Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Eileen S Homer Glen, Will, Illinois | July 16 2019
Our Sheltie is a new dog thanks to Vicky! We are the 3rd owners of this wonderful dog and she came to us with a lot of love and fears (though we didn't know her behaviors were caused by fear until Vicky enlightened us). It was almost impossible to walk our dog without her barking and lunging at cars, people walking by and anything moving. The techniques of Bark Busters worked immediately. We know Shelties are very smart dogs, and learn quickly, but knowing how to communicate with our girl was the key. We are grateful for Vicky's expertise and guidance, and we highly recommend Bark Busters! Thank you Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Separation anxiety
review image
Melissa R Tallahassee, Leon, Florida | July 16 2019
Jeter & Max were a handful when the door bell rang. By the end of our first session we already saw a huge improvement. We realized it was not just the front door, but what we were doing on a whole that was creating the environment for the dogs to be out of control at the door. We are confident we can use the techniques we were shown on our own. It is comforting to know this is an ongoing program and we already have our follow up appointment set. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
IVY F
IVY F Miami, Florida | July 16 2019
My first 3+ hour session with Luis was an eye opener. 40+ years of training dogs was altered with Luis's Dog's Perception Training Method. I have my work cut out for me, but if i master the "language of dog" i might just be able to accomplish the near impossible with my bright, rambunctious , Bouvier pup........only time, lots of effort and Luis's expertise will tell. I am duly impressed with this innovative approach. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Luis : You’re so kind. And your words mean the world to me as you have, as you said, 40+ years experience. I know the road ahead might not be the easiest for the particular issues that he’s having, but I’m confident that with your dedication and our techniques, you will get the best out of him. Thanks again.
review image
Fania G Denver, Denver, Colorado | July 15 2019
Scott is a magician... with magic done in less than 1 hour! We have an amazing and smart pup with some behavioral issues ( protectiveness mixed with some aggression, Alfa dog, barking at windows ... ) common things that with her boxer dimensions didn’t make us feel comfortable. Scott came in and in truly 1 hour, he thought us how to better behave with Sanja in order for her to feel protected and lower her guard. And it worked ! Absolutely it works! We have learned to be better and as a consequence Sanja is better. We are still working on it but the improvement we have seen in less than 3 months is priceless ! Thanks Scott !! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up
review image
Kerri V Sun Valley, Washoe, Nevada | July 15 2019
Kayla and Randy were amazing! I thought I knew a lot regarding training but they opened a whole new world. Been to several obedience classes in the past and this is the best by far! Great job!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up
Lisa D
Lisa D Middletown, Orange, New York | July 15 2019
Michelle empowered me to take training into my own hands and improve both of my dogs behavior. I am grateful to her commitment and genuine desire to truly help me understand their language and regain my role as the pack leader. For the past couple of years my English Bulldog, Jerry, would act aggressively towards visitors, barking and growling and even trying to nip them if they went to pet him at all. Within a day of training with Michelle, we had him obeying our commands and remaining away from new guests until I called him over to say hello. His disposition seemed to change immediately as soon as Michelle taught me how to refocus him and maintain control over the situation. Not only did these strategies work for Jerry, but they also did wonders for our stubborn, noisy beagle Stella. She remains calm before walks now instead of barking like crazy and acting out of control. Michelle gave me the skills and knowledge to effectively train my dogs by keeping them focused on me and my leadership ability. I am utterly amazed at the results. I look forward to continuing my homework with both of them to further their improved behaviors. Thank you Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you for your kind words, Lisa! It was wonderful to see Jerry and Stella respond so quickly to you. You did an amazing job, and you know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Vinnie F
Vinnie F Portland, Oregon | July 15 2019
Best dog training experience I've ever had. Dick Messenger taught my girlfriend and I how to train our dog properly and effectively. Hes very professional, personable and clearly very good with dogs. If you listen to him, you'll see the results you're looking for. Would recommend his guidance every time. My little (65 lbs.) 9 month old Catahoula/Lab mix is very energetic and with his help, shes been a lot more well behaved when we want her to be. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Meriam B New York, New York | July 15 2019
My husband and I just moved here to Manhattan from the Suburbs in the Bay Area California. Our pup Sammy has been exposed to a lot of major change in just one month, and we have never used a dog training service before. Sammy's environment has changed from a lot more space to a much smaller one, and he is now being exposed to a lot more dogs and people. In the two weeks since we have moved to Manhattan, Sammy's separation anxiety and anxiety due to the smallest noise, movement or not even being in the same room with us, definitely heightened. Sammy would bark for hours until he would exhaust himself. Sammy also has some prior behavioral issues that we never helped to correct, such as jumping on people, barking at other dogs, and boundary issues-including following us everywhere, jumping and sleeping on furniture he is not supposed to and going into rooms he is not allowed in. In just a few hours of reaching out to Bark Busters, I received a phone call and had a brief evaluation of Sammy over the phone. We were given information about the training process and information about Sarah, and we were given a training appointment for the next day (Saturday) which worked perfectly for our schedule. In just the couple hours that Sarah was in our home, she went straight to work! We saw results immediately! Honestly, my husband and I were in awe. Sarah is definitely an expert in her field. She really observed Sammy's behavior, asked us a plethora of questions, about our schedules, home environment and the problem areas we wanted to address moving forward. Sarah was direct with us and really went over training exercises repetitively until both my husband and I were comfortable doing them on our own and the results were immediate. In just 24 hours, we have seen a huge change in Sammy. My husband and I will continue with the training here at home, but Sarah has reassured that we have a lifetime access to her expertise and services via phone, email and even home visits. In just one day, Sammy has listened to us when we stop him from coming into our bedroom. He hasn't barked in the apartment at all today, and we will observe tomorrow, when the construction noise continues, but I know I have the tools to practice keeping Sammy's anxiety at bay. Sammy also has not urinated anywhere in the apartment when he gets frustrated if we leave the room. She really helped my husband and I understand Sammy's needs as well as understand that we are in control, not Sammy and provided us with tools to be confident and not confrontational with Sammy. We just want to thank Sarah for all her positive and upbeat help. We know that it will be a process, but we are excited to have Sarah's help moving forward. We definitely would recommend her services to others. Thank you so much Sarah! We greatly appreciate everything! - Sammy, Meriam and Trevor Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Robyn K
Robyn K Des Moines, Iowa | July 15 2019
My pup's name is Denver, he is a one-year-old herding breed mix. Denver was a great puppy growing up but after we put down our older boxer he developed some behavior issues. He has a tendency to bark and lunge at other dogs as well as barking excessively at cars and rabbits/squirrels. He likes to jump when you walk through the door and if you’re really lucky he’ll sprint then jump! Denver also is developing his toddler attitude and has selective hearing and care for directions. I called Deb with Bark Busters to help me get control of my little Denver because I couldn’t even take him outside with having issues. It was to the point where I was using a shock collar (which he didn’t care about) and would at times want to cry due to his behavior. Denver almost immediately took to Deb and her training. Within the first few hours Denver went outside, a dog walked by and he didn’t make a peep. A little while later we were working on walking and four bunnies came out of nowhere, running around, and Denver didn’t move a muscle. I was astounded. Den has been very helpful with Denver and would highly recommend her and the Bark Buster training to anyone. Denver and I have a completely new relationship now. We still have some work to do with Denver’s listening skills but I will be calling Deb again to continue the training. If you have the time and want a better behaved dog then it’s completely worth the money. ? ? for Deb and Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Jackie A
Jackie A Los Angeles, California | July 15 2019
Christen and Kevin definitely know what they're doing when it comes to dogs. I like to think that I know dogs well and have always had well behaved dogs, but Poochi (our Pomeranian mix) was something else. Poochi knew a dozen tricks and commands, but he always seemed to want to bark at everyone coming into our home if he didn't know them. He also growled at people who tried approaching him in public and had severe anxiety whenever he was waiting in the vet clinic or if we took him to a crowded location. Our first time taking Poochi to an outdoor dog friendly restaurant proved embarrassing - he kept growling / barking at the waitress and when she wasn't there he was panting, whining, pacing, and trying to jump on me as we ate. After just our first session with Bark Busters, Poochi has come a long way. We were able to eat at a restaurant and he just sat there as if nothing was happening. We kept staring at him expecting growls or barks and he just returned a look concern as if to say "why would I be doing that? I don't do that... I'm good dog... donchaknow??" There are so many things we learned in regards to understanding how to speak dog, read his body language, and how to stop things before they even escalate. If things do go awry, we were also given tools on how to bring Poochi back to a calm LISTENING state of mind. Of course, these lessons take time and dedication. We are given homework and following through is what really gives the results. Despite seeing changes immediately after the first session, the biggest differences come from taking that time to properly train your dog (and yourself). If you aren't willing to give up preconceived notions about the BEST way to train your dog, Bark Busters may not be for you. However, if you're willing to approach the method with an open mind, and accept that perhaps certain things you have been doing have been reinforcing negative behaviors in your pooch, this method will surely work. I can't thank Christen and Kevin enough, and in case you're wondering - yes, they do follow up through text, email, phone calls, and go the whole 9 yards to make sure you and your dog have the best relationship possible. This also helps to keep you accountable and makes the process easier knowing you have somebody there if and when you need them for questions or concerns. Thank you Bark Busters for helping us out, and a big thank you from Poochi who has less stress and responsibilities we didn't even know we gave him. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety