Nicole Martel dog training reviews

Nicole Martel

Nicole Martel

See below for all reviews for Nicole Martel, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Amanda M
Amanda M White Plains, New York | April 27 2017
I have a pack of three Boston Terriers (ages 1, 3, and 4) that I desperately needed to teach better manners when it came to "charging"€ the front door, jumping onto the couch, and not pulling while on the leash. To add to the situation, my 1 year old puppy is deaf. In searching online for local in home trainers, Nicole's name came up. On top of her bios and other professional write ups, it was the other happy customer reviews I read over that sold me on the idea that I needed to reach out to Nicole. Before even meeting her, I got the vibe that Nicole was the "real deal" and was excited to see what techniques she would be bringing to the table to help me with my pack. Nicole worked with 1 dog at a time until they mastered the concept, then we practiced the skill with all 3 dogs at once. Making adjustments to my body language, voice tone, and wording had me speaking "€œdog"€, which had my dogs quickly realize the "€œcharging", jumping, and pulling behaviors are no longer acceptable. With every tool or technique tried, Nicole gave me an explanation as to why she was having me say and do things in the particular manor she was demonstrating, which was much appreciated. Knowing why I'€™m doing something is just as important as understanding how to do it. During this process, I was most impressed with Nicole's ability to teach my deaf high energy puppy the same expectations and skills that the other two were learning. Having her own deaf dog has lead her to be very knowledgeable about best practices and techniques. However, I am confident that if Nicole didn't have prior experience with a deaf dog, or any dog with special needs, she would have taken the time to educate herself prior to coming to the lesson and come prepared with several tools/ techniques available to find the most successful one. From beginning to end, Nicole's demeanor towards myself and my dogs was nothing short of professional. She didn'€™t leave any questions unanswered or apprehensions unaddressed. It is clear that Nicole is truly passionate about what she does and that it isn'€™t "just a job"€ for her. Since our lesson, Nicole has reached out to check in on our progress and is always responsive to emails with questions/ concerns that have arose with helpful information and reminders. I would recommend Nicole to anyone!!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other
Gail P
Gail P Hastings-on-Hudson, New York | April 22 2017
Hi Nicole, I wanted to update you on Iggy P.... He is a changed person!!! He no longer freaks out when someone enters or leaves or stands up in our apartment. He no longer thinks he lives in the entire apartment building...he no longer barks in the lobby. He no longer freaks out when our grand baby comes to or leaves our home. Our family and friends see the difference in his behavior and have since begun to include in their lexicon "Baaaah!" Thanks for making Iggy see the light! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Sharon S Bedford, New York | April 18 2017
Nicole was very responsive to all of my concerns with my young Cavalier Tucker (not yet 2 years old). I had prepared a list of things I wanted to work on and Nicole patiently went through every item on my list. She diplomatically pointed out what I had to change about my own behavior first before I could expect Tucker to respond properly. She left me with good reference material and manageable "homework" to do with Tucker. I can tell you that I noticed a difference in Tucker's behavior while Nicole was here but following as well. He is calmer and I now have tools to use to try and improve his behavior - which is mainly barking way too much! We are making progress and I feel like Nicole is my partner in this journey. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Doug S Ossining, New York | April 11 2017
We saw a difference immediately within our first lesson! It is amazing how Nicole was able to teach us how we can change the dynamic in our home just based on body language and sounds. The amount of knowledge she has about dog behavior is extensive and very impressive. Nicole was extremely professional and encouraged us to contact her with any additional questions while we worked through our personalized training plan for our two dogs. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Nikki L
Nikki L Armonk, New York | March 09 2017
So effective! Nicole was amazing and really listened to what we needed to help fix some behavioral issues as well as inform us about why they act and do what they do! Could not be happier. Thank you Nicole!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
Kristin S
Kristin S Bronx, New York | March 04 2017
The first training session yesterday was amazingly effective!' I am seeing a difference in my dog's behavior already. Nicole showed my stepmother and me how to effectively communicate with the dogs so that our role as pack leaders became obvious to them. This all happened without the use of treats, clickers, or touching the dogs (except when we called them in for praise). My reasons for calling a trainer included my Irish wolfhound growling at me on 3 occassions and also her being very overbearing towards the other dogs in the household. I was also having problems between her and my shepherd mix, who is very possesive. They had a huge fight right on top of me a couple weeks ago and I ended up with a bleeding thumb and broken glasses. I am very hopeful for the first time in a long while and actually slept well last night because the methods Nicole showed us will clearly work! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Sibling rivalry
Lucy B
Lucy B Bronx, New York | March 04 2017
What a great time we had with Nicole yesterday! We are stunned at how effective the Bark Busters is method is for dog training, and Nicole is amazing with dogs and people. We are now big fans. We had a huge problem with TWO dogs, one a very large Irish Wolfhound. The dogs were aggressive and jumping with each other and some people. After one day the problem is pretty much solved! A miracle! We didn't believe it was possible. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
review image
cher P Scarsdale, New York | February 28 2017
Nicole's a magician. She helped me transform Barkula Fangman into Sweetie-Pie . It's not so easy to be a good pack leader, but Nicole's patience proved successful as my yacking monster is now a real gentleman, so well behaved and quiet. Thank you Nicole. My dog is thrilled that I've made progress. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up
review image
Melanie T Armonk, New York | February 26 2017
Nicole came to our place yesterday and was very well informed. We laid out a plan for our big puppy Gypsy and some things she is getting already! Can hardly wait to work on the other exercises she has given us. Thanks Nicole! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Susan S
Susan S Hastings on Hudson, New York | February 14 2017
Worked wonders on the first day of training with us and our dog! We've had dogs throughout our lives; in my case, I've never been without a dog all my life. We could not have conceived this process would have accomplished what it did at our first visit. We're encouraged going forward. Our pup tries hard to please, albeit difficult for a young pup to focus, but he is doing just that. We look forward to our next meeting with Nicole. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter