Nicole Martel dog training reviews

Nicole Martel

Expert Dog Trainer, Nicole Martel

See below for all reviews for Nicole Martel, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Colleen S
Colleen S Rye Brook, New York | April 14 2020
Nicole is great. Patient, caring, punctual and responsive. She's all the assets I want in a trainer. She is encouraging and kind. You can tell she loves dogs and also understands human weaknesses toward dogs that allow us to create openings for misbehavior. I'm glad we found Nicole. We were struggling with 7 month old Tipitina at the time because we had previously been a small dog household and she was able to reach the countertops and steal our toast! She's pretty good now and we are getting to be able to better communicate. In the recent Coronavirus times, we have been walking both doggies a lot, and Nicole has done zoom training with us in order to troubleshoot new problems related to more time on leash and Tipitina's recent realization that squirrels exist. Nicole's timely feedback is excellent. Her techniques work and make sense. I can't recommend her services enough. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Colleen! It is always a pleasure to work with you guys, and I'm pleased with how Tipitina and Gus are progressing. I am so glad that you also found our remote/Zoom session to be effective. Having the ability to help clients remotely has been a lifesaver for many during these times!
review image
Sarah M White Plains, Westchester, New York | March 30 2020
Oh my word, after only one online/virtual lesson (via ZOOM) with Nicole and Delilah is already showing GREAT improvement! I contacted Nicole to help me and my 16 year old daughter train our coonhound not to pull while walking, stop jumping up on us, and in general respond to our commands! Delilah was pretty much pulling me off my feet while walking. As of this afternoon, both my daughter and I are taking the lead while walking, and have much improved our ability to stop her (proactively) from chasing squirrels and barking/lunging at other dogs we see while walking. Again, this is after only ONE online ZOOM lesson with Nicole, amazing. We now know how to train Delilah not to jump on furniture, jump on us (!) and to understand that we are her leaders and protectors. All of the training we received was couched in care, love and protection for Delilah, not punishment, which I know will contribute to her sense of security and calm. We adopted her from our local shelter where she had been surrendered after a fight with another dog and a bite to her person's arm. We now also have many great resources for a better leash/collar, food guidance and toy selection. I am now feeling so much more positive and hopeful about having a dog that actually listens to us, as opposed to how I felt prior to our training with Nicole when I felt overwhelmed and kind of hopeless about how I would fix Delilah's behavioral issues. Now I feel like I can have the kind of dog I've always wanted: one that I love but who listens to ME instead of me being pushed around by my dog! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review, Sarah!! It was a pleasure to help you and Delilah, and I am excited to see how she continues to progress!
Elizabeth G
Elizabeth G Tarrytown, Westchester, New York | March 21 2020
Nicole is so knowledgeable about what’s been causing so many issues with our dogs. We have a very aggressive dog. Nicole has taught us to be patient and take our time with teaching our dog to stay calm. We continue to have check ins with Nicole to ensure we’re on the right plan for our dogs. I was a unsure at first if the cost would be worth it. It is and now we’re thrilled with the results already! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you so much for the great review and for sharing with everyone how you appreciate the value of this training! I'm so excited for the progress Jackpot and Jellyroll have made so far and looking forward to seeing more!
review image
Valeria C Ridgefield, Connecticut | February 24 2020
Our 6 year old pitt- mutt basically ran our house hold, and was feeling the high stress of being the leader and protector. That meant lot’s of barking at people, territorial behavior and some nipping. I was a bit skeptical telling myself I would see changes within 3-6 months. But Nicole came I, taught me how to communicate with my dog as if I was the Momma dog and within minutes dog, Juno, recognizes that I was now taking charge and she could relax and be a happy dog. Nicole was patient, clear, efficient, and the method was easy to learn and to keep practicing. Thank you Nicole for making my pup feel happy again, and teaching me how to be the leader she needed! You have such a gift! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review Valeria! You and Juno both did great today & I’m excited to see her to continue to progress!
review image
Lindsay V Hastings On Hudson, Westchester, New York | November 08 2019
Nicole is incredible to work with and her methods truly deliver results. She helped us set boundaries and generally calm down our two very stressed out terriers right before our first human baby arrived. We cannot speak highly enough of the work that she does! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you Lindsay! It has been a pleasure to work with you guys and see how Maple and Waffles have progressed. Remember to keep reinforcing things on a daily basis!
Dianne T
Dianne T White Plains, New York | October 07 2019
Nicole was a very experienced, professional, knowledgeable and courteous trainer. I highly recommend her to anyone who needs help with their dog's behavior. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you Dianne!
Carol V
Carol V Ossining, Westchester, New York | October 05 2019
Nicole and Bark Busters are wonderful! If I said “life saver”, it wouldn’t be far from the truth. Nicole worked with our new 5-year old, 97.4 lb. ridgeback/shepherd mix rescue, Bella (she is a strong, super energetic, constantly in motion, and stimulated girl), and saved my sanity. Bella picked up the cues quickly (and got an A+) and since, we have made great strides in bringing her level of energy down from the red zone to the yellow zone, and hopefully someday, the all-green zone! Nicole provided great insight into dogs’ behavior and instincts, and left us with many tools and reminders because, after all, it’s really up to us humans to redirect bad behavior, and enforce and reward good behavior. The truly great part about our new relationship with Nicole and Bark Busters is, she is available to us for the life of Bella. It’s difficult to find the time and energy to always be mindful of our dog’s behaviors – and sometimes corrections get delayed, or confusion sets in, and you need a refresher. Nicole is there to answer questions and come by for reinforcements! In just a few weeks, Bella has calmed down significantly (although we still have a lot of work to do) and responds well to commands. This training has made all the difference, and I look forward to furthering Bella’s training with assistance from Nicole and Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review, Carol! Bella is a great dog, and I'm happy to be able to help you guys!
review image
Gina B Danbury, Connecticut | August 22 2019
Nicole deserves 10 stars! Within minutes of entering my house, my 3 boys (dogs) better behaved. Nicole could easily see the problem and we went step by step to correct their (my) behavior. Our 75 lb doodle was listening and not pulling on the leash. Our 4 lb Maltese stopped barking. Our 12-year-old poodle mix stopped being territorial. Nicole is a miracle worker! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you, Gina! Very pleased with how the boys responded! They are great pups, and they will only continue to get better as you continue to practice with them.
review image
Pamela C Mount Vernon, New York | August 19 2019
I have gotten immediate results working with Nicole from day one in correcting bad dog behavior. I highly recommend you at least try working with her if you have an issue you can't seem to resolve on your own. We still have much to cover, but the foundation of good behavior has been set to build up on other behavior -our dog caught on right away! I also like the fact that Nicole gives great recommendations and resources for your dog. She's easy to work with and doesn't over burden you with tons of exercises at once. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Toileting
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review, Pamela! I’m pleased at how Saint is responding, and I look forward to helping you guys make more great progress!
review image
Sasha R Yorktown Heights, New York | August 15 2019
My new five year-old shepherd mix rescue had significant fear-based aggression that was totally dominating both of our lives. Nicole is really helping me to communicate with my dog so that we can be happy members of society, not isolated outcasts. There is significant immediate progress. More importantly, it is evident that if I continue to do the homework with my dog and follow-up properly, we will have the life I was looking forward to. I am grateful beyond words and feel so lucky that I made the choice to hire her. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you Sasha! I am so pleased with how Lou has responded so far, and I look forward to continuing to work with you guys.

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter