Bark Busters Fairfax and Loudoun Counties Reviews

Reviews

88 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.99 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Eli J.
    52 days ago — Northern Virginia: Fairfax and Loudoun Counties

    Mark Renshaw's accomplishments with our Golden Doodle, Bennie, has been stunningly successful!

    Before Mark's arrival, Bennie was a completely lovable but insane puppy who would jump on anyone in the street or who came through the front door. He would also lunge at cars and trucks in the street, making it impossible for wife to walk him. This, in spite of our having worked with a number of other trainers (and training facilities). We had presumed our case was hopeless.

    But after just a few hours with Mark, and armed with new techniques developed by Bark Busters, Bennie is a new boy. He is still completely lovable but he now sits away from the front door upon command when the bell rings, and rarely jumps on anyone. And the lunging at cars and trucks are greatly subsided. We realize Bennie is still a work in progress but, with Mark's guaranty of continuing support, we know he'll continue to improve. It's just up to us to continue working with him as Mark instructed.

    If you've tried other methods but have not yet had success - the Bark Buster approach is the way to go and Mark is your guy!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Digging
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
  • Eli & Susan J.
    2 months ago — Northern Virginia: Fairfax and Loudoun Counties

    All I can say is that Mark changed the entire trajectory of our future with our Golden Doodle, Bennie. We had tried a number of individual trainers and a larger training center over the past 2 years but with only limited success. Up until the time we met Mark, it was very difficult to walk Bennie. He would consistently lurch towards passing cars and trucks, barking loudly. He also would attack the door and anyone who walked through it with a virtual body slam of unwelcome enthusiasm. The same would happen meeting people in the street. Very uncontrollable.

    After just one 3-hour session with Mark, everything changed - that very same day. Using Mark's simple instructions, Bennie now sits when the doorbell rings, and no longer jumps on visitors or people on the street. He sits on command in general without hesitation, which was also a major challenge in the past. Walking him is now a breeze with minimal correction needed, and no more lurching and jumping. If he gets out of line, we can easily call him back into where we need him to be.

    We are so very grateful to Mark for what he's done for us! The change in Bennie has been truly astounding.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Erika D.
    2 months ago — Northern Virginia: Fairfax and Loudoun Counties

    Our dog is 9 years old and needed SO much work especially now that we live in an apartment. He was pulling, lunging, and barking at our neighbors to the point that we had to strategize our exits from the building. Mark came over and after an hour of training, he is a completely different dog at NINE years old! He is doing so well and Mark has been so helpful with any follow up questions we have had. I 100% recommend this training program with Mark. It is clear that an old dog can indeed learn new tricks.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
  • Jessica B.
    2 months ago — Northern Virginia: Fairfax and Loudoun Counties

    After just one session with Mark, we have course-corrected the fear aggression that we have seen building over time within our 4-year-old dog, Finnegan. After two (2) poor encounters, one at a groomer and one with another dog, Finnegan developed a very intense reaction to other dogs (and anyone in scrubs), to the point where we could not walk past another dog across the street. He would bark and pull and just go crazy, all out of immense fear. Other aspects of his temperament also started worsening like guarding socks and/or toilet paper. We felt like we were losing our dog. The worst realization was that our 1-year-old dog, Daisy, was beginning to pick up the same characteristics simply by watching him. We tried other training methods over the years that all helped/made small improvements but nothing was as dramatic as Mark and Bark Busters. He helped us reset with the dogs, establish leadership and own the space so that our dogs feel safe and look to us for direction. We have work to do to reinforce the training and make it our way of life, but we feel very excited and thankful for all of it. Our dogs are much happier as well, even after just a few weeks. We would HIGHLY recommend Mark and Bark Busters to anyone.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
  • Jessica B.
    2 months ago — Northern Virginia: Fairfax and Loudoun Counties

    After just one session with Mark, we have course-corrected the fear aggression that we have seen building over time within our 4-year-old dog, Finnegan. After two (2) poor encounters, one at a groomer and one with another dog, Finnegan developed a very intense reaction to other dogs (and anyone in scrubs), to the point where we could not walk past another dog across the street. He would bark and pull and just go crazy, all out of immense fear. Other aspects of his temperament also started worsening like guarding socks and/or toilet paper. We felt like we were losing our dog. The worst realization was that our 1-year-old dog, Daisy, was beginning to pick up the same characteristics simply by watching him. We tried other training methods over the years that all helped/made small improvements but nothing was as dramatic as Mark and Bark Busters. He helped us reset with the dogs, establish leadership and own the space so that our dogs feel safe and look to us for direction. We have work to do to reinforce the training and make it our way of life, but we feel very excited and thankful for all of it. Our dogs are much happier as well, even after just a few weeks. We would HIGHLY recommend Mark and Bark Busters to anyone.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Digging
    • #Jumping up
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Jessica B.
    2 months ago — Northern Virginia: Fairfax and Loudoun Counties

    Photo of Finnegan and Daisy After just one session with Mark, we have course-corrected the fear aggression that we have seen building over time within our 4-year-old dog, Finnegan. After two (2) poor encounters, one at a groomer and one with another dog, Finnegan developed a very intense reaction to other dogs (and anyone in scrubs), to the point where we could not walk past another dog across the street. He would bark and pull and just go crazy, all out of immense fear. Other aspects of his temperament also started worsening like guarding socks and/or toilet paper. We felt like we were losing our dog. The worst realization was that our 1-year-old dog, Daisy, was beginning to pick up the same characteristics simply by watching him. We tried other training methods over the years that all helped/made small improvements but nothing was as dramatic as Mark and Bark Busters. He helped us reset with the dogs, establish leadership and own the space so that our dogs feel safe and look to us for direction. We have work to do to reinforce the training and make it our way of life, but we feel very excited and thankful for all of it. Our dogs are much happier as well, even after just a few weeks. We would HIGHLY recommend Mark and Bark Busters to anyone.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Jill D.
    3 months ago — Northern Virginia: Fairfax and Loudoun Counties

    Photo of Harley It took one session. One, and Harley learned to look to us for direction when she saw another dog or squirrel immediately instead of becoming a crazed, prey driven beast.

    I almost emailed Mark after the first day, because the change was so incredible. On our first encounter walking, she got one reminder from me and that was all it really took. Not only did she start walking behind me on our walks, she looks at passing dogs, looks at me, and then just keeps going - zero fuss. We've stopped and watched squirrels calmly and she no longer vocally alerts us to passers by from her couch perch. My husband is thrilled with how well she is behaving in the yard and even had her sit calmly next to him while he pet a passing dog over the fence. She and the other dog even "met" through the fence, with no hackles or teeth and calm, wagging tails. We're both in awe of how quickly and well it worked when we committed to it and have been consistently owning the space and reminding her she can count on us to be in charge.

    I know she will test us, but we know this works and will stay vigilant. We're so happy to see how successful we've been so far and how relaxed she now is just hanging out without having to be on constant alert. Thanks Mark!

    • #Aggression
  • Colin C.
    10 months ago — Fairfax, VA

    Mark's dog training expertise has truly transformed our relationship with our furry companion. His unique approach empowers us, as pet owners, to better comprehend our canine friends' perspectives. Through this understanding, we've been able to guide our dogs in harmonious cooperation rather than adversarial encounters.

    Prior to enrolling in Mark's program, our dog Duncan posed several challenges. He exhibited erratic behavior during walks, reacted poorly to new people, and engaged in biting incidents. As he transitioned into adulthood, these issues became increasingly alarming. Even after investing in a 3-week boarding training program and traditional retail lessons, we saw only marginal improvements.

    However, Mark's simple yet effective techniques have been a game-changer. After just one initial lesson, Duncan underwent a remarkable transformation. He now walks gracefully on the leash, refrains from barking or displaying aggression without reason, resists the urge to bolt out the front door, refrains from jumping, waits patiently at staircases until given the signal, responds promptly to recall commands, and has become an absolute delight to everyone he meets. He has blossomed into an absolute sweetheart.

    We wholeheartedly endorse Mark's training program. Equipped with the knowledge we've gained, we feel confident in our ability to address and overcome any dog-related challenges that may arise. This training has undeniably improved our dog's behavior and our overall quality of life. If you want to transform your canine companion into a well-behaved and delightful friend, Mark's guidance is the way to go.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Digging
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Mary W.
    11 months ago — Ashburn, VA

    Photo of Gizmo and Checkers First of all, Mark is an extremely nice man and very easy to be around! The first training was today and we were blown away! The techniques Mark showed us are working already an we couldn’t be more pleased. We are excited to be in control and enjoying our wonderful dogs. Thank you mark for everything!! You are truly the BEST!!

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
  • A.J. H.
    12 months ago — Chantilly, VA

    Photo of Alan Hughes Mark Renshaw saved my sweet Zena. We adopted Zena from a shelter. She is a Tree Walking Coonhound and we discovered pretty quickly that she was a barking, howling, neighbor infuriating two year old that would not listen to a thing. We also soon discovered that she could be reactive to new people, and a bit aggressive at times. The biggest problem was that she simply could not be controlled or reasoned with. We were on the verge of bringing her back to the shelter, but she is also sweet and very loving that we had to try something to keep her with us. Bark Busters was her last chance.
    Mark met with us and we started to work with Zena...the first meeting was a bit tenuous. Zena approached Mark with her usual aggressive bark and attitude. He took it in stride and started to train me and Zena on some of the techniques that would help her be less aggressive, reactive, and quell her attempts at being dominant. There was an amazing difference after that first training session. One of my neighbors said, "You'll have to pinch me, I'm dreaming, that can't be the same dog.", another thought that we had decided not to keep Zena. It has really a miracle turnaround. Zena is staying, and she is really the wonderful dog that we knew she could be, thanks to Bark Busters and Mark. We are still working with her every day, and it has been worth the time and cost of the training. Zena is an incredible Best Friend and family member who will be with us for years to come now. I can only say thank you to Mark for his patience, with me and Zena, and for all that he invested in us for this success.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9