Nicole Martel dog training reviews

Nicole Martel

Expert Dog Trainer, Nicole Martel

See below for all reviews for Nicole Martel, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Steve H Rye, New York | May 22 2020
Nicole was terrific! Very helpful and patient. Loved working with her. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
Trainer note from Nicole : Thanks Steve!
review image
Theresa P Eastchester, New York | May 18 2020
Thank you so much for the 2 1/2 Zoom initial session last week!! I can honestly say that I am so glad I cancelled our initial in-person session back in October and was able to start with you on Zoom, because there is no way Hershey would have responded to us the way he did if he met you first. He would have been on his best behavior and you would not have witnessed him interrupt our session and do the things he normally does. Also, it would have been tough to organize the family for that time whereas under quarantine was easier. I loved the mini videos you played which showed how dogs behave and teach each other. It is a lot different than me trying to teach Hershey how to behave (from a human perspective), which is what previous trainers taught me. The fact that my husband was able to eat cookies on the couch after teaching Hershey to leave him alone was priceless. Just as you said, he walked away and went on the other chair. Thank you also for answering all the kids' questions. You were right. It was important for them to be there and learn about dog behavior and how to help train Hershey. It is going to be a process to establish leadership and I appreciate you being available for future questions. I plan to do our next session in about 2 weeks after we have practiced the basics. And thank you for all the packets on food, leash and collars, and also the outline from our session! I have looked at it often! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for sharing this great feedback, Theresa. I am so glad that you found it particularly helpful to have our first session via Zoom!! As you noticed, it is so powerful to be able to have you establish the proper communication and rapport with your dog BEFORE he meets me so that he responds to you immediately.
review image
Tee C Briarcliff Manor, Westchester, New York | May 09 2020
Nicole is wonderful, we are so grateful that we have been able to work with her! Lili, our French bulldog adores Nicole, and she does such a great job of giving myself and my family the tools to work with our dog on a daily basis. We have continued to work with her virtually and that has been so helpful as well! Thank you, Nicole Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Tee! Lili is such a sweetie, and I look forward to seeing even more progress as we continue our work :) So glad that you also found the virtual session valuable! Technology is a wonderful tool to have at our disposal when helping clients work with their dogs' behavioral issues.
review image
Daisy V Bronx NY, New York | May 03 2020
Nicole has shown us a whole new world with our dog. She has given us hope and happiness. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thanks Daisy! I am so glad that you found our first remote session productive and effective. I am excited to see in the progress that you guys have made so far with Flash in our next session!
Colleen S
Colleen S Rye Brook, New York | April 14 2020
Nicole is great. Patient, caring, punctual and responsive. She's all the assets I want in a trainer. She is encouraging and kind. You can tell she loves dogs and also understands human weaknesses toward dogs that allow us to create openings for misbehavior. I'm glad we found Nicole. We were struggling with 7 month old Tipitina at the time because we had previously been a small dog household and she was able to reach the countertops and steal our toast! She's pretty good now and we are getting to be able to better communicate. In the recent Coronavirus times, we have been walking both doggies a lot, and Nicole has done zoom training with us in order to troubleshoot new problems related to more time on leash and Tipitina's recent realization that squirrels exist. Nicole's timely feedback is excellent. Her techniques work and make sense. I can't recommend her services enough. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Colleen! It is always a pleasure to work with you guys, and I'm pleased with how Tipitina and Gus are progressing. I am so glad that you also found our remote/Zoom session to be effective. Having the ability to help clients remotely has been a lifesaver for many during these times!
review image
Sarah M White Plains, Westchester, New York | March 30 2020
Oh my word, after only one online/virtual lesson (via ZOOM) with Nicole and Delilah is already showing GREAT improvement! I contacted Nicole to help me and my 16 year old daughter train our coonhound not to pull while walking, stop jumping up on us, and in general respond to our commands! Delilah was pretty much pulling me off my feet while walking. As of this afternoon, both my daughter and I are taking the lead while walking, and have much improved our ability to stop her (proactively) from chasing squirrels and barking/lunging at other dogs we see while walking. Again, this is after only ONE online ZOOM lesson with Nicole, amazing. We now know how to train Delilah not to jump on furniture, jump on us (!) and to understand that we are her leaders and protectors. All of the training we received was couched in care, love and protection for Delilah, not punishment, which I know will contribute to her sense of security and calm. We adopted her from our local shelter where she had been surrendered after a fight with another dog and a bite to her person's arm. We now also have many great resources for a better leash/collar, food guidance and toy selection. I am now feeling so much more positive and hopeful about having a dog that actually listens to us, as opposed to how I felt prior to our training with Nicole when I felt overwhelmed and kind of hopeless about how I would fix Delilah's behavioral issues. Now I feel like I can have the kind of dog I've always wanted: one that I love but who listens to ME instead of me being pushed around by my dog! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review, Sarah!! It was a pleasure to help you and Delilah, and I am excited to see how she continues to progress!
Elizabeth G
Elizabeth G Tarrytown, Westchester, New York | March 21 2020
Nicole is so knowledgeable about what’s been causing so many issues with our dogs. We have a very aggressive dog. Nicole has taught us to be patient and take our time with teaching our dog to stay calm. We continue to have check ins with Nicole to ensure we’re on the right plan for our dogs. I was a unsure at first if the cost would be worth it. It is and now we’re thrilled with the results already! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you so much for the great review and for sharing with everyone how you appreciate the value of this training! I'm so excited for the progress Jackpot and Jellyroll have made so far and looking forward to seeing more!
review image
Valeria C Ridgefield, Connecticut | February 24 2020
Our 6 year old pitt- mutt basically ran our house hold, and was feeling the high stress of being the leader and protector. That meant lot’s of barking at people, territorial behavior and some nipping. I was a bit skeptical telling myself I would see changes within 3-6 months. But Nicole came I, taught me how to communicate with my dog as if I was the Momma dog and within minutes dog, Juno, recognizes that I was now taking charge and she could relax and be a happy dog. Nicole was patient, clear, efficient, and the method was easy to learn and to keep practicing. Thank you Nicole for making my pup feel happy again, and teaching me how to be the leader she needed! You have such a gift! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review Valeria! You and Juno both did great today & I’m excited to see her to continue to progress!
review image
Lindsay V Hastings On Hudson, Westchester, New York | November 08 2019
Nicole is incredible to work with and her methods truly deliver results. She helped us set boundaries and generally calm down our two very stressed out terriers right before our first human baby arrived. We cannot speak highly enough of the work that she does! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you Lindsay! It has been a pleasure to work with you guys and see how Maple and Waffles have progressed. Remember to keep reinforcing things on a daily basis!
Dianne T
Dianne T White Plains, New York | October 07 2019
Nicole was a very experienced, professional, knowledgeable and courteous trainer. I highly recommend her to anyone who needs help with their dog's behavior. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you Dianne!

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter