Nicole Martel dog training reviews

Nicole Martel

Expert Dog Trainer, Nicole Martel

See below for all reviews for Nicole Martel, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Jeremy T Irvington, New York | October 31 2017
THANKS Bark Busters, you've taught us the ropes! We recently got a new puppy, first for both my wife and I, and our experience with Bark Busters gave us a ton more comfort and confidence. Nicole was very clear with us (and our pup!), took the time to explain a lot of nuance we wouldn't have picked up on, and had a great attitude the whole time. It was easy to tell how much Bark Busters was familiar with (and loved) dogs! Our household started benefiting on day one, and we love having the confidence of having Bark Busters available for us on our journey to happy doggy living! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
review image
James M Rye, New York | October 30 2017
We highly recommend Nicole Martel from Bark Busters! Her training expertise has helped us to change behaviors in our one year old rescue dog within such a short period of time. Improvement happened within the first week of following her suggestions on effective communication and body language. Through her observations and feedback we are more aware of what we have made mistakes with in the past and have learned simple ways to fix annoying problems from barking to pulling on the leash. Nicole's approach is thorough and clear. She is a good listener and gives us step by step instruction on specific tasks to work on. Having her come to our home to work on the issues that effect day to day life makes her training so practical and meaningful. She is also wonderful in getting back with answers should questions or challenges arise. We are very happy that we have Nicole to give us the training and support we need to have a happy household with our pet! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Laura-Claire D
Laura-Claire D Mount Kisco, New York | October 14 2017
Dog. Whisperer. I have a very strong willed husky/shepherd mix who has had very severe separation anxiety since I adopted her about 2 years ago. Like she basically ate my front door the first time I left her alone... I had tried working with a different trainer initially and tried all the things suggested to me by her vet, the internet, books, etc. but her anxiety and destructive behavior seemed to only mildly improve. After moving cross country with her this summer it got worse again, to the point where rehoming her felt like the only thing left to do. But I love my dog like my kid and that was just not going to be an option for me, so desperate I started looking for other trainers in this area to try that route again and hope for more success. I am SO GRATEFUL that I found Nicole! We had our first session last week, and even just in the 2 hours she spent I could already see how my dog was responding differently. Nicole's assessment was thorough and insightful, and it was clear that she knows what she is talking about and knows how to speak your dog's language. Her session was informative beyond my expectations and she makes the training a fun learning experience while helping you to structure a training plan that is unique to the needs of you and your dog. In just a week my dogs behavior has significantly improved. I am so happy to be working with Nicole and give her my highest recommendation! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Devon A Hastings-on-Hudson, New York | September 25 2017
We adopted a lab/hound mix 2 weeks ago. Upon bringing him home, we discovered he had high separation anxiety and crate issues. We already also have an 8 year old King Charles. Speaking with Jason, he was very informative with setting things up and having available appointments. They were very flexible with schedule. He helped get started with payment plans and walked me through how things would work. Nicole came and right off the bat gave us tips with the dog we already had that we didnt even know! She analyzed them both and was able to give us quick tips on how to fix these. We started the training and after a couple tries, Supra already started catching on after the first visit! We hope to continue progress and keep seeing positive outcomes! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
review image
David P Bedford Hills, New York | September 06 2017
Nicole Martel is fantastic. Very motivated and is so knowledgeable. She's a pleasure to work with! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity
review image
Sally T Pelham, New York | August 25 2017
Two years later - after initial...perfectly thorough Bark Buster training, our family had stepped back into old ways with our two Wheaten Terriers. As lovable as they are, we slowly but surely let them control us, and the house again! One email and ONE re-training visit from Nicole, she had all of us back on track again! THANK YOU Nicole, for your much needed visit, expertise, patience and true knowledge of training our loved ones. Our house is back to where it should be, and we all know our place once again! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Nicole : A great example of the value of our Lifetime Guarantee of Support!
Sue T
Sue T Croton Falls, New York | August 16 2017
Nicole came to our house to help us with our Parker. Parker felt he needed to protect us from our invited guests and also barked a lot at mostly thin air. When Nicole came and explained and taught us how to help Parker to respect us as leaders and not eat our invited guests, we saw him change in front of our eyes. And all that without letting it bribery and treats. She has such a wonderful way of communicating with humans and our beloved puppy. We felt a true sense of relief when she left, knowing Parker would be ok and no longer felt like the burden of having to protect us from every mosquito that made it through the door. Thank you so much for your help and support. You truly changed Parker's and our lives!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other
review image
Anna R White Plains, New York | August 14 2017
Nicole was so helpful with our family and our pup, Nacho. In just one visit, we can see such a difference already! She was so knowledgeable, understanding and patient and was able to teach us how to be the best pack leaders for our puppy. We now have a better understanding on our body language and how little things we were doing where not translating positively for training. Now we have a successful plan that has has shown immediate change and progress. We are so excited for our next session and can't wait to see what else is in store for Nacho! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Candace M
Candace M Cortlandt Manor, New York | August 14 2017
Our 2 1/2 year old Pitt Bull Terrier has been a part of the family since he was a puppy. As soon as we were able to, we took him to puppy training classes. Although some of the training helped, it did not cure all the problems. He became aggressive to anyone or dog that came by. It only became worse when he became protective of us or his toys causing him to bite and leave marks. We thought sure we would have to get rid of him since he was becoming more a danger to us and everyone around us. We reached out to Barkbusters for help and in that same week Nicole was able to come to our house for an evaluation. We explained our situation and Nicole patiently listened and wrote everything down. What turned from a 2 hour consultation became a 3 hour life changing moment. He learned how to stay back when people came to the door, be around strangers, and how to walk behind us on a leash. Our family members have come over and they could not believe it was the same dog they had seen all these years. Not only was he able to be out and not bother them, but he even allowed them to pet him. Walking has become so much better. He has learned to walk behind us and does not pull on his leash. We are truly grateful for all that Nicole and the Barkbusters have done. We would hands down recommend them to anyone having issues with their dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Diane S Tarrytown, New York | August 12 2017
It is my pleasure to recommend a truly outstanding dog trainer, Nicole Martel. Nicole is the third dog trainer that I've consulted for my dogs. She has by and far made the difference. I have a hound who developed some aggression towards new visitors to my home. She also pulled incessantly on the leash, occasionally knocking my husband on the ground. I felt like I was being hostage by my dog, Karly. Nicole turned around my relationship with Karly. She taught me that Karly needed to learn respect and obedience and gave me the techniques to begin this change in relationship. Karly has come so far that even my adult son, coming home to visit, looks up and says "that's impressive" ( i.e., old lunging habits are being successfully tamed). I used to held hostage and afraid to leave the house without treats - and that practice was useless. She is a work in progress but now walks obediently with me on routine walks and does not bark or throw a tantrum. Nicole spent long sessions with us making sure that we understood what we have to do to change behavior. It's amazing. We are so very very thankful that Nicole is our trainer. I would not hesitate to recommend her highly. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter