Bark Busters Fairfax and Loudoun Counties Reviews

Reviews

81 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.99 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Nicolo P.
    5 years ago — Ashburn, VA

    We could not be happier with the results we are already seeing from Bark Busters! Our dog Apollo is 18 months old and has experienced behavioral issues from the start. Prior to Mark coming into our lives, we generally just attributed Apollo's confident personality to his breeds (German Shepherd/Husky/Chow mix) and shrugged our shoulders. When he bit one of our family members, however, we knew things had to change. We tried other trainers such as a 6 week program with Petco but barely saw any results. In just 3 hours of Mark coming into our home, though, Apollo has literally transformed before our eyes. Mark is professional, kind, and incredibly knowledgeable. We couldn't believe that we didn't have to use treats, clickers, or any other gimmicks, but it's true! Apollo is now learning that we are the boss, not him, and that he must respect and listen to us always (something I never thought would be possible before). It is honestly life-changing for our family and we will continue with this program forever. I recommend Mark for ANY issues you may be having with your dogs, he is absolutely, hands-down, the best.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Merritt W.
    5 years ago — Vienna, VA

    Mark talked to us first about what we wanted Luna to learn and then taught us how to do it. I did not think Luna would respond to his methods but she did! We have been continuing to use the new methods and see a remarkable change in our dog.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Lauren G.
    5 years ago — Sterling, VA

    Mark is a miracle worker! My puppy, Cooper, needed some basic training, and so did I, as a new dog owner. Mark taught me how to most effectively communicate with my little bud so that we can have an even better relationship. Cooper took to Mark’s training methods immediately, which showed me how easy it would be to maintain discipline going forward. I couldn’t recommend him and the Bark Busters system more highly.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Jennifer B.
    5 years ago — Ashburn, VA

    So happy I found Bark Busters! I worked with Mark and couldn’t be more satisfied with him and the techniques he taught me. I am learning to speak dog and am well on my way to having two wonderful, well mannered dogs. No harsh treatment. No shock collars, choke chains. Not even treats. It’s so simple that it seems like it won’t work but immediately my dogs responded. I highly recommend Bark Busters for all behavioral problems. Your relationship with your dog will grow beyond your wildest expectations.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Toileting
  • Merritt W.
    5 years ago — Vienna, VA

    Mark said at our first meeting he would get Luna to stop jumping on people and not rush the door when the doorbell rang before he left that day. I snickered and thought yeah sure no way. Not only did he stop her jumping all over a new visitor she actually waits for us to call her over to say hello! AND we took her for a walk with his wag walker collar and she was semi behaved. Never has she walked a straight line on a leash before. I cannot believe we waited so long to get help. Mark was amazing.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Missy D.
    6 years ago — Vienna, VA

    Our 4 month puppy was playing so aggressively with our family of 4 I was seriously considering sending her back to the breeder. It didn't seem like normal puppy play but I had never had a dog. We had a dog trainer come to the house when our puppy first came home to get us started with some general commands which she followed very quickly. By the trainers second visit our puppy had begun playing very aggressively and I actually had my kids show the trainer all the kids ripped clothes. The trainer gave us some more tips on controlling this play and the biting but it started to get even worse! After our vet experienced our puppies unruly behavior she confirmed that it needed to be dealt with and quickly. She gave us a list of preferred trainers and said she couldn't attest to all but she knew dog owners that had had great experiences with Bark Busters. Luckily Mark had an opening the day after we called. We were desperate and hoped he could start us on our way to enjoying our puppy instead of being terrified of her. After the first 30 minutes of training I couldn't believe the results. Mark spent so much time with us and never made me feel like he was in a rush which the first trainer we hired did since they worked on an hourly basis. This level of time is absolutely crucial for getting the training down. Believe me when I say you will pay more for a trainer that is charging by the hour because they will need to come back often. The first visit with Bark Busters will be 2 and 3 hours and yet it felt like it flew by. I am happy to say that it's been 24 hours since Mark stepped in our door and I can not believe the change in the house. I am now walking around signing "Leader of the Pack"!!!

    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Other
  • Charlene B.
    6 years ago — Herndon, VA

    I volunteer with a rescue and last year we hired Mark to work with a dog that acted highly aggressive to other dogs. It was so bad that he could not come to adoption events for months and honestly was one of the worst cases I had seen. Once we got him into a foster home, Mark started working with the foster parents and after the first session, the improvement with Ollie was nothing short of remarkable! Not only could he come to the adoption events without problems but he is now living in a home with another dog and going on play dates every day with the adoptor's mom (who has several dogs). The whole transformation was amazing! After we hired Mark, it was only a matter of a few weeks before Ollie got a great adoption application. We have now just hired Mark to work with another dog and I am completely confident that we will see the same great results. The methods Barkbusters use -- all gentle and easy to learn -- are so effective. I wish we had used Mark and the other trainers years ago with some of the dogs that had some "issues". We have had great success with their other Barkbuster trainers as well but Ollie was such a hard case -- or so we thought --- but Mark showed us what a great dog he could be (indeed was) with other dogs.

    • #Aggression
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Hannah H.
    6 years ago — Sterling, VA

    Mark was very patient and understanding with our particular needs of our two dogs. He has so much previous experience that has allowed him to understand just about any situation you throw at him with your dog. Through the BarkBuster methods, he has helped my husband and me understand the importance of following through with practicing methods. Mark is really a trainer for trainers versus dogs and helps owners understand the dogs perspective of their actions. While we have only experienced the first day of training, I expect awesome results moving forward if we practice the skills we learned. Thank you Mark for your help bringing our furry family closer together. Highly recommended

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Emily J.
    6 years ago — Fairfax, VA

    Mark was excellent with us and our dog Rhys. Rhys is a generally nice dog, but needed some obedience work. More importantly WE needed someone to teach us how to give Rhys the guidance he needed. The results were immediate. Shockingly immediate. Mark explained our role very thoroughly so we not only were able to successfully guide Rhys, but we understood what we were telling him. Rhys seemed a little mollified after our first session, but as we practiced our guidance he settled into his role as the submissive dog and seems calmer overall. I highly recommend Mark's one on one in home training. We are beyond pleased with the results!

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Justin H.
    6 years ago — Sterling, VA

    This training is the real deal. Mark is the best of the best when it comes to temperament reading and getting to the root of your problems on the initial visit. You can argue that website tips and books alone suffice until you see just how effective Mark’s situational awareness in your home actually is. Don’t even think of taking your pet somewhere else. You’ll get buyers remorse and end up paying Mark later on anyway so do your pup(s) a favor and get it right the first time.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Sibling rivalry