Bark Busters North Brooklyn & Queens Reviews

Reviews

56 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.98 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Tina E.
    4 years ago — Whitestone, NY

    My husband and I adopted a dog (winnie) from a rescue agency 3 months ago and over time as she has become more comfortable, she has began developing her own personalities. With that we wanted a trainer to help us work with us and winnie to ensure we continue in the right direction. Josh from bark busters has been attentive and so professional with training our dog Winnie. Our first visit we spent time talking about what our normal daily routines are and what we wanted to work on. Josh was extremely patient and knowledgeable when explaining the training techniques and “homework” to help us continue to build upon our visit. we all had a good time and learned a ton. after the two hour training we could already see a significant improvement on her leash pulling, barking at the door and trying to run outside when not on a leash. Even after the first visit josh has been extremely receptive and responsive to all of our questions and text messages. at times we have even been able to send josh videos to make sure we are performing the “homework” tasks correctly. we truly have appreciated all of his help. I would highly recommend Josh to anyone who is serious about having a professional dog trainer.

    • #Barking
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Other
  • Page R.
    4 years ago — Saint Albans, NY

    Oh my goodness we cannot recommend Josh enough! Our dog has struggled with separation anxiety ever since we rescued him three years ago. Josh came to our home and spent the first half of the session REALLY getting to know Hobbes, his struggles, and our concerns. After that, he spent the rest of the time going through exercises with us and Hobbes. I am not kidding when I say we noticed an immediate change in his behavior. After Josh left, we continued to use those skills and was able to leave Hobbes alone for the first time not worried about him barking nonstop or destroying our home. He really gave us the skills needed to set Hobbes up for success. If you have tried everything and feel hopeless (like we did) Josh will turn everything around for you. If you are willing to put in the work and learn, you will 100% see results. Thanks Josh!

    • #Aggression
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Carrie B.
    4 years ago — Astoria, NY

    Love Barkbusters! Josh is very knowledgeable and I actually think my dog, Monty, likes his lessons with him. It is immediate results, and we are genuine fans. I don't know where I would be with my maniac dog without Josh's help. I highly recommend Barkbusters.

    • #Aggression
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
  • Yank G.
    4 years ago — Forest Hills, NY

    My Vet recommended Josh, she said he is one of the better trainers that she has seen. My pup is a year old German Shepherd, he is absolutely lovely but also a handful! Just full of energy and very hyperactive, even after long hikes. Leash pulling and jumping was a big issue as well, especially since he wasn’t small anymore. Josh got to the root of the issues and there was a noticeable improvement after a few weeks, after week 5 Julius was a different dog! Josh is very personable, easy to work with and all round great guy. Julius loves it when he comes around and we couldn’t be happier with the results. He stands by his work and is willing to come back for follow ups. I would highly recommend him to anyone, and I definitely do!

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Yan. I'm a big fan of Julius and am proud to be his trainer!
  • Hamed B.
    4 years ago — West Hempstead, NY

    We’ve had mason for almost 6 years and couldn’t figure out how to correct his bad behavior. Josh figured mason out in the first hour. He taught us strategies to gain control and finally correct masons behavior effectively. Thanks Josh, your the man!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Sibling rivalry
  • Thomas Y.
    4 years ago — Bayside, NY

    Josh was super helpful and was able to put us at ease and make sure we understood the best way to train our newest addition to the family. He is always willing to come back and do some follow up as well. Would recommend to anyone!

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Toileting
  • Maria S.
    4 years ago — Brooklyn, NY

    My first day with Josh was great. He was knowledgeable and patient, and while I got lucky and found my dog responded to the methods (initially... will update my review once everything is complete) I truly never would have come to the conclusions that Josh was able to that helped explain my dog’s behavior. He was very good at providing tailored advice that suited my dog and my lifestyle. Looking forward to many more good sessions!

    • #Aggression
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Rose B.
    4 years ago — Brooklyn, NY

    I have had dogs before but I haven’t had a puppy in a very long time. Wanted to start training my 11 week old Rico as quickly as possible. Josh started with training us all and we can see the difference right away. He gave us a schedule to work on with Rico and are looking forward to show him the progress we have made.

    • #Barking
    • #Puppy management
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you Rose. Love working with you guys and Rico!
  • Sara K.
    5 years ago — Howard Beach, NY

    I contacted Josh Gent, who came highly recommended by a friend. I’m so glad I did! I contacted him and within no time at all he got back to me. We had a great phone conversation and he reassured me that my dog was going to be okay. We scheduled an appointment right away and had AN AMAZING first session. I’m so relieved that this man is in my dogs life. Thank you Josh!!

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Selena W.
    5 years ago — Forest Hills, NY

    I don’t like dogs. I don’t hate them I’m just much more of a cat person. So much so that I have 3 cats. But then my mother got dementia and my brother and I had to put her in a rest home. She has a chihuahua named Cinnamon that she loves very much. When I put her in the home she asked me what would happen to Cinnamon and I promised her she would always be a part of the family. I tried to take Cinnamon but it went horribly. She constantly chased the cats, was always wired and crazy acting, and there was no peace in my apartment. So after two weeks I asked my brother to try. He also couldn’t do it so he found Cinnamon a home and said he was sending her to live with another family. But I thought about the promise I made my mother. I decided to search for a dog trainer in the hopes that would help. And I found Josh Gent. Cinnamon was such a terror I was EXTREMELY skeptical he could do anything meaningful but at the same time I knew I had to let him try because I couldn’t see myself breaking my promise to my mother. Within one. hour. of his FIRST visit he had Cinnamon calm, obeying commands, and learning to use her crate. By the second visit she stopped barking at the door when someone would enter, and started to get along with my cats. It’s been one week and it’s like I don’t even have the same dog. The techniques he taught me and his guidance as a trainer has completely transformed her. I can take her for walks without her barking her head off at people, she goes in her crate on her own, and hasn’t used the bathroom in the house not once. She coexists with the cats and there is peace once again in my home. Josh is friendly, knowledgeable, patient, answers every single question I have, and is always available. His technique to say the least is amazing. Thanks to Josh, not only did I keep my promise to my mother but I think I’m becoming a bit of a dog person.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Toileting