Nicole Martel dog training reviews

Nicole Martel

Expert Dog Trainer, Nicole Martel

See below for all reviews for Nicole Martel, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Dianne T
Dianne T White Plains, New York | October 07 2019
Nicole was a very experienced, professional, knowledgeable and courteous trainer. I highly recommend her to anyone who needs help with their dog's behavior. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you Dianne!
Carol V
Carol V Ossining, Westchester, New York | October 05 2019
Nicole and Bark Busters are wonderful! If I said “life saver”, it wouldn’t be far from the truth. Nicole worked with our new 5-year old, 97.4 lb. ridgeback/shepherd mix rescue, Bella (she is a strong, super energetic, constantly in motion, and stimulated girl), and saved my sanity. Bella picked up the cues quickly (and got an A+) and since, we have made great strides in bringing her level of energy down from the red zone to the yellow zone, and hopefully someday, the all-green zone! Nicole provided great insight into dogs’ behavior and instincts, and left us with many tools and reminders because, after all, it’s really up to us humans to redirect bad behavior, and enforce and reward good behavior. The truly great part about our new relationship with Nicole and Bark Busters is, she is available to us for the life of Bella. It’s difficult to find the time and energy to always be mindful of our dog’s behaviors – and sometimes corrections get delayed, or confusion sets in, and you need a refresher. Nicole is there to answer questions and come by for reinforcements! In just a few weeks, Bella has calmed down significantly (although we still have a lot of work to do) and responds well to commands. This training has made all the difference, and I look forward to furthering Bella’s training with assistance from Nicole and Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review, Carol! Bella is a great dog, and I'm happy to be able to help you guys!
review image
Karen C White Plains, Westchester, New York | June 29 2019
We got our puppy Mookie at 6 weeks and he was a handful at first. He was biting wee wee pads, eating everything bad, jumping and being super hyper with people, and the list goes on. Although we were apprehensive at first about getting a trainer, we decided to hire Nicole to help us with management but also how to be great parents to our new pup. Let me tell you, we did not regret our decision. When you read that Nicole is an expert, she really is. Within the hour of her being present in our home, Mookie was attentive, taking direction and ready to be trained. He was frustrated at first but that showed that the training was working and he was adjusting. She demonstrated some great exercises that were really effective and gave us great advice on literally everything we could think of from healthy food to get for him to crate training, etc. When you hire Nicole, you hire a trainer for life and someone who will always be there. When Mookie ate something bad and started vomiting excessively, we called her right away and she responded instantly. She advised us to take our pup to the ER and we’re glad we did. He ended up eating the stuffing from inside of a toy and it was causing blockage! Nonetheless, she made sure she followed up and cared so much about his recovery. It's not just about training but the overall happiness and wellness of your dog and it’s great to know we have a partner like a Nicole in our corner. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you so much for the outstanding review! I am so pleased with how Mookie has responded so far, and I am glad to be able to partner with you guys to continue his education as he grows and matures and to help with whatever little issues arise throughout his life. I'm always here to help!
review image
Jerome T Bronx, Bronx, New York | June 10 2019
Nicole was wonderful! She understood what we needed right away and after our first lesson Trey was 100% better! It was amazing. We saw her for two more lessons as we were moving out of the area, but we can contact her at any time for help and guidance. We continue to work with Trey on his problem areas but he has responded beautifully. As I have PTSD, this has helped put him on his way to becoming a therapy dog companion. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Jerome, it was a pleasure to work with you and Trey and to see how much more relaxed he became when he understood you were in charge. Rest assured you will always have my help in the future, even from a distance!
review image
SHAWN R White plains, New York | April 25 2019
We had used Nicole service 3 yrs ago when we got our rottie Kali and now have used her again for our new addition Rakim a rescue pitbull/border terrier mix. Her knowledge and care were phenomenal. She understood our concerns and the different approach for both our dogs. She was very patient and also had literature for use to work from. Would use her again. And definitely recommend her to anyone. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Shawn! It's been a pleasure to work with Kali and Rakim, and I look forward to continuing to see them progress.
review image
Ellen F Dobbs Ferry, Westchester, New York | April 16 2019
My 14 year old dog, Dustin was barking and showing signs of age and anxiety in recent months. Somehow I remembered that we'd purchased a Lifetime Guarantee from Bark Busters 14 years ago!!! I contacted them and Nicole got back to me almost immediately and had easy access to my records and confirmed the guarantee!!! Best of all, she said she'd be happy to give me a refresher course and that you CAN teach an old dog new tricks! We scheduled a day and time and she came to my home. She spent over an hour with Dustin and me. I appreciated her warmth and insights and clear instructions. I'm back in charge of my dog instead of my dog being in charge of me! Thank you, Nicole! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Ellen! I was so glad to be able to help you and Dustin enjoy his golden years :)
Karen M
Karen M Ardsley, Westchester, New York | March 18 2019
My dog (and I) learned so much from Nicole in just the first session. I had been through 3 trainers that wanted me to use treats for behavioral modifications. Unrealistic! Nicole guided me in a way that I easily understood and that Yoshi picked up on quickly. He’s an American Akita and true to his breed (stubborn, protective and on guard). With Nicole’s guidance and knowledge, we are both learning to relax and enjoy life. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review! It was truly awesome to see Yoshi transform in our first two visits. He's made great progress in the home and on the leash with your attentive practice and follow through, and I am confident that he will continue to progress. I look forward to continuing to work with you both!
review image
Elizabeth J Bronxville, Westchester, New York | February 28 2019
We love Nicole! She has been such a huge help with our German Shepard puppy “Georgia”. Nicole is so patient and very knowledgeable about a dog's behavior! She is always quick to respond to any questions we have and very eager to set up an appointment when we ask! I was also very impressed about her knowledge in regards to a diet for our fur baby and interactive toys to keep Georgia busy and brain stimulated! We highly recommend her for anyone looking for help for training your dog! She not only trains the dog, but the owner as well!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Elizabeth, for the great review. It's been awesome to see Georgia's progress and growth from when you first got her to now, and I look forward to continuing to see her grow and learn!
review image
Christopher G WHITE PLAINS, New York | January 22 2019
Nicole was great! Arrived on time (every time), quickly identified the issues, gave us the training WE needed to change OUR behavior and we saw immediate results. Nicole stayed in touch, came back for follow-up visits when asked and continued to help us improve beyond expectations. I would recommend her 100% without any reservations whatsoever!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Nicole : Thanks, Chris! Bella and Luna have made great strides, and you guys are doing a great job at following through with the reinforcement. It was really great to see how much better they were at the front door yesterday, compared to when we first met!
review image
Marian G Irvington, Westchester, New York | January 06 2019
Our dogs already are in the “green zone:” Happy and relaxed. Nicole's training techniques had an immediate, positive impact. Nicole’s style is kind to both dogs and their humans. We highly recommend her. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Marian! Evie and Charlie both responded beautifully, and you and your husband did a wonderful job communicating with them in a way that for them was clear and instinctive.

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter