Bark Busters Greater San Diego Reviews

Reviews

142 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 5 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Tina D.
    42 days ago — San Diego, California

    Photo of Max Our family selected Bark Busters for our in-home training needs and it was the best decision we made. Max is 4.5 years old Pitbull, Beauceron, Lab mix, 80lbs & was adopted into our home 2.5 years ago. We were discussing the process of re-homing our beloved dog Max when I found Bark Busters on google. Max was aggressive when visitors came to the home and we had to keep him lock in a crate or separate room. He would incisively bark at mail man, delivery persons, neighbors walking by the house on the sidewalk. Max began becoming aggressive with my oldest son and his girlfriend over the last 8 months. After doing a ton of research and reading countless reviews regarding correcting aggressive and protective dog behavior I was willing to give it a try in hopes we could enjoy many more years with our dog. From the first phone call to the first visit; the service was 10/10. Marcus called and completed a thorough intake of Max and the behaviors we had experienced. We were sent instructions to follow leading up to the first consultation. We sent videos of Max prior to first meeting to allow our assigned behavior specialist an opportunity to observe Max behavior. The first visit was extremely educational. The trainer went into depth about why Max behaves the way he does and helped us develop communication skills with Max that he understood that would allow us to correct these behaviors. Within in the first 2 hours Max went from a dog that would jump through a window to guard this house from anyone passing by on the sidewalk or attempting to approach the door, now he sits calmly on the floor not triggered in the slightest by the Fed Ex delivery people. Our walks have become more enjoyable and easier now that Max understand that I am his pack leader. There is respect, boundaries, trust and communication. All things that were lacking for the last 2.5 years since we had adopted Max from the shelter. Our first visit with Bark Busters was 2 weeks ago and Max continues to build on his confidence daily in learning to trust his humans and that we will handle any situation. Max is much friendlier, calmer, respectful, playful, chill. The family is learning to exhale and trust Max again and the children are also building confidence in correcting Max when if he is triggered.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Michele S.
    42 days ago — San Diego, California

    Photo of Ellie Mae We are absolutely amazed! We have a 3 year old Cockerpoo that we purchased during COVID. Because of that, she didn't get the socialization that she would have received. Ellie Mae was anxious, barked all the time at anything, people walking their dogs by our house, delivery trucks, basically anything or for no reason. We have had 4 trainers for Ellie Mae in 3 years and we never saw a difference in her behavior. That is until we found Jenna at Bark Busters!!
    Oh my goodness! What a huge difference! Our home is so much more peaceful! We now have the tools to stop the barking before it escalates. Now when she barks, which is less and less, we stop it! Bark Busters are dog behaviorists and that makes all the difference.
    There are still some things that we are working on, like when people come to the house and how to keep Ellie Mae in her place when we open the door to let our guests in, but we have such harmony and Ellie Mae seems so much happier! She's not on guard all the time and not on high alert. She is much more relaxed!
    We had friends over the other night and they couldn't get over the change in Ellie Mae. It's so noticeable.
    We are absolutely thrilled and so grateful to have found Jenna and Bark Busters. We are clients for life!
    JENNA, YOU ARE AMAZING!
    Thank you so much,
    M~ & M

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Other
  • Melanie T.
    4 months ago — San Diego, California

    Photo of Mochi My 4 year old Pomeranian had a lot of behavioral issues that I was struggling so hard to correct. He was always territorial of his food, places in the house and me and would even resort to biting to guard these things. He would also bark nonstop in the house when he heard dogs outside and no command could stop him. He would also be very reactive to other dogs in public which would always stress me out when we were out to the point where I wasn’t able to enjoy being out with him. This always made me so sad to have to leave him in the house all the time because of his reactivity. I was desperate for change and was so scared that he wouldn’t be able to change since he is already almost 4 and has very severe habits. However, Justin has completely changed him. I was skeptical when they said we would see results within the first session but it was absolutely true. After just one session, he became the quietest dog on our block. He wouldn’t respond at all to the dogs barking around our neighborhood. He became so well behaved, some family members became worried because of how quiet he stayed. The biggest miracle is him not being territorial anymore. This has ensured my family of complete safety around the house. I never thought my dog would be able to learn how to heel, but Justin showed him how in the first session which completely astonished me. A few days after our first session, I was able to take my dog out to the mall and it was the first time I was able to enjoy being out with him. He would quietly wait under the table while we ate and didn’t react to dogs he would come across while we were walking. Justin has been absolutely amazing. It is so comforting to have someone of his caliber and expertise guiding you and genuinely caring about you and your dog. He makes every effort to make sure he is able to help with whatever you need and always emphasizes that he is only one text away. He always finds a way to fit you into his schedule and is a complete joy to be around. When they say he is the last trainer you’ll ever need, they mean it. Investing in training my dog has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. Both me and my dog have become less stressed and are both now able to enjoy life to the fullest.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Toileting
    • #Other
  • Kathryn P.
    5 months ago — San Diego, California

    Photo of Last evening we were able to have dinner out with friends and leave Wally at home without worry…a first in the year since we adopted him! Thank you Justin for your help with Wally’s separation anxiety!

    This sweet 8-year-old little dog would always want to be near us, but could be skittish, shy, and somewhat distant. He was quiet, calm, and well behaved until left alone. Then the separation anxiety caused non-stop barking and howling and we would return to find him wide-eyed, panting, and agitated. Our activities became limited to those that could include Wally, basically avoiding and likely worsening the problem.

    Justin spent nearly 3 hours at our initial visit, listening patiently to our worries and frustrations and evaluating Wally’s behavior. He explained his approach and demonstrated some techniques, then left us with a solid plan for the coming week. Justin participated in these “homework assignments” via text or phone call and we saw immediate steady improvement in the first week - Wally went from barking & howling to a little whining & panting. Now three weeks out we hear a quiet sigh or moan in the first few minutes and that’s it. He’s happy to see us when we return and he settles down quickly.

    An unexpected benefit of this work on Wally’s separation anxiety has been a reduction in his general anxiety. He’s no longer skittish, doesn’t run after us if we leave a room, and has become a lap dog. We can’t thank Justin enough and recommend him highly. His work is not just about solving an annoying problem – it has created a whole new much healthier dynamic for this little dog family and we are so grateful!

    • #Barking
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Arah S.
    5 months ago — San Diego, California

    There aren’t enough words to express how grateful I am for Justin’s help with training Ranger. Here’s a bit about Ranger when we first started:
    - He was 90 lbs and pulled on a leash, even with a prong collar.
    - He was extremely reactive and could not contain the malamute in him. He just HAD to say hi (bark) at every person and dog to meet them.
    - He was constantly on high alert, and his solution for every situation was the craziest solution.
    Walks were unpleasant for both of us, I would constantly just yell and be frustrated and he didn’t have the correct guidance.

    The first session with Justin, he was able to get Ranger to loose leash walk next to him in 5 seconds. That’s when I realized, it’s not Ranger. It’s my fault and our miscommunication. I didn’t know how to tell him properly that he shouldn’t be pulling on the leash. I didn’t know how to tell him that he has to be calm to be able to great people and dogs.
    We’ve only had about 4-5 sessions, 30 mins each. His teaching style is very clear and super EASY! Ranger and I now have better communication and work better as a team. Ranger is now my service dog in training, he comes to my classes with me every week and flies with me. He can now:
    - Loose leash walk, and heel properly.
    - Ignore people and dogs when we’re out
    - Be CALM everywhere we go.
    - Realize the difference between play time and work time.

    Justin doesn’t teach service dog tasks, but he WILL make sure your dog can become calm and confident. He was able to help me turn my reactive dog into a service dog. I am so so grateful for everything Justin did for us!
    I highly recommend BarkBusters. This is the best decision we ever made! Both Ranger and I now have a better and happier life with better training and communication.

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Other
  • Alex
    6 months ago — San Diego, California

    The team at Bark Busters is truly unique in all aspects of their training. The in-depth understanding of canine behavior and the connection to the training method is why all these reviews are so great. We realized very quickly that this process was going well below the surface level symptoms, identifying the root causes and then utilizing the techniques to change the behavior. The amount of nuance and insight applied to every detail is remarkable.

    Justine, JD and Jenna are 100% committed to solving the issues, making the pup happier and empowering the owners through knowledge and tools. Their communication and availability is superb and if you commit to doing the work, the results will bring a smile to your face. This is an investment into the relationship you will enjoy with your dog for a lifetime and without a doubt would recommend Bark Busters.

    • #Aggression
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
  • Joe M.
    6 months ago — San Diego, California

    Sharing some tail-wagging success I’ve had with my fur son, Maverick (Maviboy) and our dog behavioral therapist, Justin! Maverick was a bit of a wild child (rescue pup -- got him @ 8 weeks old) with his barking, crazy walks (zig zagging all over the place), and his knack for turning every greeting into a jumping party. Spoiler: Justin came in and worked some serious magic.

    First off, let's talk about the barking situation. Maverick is an excited pup and would 'play bark' at almost any dog that was bigger than him (50lb Boxer Pit) to get their attention, but Justin gave us the tools to dial this down tremendously.

    Secondly, our walks… Maverick really bodied the, "I'm gonna pull you everywhere on our walks" mentality. Justin came with a game plan that turned our strolls into a focused dog walk that didn’t involve any pulling (on our very first session). Night and day difference.

    Lastly, when it comes to Maverick’s greetings… he is a big lover and would jump on every guest that entered the house. With a bit of ‘pawsitive reinforcement’ and some corrections (‘Bah’s and throw pillows’), now Maviboy greets our friends without turning everyone into his personal launchpad.

    But what really sets our therapist apart is the ‘Scher’ love he has for animals/genuienly wanting to understand ‘YOU’ and your furry friend as individuals and a team. It's not just a job for Just; it's a passion, and you can tell. He is truly a dog whisperer.

    So, if your fur baby needs a behavior boost or if you just want to understand how to communicate with your pup best friend, Justin is the man, hands down. Thanks for all that you do for pups, Justin! Big licks from Maviboy.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Bryan G.
    9 months ago — San Diego, CA

    I had the absolute pleasure of working with Jenna and Justin, and I cannot recommend their services highly enough! From start to finish, they ensured that my experience was absolutely exceptional. Their kindness and compassion were evident from the very beginning as they took the time to answer all of my questions and explain their training methods in a way that made sense to me. With their deep understanding of dog behavior, I saw incredible results right from our first session together.

    What truly sets Jenna and Justin apart is their ability to create a positive learning environment for both myself and my beloved dog, Benji. They employ effective techniques that build trust, respect, and cooperation between us. Never once did it feel like we were using harsh or punishing methods on Benji - instead, it felt like we were finally speaking his language! They effortlessly understood each of Benji's unique quirks when it came to his reactivity towards other dogs, tailoring their approach accordingly for maximum our success.Not only did Jenna and Justin address specific behavioral issues such as dog reactivity but they also equipped us with valuable tools for maintaining harmony inside and outside our home. It was abundantly clear from day one how much they genuinely cared about both Benji's progress as well as mine!

    Their ongoing communication has been outstanding too! After our initial session ended, Jenna immediately asked about my availability so we could schedule follow-up sessions with both her AND Justin present - talk about dedication! She even provided me with her personal phone number encouraging me to not hesitate reaching out if any questions arose between sessions. And let me tell you - she followed through by messaging daily just to check up on Benji's progress! The level of support continued after subsequent sessions when she initiated a group chat including Justin so they could stay updated on how things were going. They also quickly followed up with a third session the following week! If you are looking to be ghosted by your trainer, LOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE. They checked in like clock-work from my morning walks to my evening walks and I never felt alone during the whole process. When they say unlimited sessions, they mean it whole-heartedly - it’s not just a marketing ploy!!!

    Jenna & Justin are true professionals who mean business when it comes to helping dogs reach their full potential. If you're searching for a top-notch dog trainer who combines expertise with compassion, look no further than Jenna and Justin at Bark Busters. Working with them has been an absolute joy, and I am incredibly grateful for all the work they've done with Benji. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
  • Mickey R.
    10 months ago — Carlsbad, CA

    Justin Scher is amazing. Enough said.

    I moved to San Diego temporarily for work, and was looking for training for Leo, my rescue pup. I was desperate to find help for Leo since his separation anxiety was inhibiting us from living a happy life. He couldn't stay in the house for more than 5 minutes alone before howling at the top of his lungs. As a pup, he destroyed my books, and plants. Justin trained us to guide Leo and empowered him from feeling safe and happy at home alone. With Justin's help, we are able to leave Leo to go to the grocery store and run errands as well as date nights! I've contacted Justin for follow ups and he's always available for me for advice to guide and empower
    Me to help Leo live his best life. Justin and Barkbusters is hands down the best choice I made since rescuing Leo. Thank you so much Justin!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Juliana De B.
    11 months ago — Vista, CA

    I am astonished! My trainer JD accomplished a miracle within the first three hours (1st visit). I have 2 behemoth american bulldog puppies weighing in at 220lbs total at 18 months--strong willed and protective. Pre JD, they walked all over me: I wasn't able to take them in my car, go on hikes with them, or walk them together.
    I am in control now of their barking and behavior. Today, my dream of walking them together at Calavera Lake came true--3 months later. I am so grateful for JD teaching ME how to be the alpha and thereby giving them more than a backyard life.
    juliana de beers, vista I am astonished! My trainer JD accomplished a miracle within the first three hours (1st visit). I have 2 behemoth american bulldog puppies weighing in at 220lbs total at 18 months--strong willed and protective. Pre JD, they walked all over me: I wasn't able to take them in my car, go on hikes with them, or walk them together.
    I am in control now of their barking and behavior. Today, my dream of walking them together at Calavera Lake came true--3 months later. I am so grateful for JD teaching ME how to be the alpha and thereby giving them more than a backyard life.
    juliana de beers, vista

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15