Dog training reviews

Read our Dog training reviews from Bark Busters page 429

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Evan P Seattle, Washington | May 28 2015
I was skeptical of Bark Busters - our dog has been through several classes and we've gone through different training methods suggested by different reading materials. What could Bark Busters possibly offer for the price of 6 classes that I couldn't find myself? The answer is everything! I wanted to wait 6 weeks before I wrote my review to give the training methods time and see how everything settled, and I can really say David Wiley of Bark Busters is worth every penny. Tyson was a great puppy who at about 10 months developed pretty severe leash aggression, lunging and snarling at any other dog and even little kids. He was scared of skateboards and bikes, and barked/growled at anything that came too close to us. I was scared he was going to bite someone. That's what I called Bark Busters for, but after taking their dog behavioral quiz, it turned out there was a lot of things Tyson wasn't perfect at: recall, loose leash walking, listening to our commands 100% of the time, jumping. These things were so minor in my mind I didn't even consider them as things we'd work on, but they covered it all. We made a "wish list" for Tyson and have been hitting every mark. David spent three hours with us our first session at the apartment and asked a lot of questions so that he could really understand Tyson's schedule and lifestyle and reactions to things. We worked on the leash aggression, and set up homework sessions for his jumping, recall, leash attentiveness, and up/off furniture. He let us continue Tyson's training before following up a month later with another in house appointment, and Tyson's progress in 4 weeks was nothing short of amazing. His lunging has completely stopped, and he issues warning growls maybe 1 out of 10 dogs now. He ignores them otherwise. He's better with children, and now instead of snapping at them, if he's uncomfortable he gives signals (ears back, steps back, low growl) that we can fully read and exit the situation in plenty of time. This alone has reduced my stress level so much. Tyson now waits for us to go in doors first, will walk loose leash next to us, rarely jumps, and will get on/off furniture on command. He is so much more calm and seems to be happy because of it. Even people at work and his doggie daycare noticed. At this pace, I can only imagine that in another month, our problems should be next to eradicated. The best part for me is that the service comes with a lifetime guarantee - for the life of our dog, David will help us through anything. After our second session (during which Tyson did great), David said, "We'll probably be seeing each other when he gets to be 1 and a half, maybe 2 years old. He'll start testing boundaries and being an adolescent." I get to have the same level of training in the future for any new problems Tyson develops, and it's all covered with the one time payment. If group classes haven't worked for you, and the internet isn't getting you closer to what you are looking for, I strongly recommend Bark Busters and David Wiley to be the answer you were looking for." Show less Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Leah C Green Bay, Wisconsin | May 28 2015
Even after only one session, Ruth has definitely improved my dogs' dominance issues! They immediately responded to her techniques and seemed to react really well with them. Loki has a huge problem with jumping on people and mouthing when he gets excited but soon after Ruth worked with him he was already understanding that it was not ok to do that! I would recommend her to anyone whose dog has behavioral issues! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
Trainer note from Ruth : Loki and Apple have another housemate named Saya, and all 3 are purebred Shiba Inu dogs. Even though Loki is a show dog, he still had some issues at home that the owner wanted fixed in him and the other dogs. They are very intelligent dogs and do get regular training, so were very receptive to these new methods. This new relationship between the dogs and the owner will be helpful in many ways.
review image
Courtney F Fond du Lac, Wisconsin | May 28 2015
Very helpful training opens your eyes as to how a dog works and the best way to teach them. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Recall
Trainer note from Ruth : Hoover is a purebred Springer Spaniel who really though he was supposed to make all the decisions. He was a little surprised to learn this is not what his owner wanted! He was testing to make sure she continued to act like a canine leader. He is a beautiful dog!
Audrey C
Audrey C Hollywood, Florida | May 28 2015
My husband and I are expecting our first child in August and I knew I needed to do something about Sugar's barking, jumping and pulling on the least before the baby came, but I didn't know what to do and honestly, after 6 years of trying to unsuccessfully control Sugar's behavior (including lessons at PetSmart, a barking collar, training books, etc), I wasn't sure anything would work. A couple of months ago, I noticed a brochure at Sugar's vet's office that had a dog behavior quiz. I filled it out and Sugar (as expected) got a D. I visited the BarkBusters website and sent Luis an email explaining the situation and Sugar's behavior problems. Luis was able to schedule our training session the next Saturday and I was truly shocked by the results of our 3 hour session - Sugar is like a different dog. She listens to me and my husband, the barking has decreased to virtually nothing (a quick "Bah!" stops any barking as soon as it begins - even when directed at the mailman, who is Sugar's arch nemesis). We have been consistent with the exercises and best practices we learned in the training session and we don't make exceptions (which I think is important). I cannot recommend Luis highly enough. He is like a miracle worker. Bless the "bah!" Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Luis : You are so kind. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to help you with Sugar's education
review image
Josie D San Antonio, Texas | May 28 2015
Phyllis is great. The dogs are responding well and I am determined to follow thru the daily exercises. I feel confident for the first time that I can do this. Everything is laid out and I am remaining calm and taking my time. No more yelling and being frustrated! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
review image
Wayne C San Antonio, Texas | May 28 2015
Phyllis made things easy to understand. She has us started out in the right direction. Well worth it - Results the first day. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Other, Puppy management, Recall
review image
Sallie P San Antonio, Texas | May 28 2015
It will be wonderful after we've worked with her more consistently. It was a miracle after just one lesson and gave us a goal. Emma has a high energy personality and Phyllis helped us figure out how to cope better with her. Thank you so much. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Pam L San Antonio, Texas | May 28 2015
I/We have lots to learn but we are up for the challenge and the goal is to be the best MASTERS/Leader of the Pack! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Puppy management
Tiger F
Tiger F Piscataway, New Jersey | May 28 2015
If I only had one word to describe Keith's dog training ability it would be AMAZING! I am the proud owner of Oscar, an adorable 17-month-old Staffordshire Terrier/Basset Hound mix. Prior to Keith coming to my house, Oscar assumed the role pack leader in my house. He was overly playful with anyone who stepped foot inside my house and insisted on pulling uncontrollably on the leash every time he went outside for a walk. Oscar also refused to respond to a "come here" command whenever he was in the pack yard. All of these issue were resolved at the end of Keith's first training session with Oscar. He patiently showed me simple ways to assert myself as the pack leader in the house and shared with me very informative insight into the temperament of the terrier breed. I can't say enough wonderful things about Keith and how he has helped me. The Oscar I love and play with every day is a far cry from the strong-willed dog I had a difficult time controlling a few weeks. I highly recommend Keith to any dog owner who is interested in nothing less than a miraculous transformation in their pet's behavior. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Keith : Fantastic job by Tiger working with Oscar. Tiger is seeing results, and I really enjoyed meeting both owner and dog and helping Tiger to get leadership over Oscar! The pleasure really is mine
review image
Ilya and Margaret S Brooklyn, New York | May 27 2015
Robert was great with our Goldendoodle puppy, Wally, and with us. We had a few issues with our boy, namely his jumping and biting and chasing the cats, the latter of which we had no idea how to deal with. Robert explained why Wally was behaving the way he was, and he gave us some great tools to teach him how to behave the way we wanted him too. We've been working with Wally and seeing great improvement. We can't wait for our next sessions with Robert! Permalink
Trainer note from Robert : Thanks guys! You were terrific :)