Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
Donna M
Donna M Minooka, Illinois | April 21 2014
John was very calm, professional and very thorough during the training. He had our dog Joey listening to him in no time. Joey began walking alongside of me and John and not pulling on the leash or collar. He also waited to go out the door. Overall, we found the training enjoyable. We seemed to have been retrained by our dog and had lost control. We had to claim back leadership of the pack. The training was very informative and showed us how to get our dog to be a better listener and how to command his respect. John has followed up with us, but we were unavailable. Joey still has his moments of testing us, since we have a very confident dog. Overall, Joey is doing better. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Denis and Liz A
Denis and Liz A Woodbridge, Connecticut | April 21 2014
To date we have absolutely noticed results. Great method - results that work. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
review image
Laura P Grand Rapids, Michigan | April 21 2014
I like the fact that Bark Busters is not treat based and we do not have to use punishment. It works and it is easy to do. Ken explained the techniques needed as well as the reasoning behind it which was very helpful. I like how my goal is to improve my relationship with my dog, not just get him to obey. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Other
review image
Wanda R palm coast, Florida | April 20 2014
James explained the process very well. Very pleased he found the problem right away. We learned more about what we need to improve on with our puppy and learned to be the pack leader!! Got results after the 3 hour lesson!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Brandy B Portland, Oregon | April 20 2014
Debbie immediately addressed a number of concerns we had and did an excellent job explaining dog vs human. It was nice to be shown just how easy it is to get and keep out dogs attention, which we struggled with. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other
review image
Barbara K Sugar Land, Texas | April 19 2014
Very helpful and easy to understand. Very enjoyable and seems to make perfect sense. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Brett H San Diego, California | April 19 2014
My wife and I just met with Justin for our first session, and we were both blown away with the results that we saw from just a couple of hours together. First off, Justin arrived early, which I think is awesome this day and age. My first impression was that he was extremely professional, personable, and his love for our dogs came out immediately after he met them. The first part of our session was spent with Justin getting a little bit of background information on what we had been experiences with our dogs. We have two yorkie/schnauzer mixes, Nala and Trip. Both of them have been suffering from some level of separation anxiety. When we would leave the house, they would go crazy. You couldn't open a drawer to grab a pair of socks, pull out your shoes to throw them on, or touch your car keys. If the dogs were picking up on the fact that you were leaving, and they were experts at picking up on this, then they were going to start jumping, whining, barking and spinning around in circles. They have also had a lot of problems in the car with scratching, lots of panting, whining, and barking. This was mostly Trip, but both of the dogs experienced it. Trip has been good on walks with us so far, and didn't require much work today, but Nala has really always tried to be out in front on her walks. She would basically, at her four and a half pound weight, try and pull you along for the ride. She had to always be out in front. After going through the background information Justin started talking to us a little about his background, the creation of the company and their philosophy, and then about the approach that we would take for really interjecting and stopping these behaviors that were unwanted. He taught us how make a growling sound while saying "bah" to try and speak to the dogs in a language that they can understand and respond to. We then went upstairs to put these methods into practice. He had me go upstairs, throw a pair of socks and shoes on and intentionally try to get a reaction of them. When they reacted, we reacted, and started working with them on these behaviors. We saw results instantly. They seemed to not understand what was going on, since we had not ever done anything with them like this before, but they were new dogs. We then worked on walking all the way down the stairs with them, very slowly, so that we would feel like we didn't have to rush out the door (we used to always throw on our shoes, rush out and grab our keys and try and leave so they wouldn't get worked up). We had success in this area, as well. Don't get me wrong, we are correcting their behavior, but I have never seen them respond to us this well and this quickly. The next thing we did was practice going inside and outside a few times, and then got them on their leashes to go on a walk. For Nala he gave her a special collar, which he included in the price of his visit today. She had been on a harness before, but did wonderfully with this on her. It gave her a lot more freedom to walk on her own, so she wouldn't have to feel so restricted, and I can't even begin to describe the 180-degree change in her from one session of walking. We walked around the neighborhood trying to find other dogs for them to interact with, because Nala has always just barked her head off when other dogs come around, but couldn't find any dogs anywhere. After the walk went well, we then through a Thundershirt that we had already had on Trip before and was still in the house to try and take him on a ride in the car. Justin explained to us that you have to have it on there really snug for it to be effective, and helped us to see how to correctly put it on him. I had put it on securely before, but we got it on there tighter this time and actually saw results. We went on a ten minute drive and Trip barely made a peep. Not only was he quiet, but both of them just seemed happy throughout the entire day. We came back, Justin reviewed everything with us and left us with the instructions and things that we need to continue to work with our dogs on. He probably told us ten different times to call him if ANYTHING comes up so that he can help us on it. My wife and I could both tell that he truly wants to see these dogs succeed. She was tearing up on the walk, almost making me tear up on the walk, because all we want is these guys to just be happy. The way that Justin handles himself, too, just shows you that he loves each and every one of these dogs that he is interacting with and will do whatever he can within his power and means to help you with them. At the beginning of our session, while speaking to the anxiety, he never promised to be able to fix everything, but I can't tell you how different these guys seem already. My wife and I feel a wave of relief after two hours together. Thanks, Justin! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Mary R Fort Myers, Florida | April 18 2014
Thanks for training me as I was the problem not my dog. I observed noticeable changes during the initial 2 hour lesson and even more by the end of the first full day. Bark Busters of Fort Myers is excellent! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Kathleen DeMumbrum & Joan Killoran D EastPointe, Michigan | April 18 2014
Maril is outstanding - very clear and will demonstrate. The training was very effective, and Abbey responds. Maril is positive and realistic. We liked the methods of training without use of corporal punishment and/or treats given for obedience. Maril knows her stuff! She has a suggestion for any problem or situation we presented her with. She is the best! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Maril and Bob : I'm always proud to get praise from teachers. They know what it takes! Thank you Joan & Kathleen.
review image
sandra H Palm Bay, Florida | April 18 2014
So glad we used Bark Busters , we've had a great experience, Pam is wonderful to work with and we had results immediately . I would recommend anyone reading this to just go ahead and sign up it is worth every penny. Both you and your dog will be glad you did. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling