come by at very short notice. We were first apprehensive about having someone come in, and what the results would look like, but Josh was phenomenal, and we started seeing almost immediate results. We went over attention-seeking (jumping at the table while we were all seated and talking), door training (scratching/sniffing/barking at the door when we left a room or the house), following around the house, and barking/greeting at the door. Our dog is so much more relaxed and less tense now after just two hours. The vibe in our house has already changed so much. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to improve their relationship with their dog! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Digging, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
review image
Andres R Jackson Heights, New York | April 02 2020
Josh is an amazing and very knowledgeable dog trainer! He’s helped us immensely with our 2 year old dog Aden! He’s become increasingly dog reactive while on leash. We really appreciated his positive approach to a very frustrating situation. He had some great advice for us regarding adapting different training tools to our very crowded Queens neighborhood and took a lot of time educating my fiancé and I on how to lead Aden through passive influence. He also taught us to help Aden avoid behaviors that we thought were normal dog behaviors to ensure that our dog doesn’t become more anxious scanning the environment for triggers, allowing Aden to in the words of Josh, “just enjoy being a dog!” Although we only met with him once, he left us with homework and have seen TREMENDOUS progress over an extremely short period of time. In fact, after our first meeting Aden has completely stopped pulling while on walks. That alone was a major stress reliever for our family! Thank you Josh! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Josh : Hi Andres! Aden is fantastic and I am looking forward to another session with you all whenever you need me!
review image
Tina E Whitestone, New York | March 25 2020
My husband and I adopted a dog (winnie) from a rescue agency 3 months ago and over time as she has become more comfortable, she has began developing her own personalities. With that we wanted a trainer to help us work with us and winnie to ensure we continue in the right direction. Josh from bark busters has been attentive and so professional with training our dog Winnie. Our first visit we spent time talking about what our normal daily routines are and what we wanted to work on. Josh was extremely patient and knowledgeable when explaining the training techniques and “homework” to help us continue to build upon our visit. we all had a good time and learned a ton. after the two hour training we could already see a significant improvement on her leash pulling, barking at the door and trying to run outside when not on a leash. Even after the first visit josh has been extremely receptive and responsive to all of our questions and text messages. at times we have even been able to send josh videos to make sure we are performing the “homework” tasks correctly. we truly have appreciated all of his help. I would highly recommend Josh to anyone who is serious about having a professional dog trainer. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Page R Saint Albans, Queens, New York | March 09 2020
Oh my goodness we cannot recommend Josh enough! Our dog has struggled with separation anxiety ever since we rescued him three years ago. Josh came to our home and spent the first half of the session REALLY getting to know Hobbes, his struggles, and our concerns. After that, he spent the rest of the time going through exercises with us and Hobbes. I am not kidding when I say we noticed an immediate change in his behavior. After Josh left, we continued to use those skills and was able to leave Hobbes alone for the first time not worried about him barking nonstop or destroying our home. He really gave us the skills needed to set Hobbes up for success. If you have tried everything and feel hopeless (like we did) Josh will turn everything around for you. If you are willing to put in the work and learn, you will 100% see results. Thanks Josh! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Separation anxiety
review image
Carrie B Astoria, New York | March 03 2020
Love Barkbusters! Josh is very knowledgeable and I actually think my dog, Monty, likes his lessons with him. It is immediate results, and we are genuine fans. I don't know where I would be with my maniac dog without Josh's help. I highly recommend Barkbusters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Yank G Forest Hills, New York | February 28 2020
My Vet recommended Josh, she said he is one of the better trainers that she has seen. My pup is a year old German Shepherd, he is absolutely lovely but also a handful! Just full of energy and very hyperactive, even after long hikes. Leash pulling and jumping was a big issue as well, especially since he wasn’t small anymore. Josh got to the root of the issues and there was a noticeable improvement after a few weeks, after week 5 Julius was a different dog! Josh is very personable, easy to work with and all round great guy. Julius loves it when he comes around and we couldn’t be happier with the results. He stands by his work and is willing to come back for follow ups. I would highly recommend him to anyone, and I definitely do! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Josh : Thank you Yan. I'm a big fan of Julius and am proud to be his trainer!
review image
Hamed B West Hempstead, Nassau, New York | February 01 2020
We’ve had mason for almost 6 years and couldn’t figure out how to correct his bad behavior. Josh figured mason out in the first hour. He taught us strategies to gain control and finally correct masons behavior effectively. Thanks Josh, your the man! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
Thomas Y Bayside, New York | January 25 2020
Josh was super helpful and was able to put us at ease and make sure we understood the best way to train our newest addition to the family. He is always willing to come back and do some follow up as well. Would recommend to anyone! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
review image
Maria S Brooklyn, New York | January 25 2020
My first day with Josh was great. He was knowledgeable and patient, and while I got lucky and found my dog responded to the methods (initially... will update my review once everything is complete) I truly never would have come to the conclusions that Josh was able to that helped explain my dog’s behavior. He was very good at providing tailored advice that suited my dog and my lifestyle. Looking forward to many more good sessions! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more