Nicole Martel dog training reviews

Nicole Martel

Nicole Martel

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Robyn C SCARSDALE, New York | July 22 2016
Nicole was amazing. Zeppo had recently been badly attacked by a pit bull and since that time has become fearful and aggressive. My vet, Gary Mendelsohn, told us about Nicole and suggested we give her a try. She spent two hours with us last night and was an absolute pleasure to work with. Her manner is calm and assertive and she was able to quickly assess my dogs. After going for our first walk this morning, using what she taught me, it's already made a difference. I think Nicole is smart, delightful, and would highly recommend her. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
Sofia H
Sofia H Larchmont, New York | July 17 2016
Nicole was great! She listened to our concerns and thoroughly explained the suggested solutions by showing and talking through the techniques. We never felt rushed or overwhelmed. We have had previous trainers and found their suggestions were either too confusing or unrealistic to maintain on a long term basis. Bark Busters is more about changing your dogs behavior rather than managing the dogs activity. I find this approach to be much more effective on a long term basis and makes much more sense in learning how to communicate with your dog. Our dog, Major, had issues with pulling on walks. Major responded very well to the Bark Busters techniques, and within a day, the way Major acted dramatically changed. We had previous sessions with Bark Busters in which other issues were also resolved quickly (barking for food, jumping, claiming items for possession such as socks, shoes etc). Again all of our issues have been resolved by using the BB techniques and methods. I'm usually a skeptic for these things, but I cannot praise this method enough! So easy to follow. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Paige S Irvington, New York | July 08 2016
Thank you Nicole!! Nicole helped us do some re-training after we had gotten lazy and started allowing our little Izzy to take over!! After some daily exercises that were not too hard to learn we as a family are all much happier. Thank you SO MUCH!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Tina M
Tina M Portchester, New York | June 30 2016
Daisy was three months old when we got her from a rescue. She jumped, nipped, looked for attention from everyone on walks, which made them difficult. She would also whine in her crate when alone and bark endlessly. We taught her many commands, so we had difficulty understanding why she didn't listen to us being she was so smart and clearly understood what we asked of her. She also had a food aggression issue developing rather quickly and that was when we decided to get a trainer! Nicole called me to discuss training Daisy and as she asked questions bells were going off in my head. It was clear she understood what was happening and so we gave Nicole and Bark Busters a try. She also had a holistic approach which we liked. After the first visit we felt really good, we had tools we could use. It didn't take long for Daisy to listen to us. We learned how to walk her and she no longer pulls but walks next to us. They have a great collar that we love to use. She no longer tries to stop every person on the street for attention. We even walked by the train station while people were getting off the train and she stayed with me in a field of people and didn't stop once, I was so happy! Nicole also helped us with her crate training, since the first visit she no longer cries or barks but sits quietly in her crate. She sits at all doors before going out or in and waits to be told she can come. She is doing well potty training now as well. She is much calmer and more content and we enjoy her so much more now. We only had the one visit so far and if that is all we had the fee would still have been well worth it. We can't wait for the next session to see what Daisy is really capable of and for her to reach her full potential. I highly recommend Nicole she is very personable and very helpful, and we could not have trained Daisy so well without her! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Pamela P
Pamela P Bronx, New York | June 28 2016
Nicole was punctual, professional and interested in hearing our concerns. Rex needed help with barking, pulling on the leash and also help with other basic commands such as coming to us when called and staying.The training methods that Nicole showed us were simple and easy. Rex responded surprisingly well and continued to do so even after Nicole left and has been doing great ever since.Walking him is now a pleasure.Rex is also a lot happier and less stressed. I would highly recommend Nicole. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Pulling
review image
Kate C Pelham, New York | June 13 2016
This was our first training session with Nicole, after having had three sessions with Mark, the previous owner of this Bark Busters practice, and she offered some really great advice and suggestions that have transformed our walks in less than 48 hours. Despite (what I thought were) my best efforts, my dog was walking with her nose to the ground, digging in hard to sniff every blade of grass and to eat small items on the ground. She reacted to every dog, every person, every bird, every squirrel. Walks with her weren't enjoyable. Nicole offered me some great pointers and my walks since her visit have seen a complete 180 difference. She's walking right behind my knee, ears back, totally relaxed, not sniffing and not reacting to people or animals. It's amazing. When I give her the command to sniff around, she does her business, and then we start walking again and she's back at my side. Our walks have been smooth and uneventful. So much better than before. So happy to have met with Nicole yesterday! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
review image
Lynne S South Salem, New York | June 03 2016
I can not recommend Nicole Martel highly enough. We had Nash for almost a year and went through many trainers and were not making any headway. We were told and understood all the "rules" but it was way too overwhelming. Then Nicole came in like a little pet detective and spent time with us and really got to the root of what was happening and what needed to be done. She broke it down very basically so we had a routine we could manage. And almost best of all, she stayed with us. When I emailed with updates, she would cheer us on for the good stuff, give us other options for the areas we were still having trouble with. I will be forever grateful to her for all her help. She was born for this job!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Other
review image
Jennie P White plains, New York | May 31 2016
Nicole was great and very detailed. She helped us adapt the lessons and commands so they would work in apartment style living. We learned a lot and have been practicing. So far so good. The dogs have shown improvement. Jennie, NY Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
Lisa T
Lisa T White Plains, New York | May 10 2016
Nicole came to our house to help our dog get over her car anxiety, to properly greet people when they come to the house, leash walking, and to come when called. Luna is a 7 year old black lab, Shepard rescue that we have has since she was 12 weeks old. Nicole was extremely thorough in her presentation of what the training was all about before we began to train. Because of Luna's nature, Nicole had to create situations to help correct Luna's behavior. She did so very successfully, even being a passenger in the car with Luna and I to correct her from trying to jump into the front seat. At one point Luna was laying down on the back seat... Something that she had NEVER done. She was also successful with helping me to correct the other issues mentioned. By the end of the session my dog REALLY got it! I have continued with the training and the correction and it is working extremely well. I would not hesitate to recommend Nicole to anyone. She really knows how to work with dogs and their owners. Also, knowing that I she will come back if needed is great! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Theresa D Croton on Hudson, New York | May 06 2016
Nicole is wonderful. She explained what we needed to do to manage our pets. The two dogs were so unruly that we were afraid we would not be able to keep them. Now after just one session they are behaving. Nicole broke it all down for us so it was easily understood and we could communicate effectively with our dogs. This morning when the kids were leaving for school I was able to stop their barking with one command. Previously it was ten minutes of loud barking and aggressive behaviour (and me yelling). We were all so thrilled. Our only regret is we didn't call Nicole sooner! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter