Dog training reviews

Read our Dog training reviews from Bark Busters page 793

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Jamestown | December 10 2012
Thanks to Amy, Merle has turned into a wonderful dog. At night he lies by our feet until it is bedtime - then his "Dad" takes him out to whiz and survey the property one last time. Afterwards he gets in his crate and sleeps all night. I am a little amazed that he is this calm considering where we were a couple of years ago. We seriously considered getting rid of him (call it what it is). The biggest difference has been Amy's training and the fence Amy recommended. Merle needs his space and often just wants to go outside into his back yard and do whatever dogs do (sun himself, chew on a stick, chase the squirrels, watch the neighborhood cats who taunt him). Amy taught us to speak "dog" so we know what his behavior means - a paw on top of us is not affection, it is dominance. We still have to work with him every day as he is naturally dominant (or a bit hard-headed). Yet, around other dogs he is very submissive. Sometimes he gets into a little trouble with other dogs because he is powerful and a bit goofy. I make a point of having him play with other dogs regularly. As I said, we have learned to speak "dog" but he has also learned a lot of English. He knows all his favorite people's names and will find them if they hide (he cheats though because he sniffs out the hiding places). He has also learned to get a beer from the refrigerator and bring it to us. He retrieves sticks and balls but his favorite toy is a log (yep, a log!) He knows the names of all his toys and will bring them to you if asked. Mostly these days we enjoy our time together. In the morning he chews his bone at my feet while I play on the computer. After my shower we always go for a ride in the car. When walking on a leash he is incredibly well behaved - other dogs barking or passing us do not phase him. In the afternoon, he is a great companion while I quilt. Don't get me wrong - we still have to closely supervise him with visitors because he is 85 lbs. and excitable (need to work on this). Sometimes he barks when people come to the door. Frankly, I suspect that bad behavior is just around the corner if we don't reinforce that we are the boss as Amy taught us. We love him very much and he is part of the family. Permalink
review image
Oregon City | December 10 2012
We sought out Bark Busters to avoid physical punishment, and we were 100% right to do so. We learned a lot in the most relevant setting - our home. All the questions we had - sometimes off-topic from the immediate discussion - were answered thoroughly and in specific, helpful detail. The results were like night and day between his initial unwillingness to allow guests and his eventual acceptance at the end of a few hours of training. Attentiveness training was especially helpful. Everyone who has seen Bert before and after even a single training session needs no additional recommendation. His growth speaks for itself! Permalink
Joliet | December 10 2012
John was very thorough with all of the training techniques, which were all very easy to understand. It was amazing to us that there were immediate results! John did a great job with Tanner and us. We do not believe in physical force to train animals. Bark Busters techniques are 100% safe for Tanner and we loved that. It was nice to have the trainer come to our house, in our enviornment to teach us the techniques. It was also nice to have the one on one experience versus the group dog training experience. We would absolutely recommend John Sullivan and Bark Busters! John was great! And seeing results in just a couple of hours was amazing. John showed us just how easy it was to train Tanner. We were a little worried before he came, but have all the confidence now that we have proven techniques to use. Permalink
review image
Kaye G Torrance, California | December 10 2012
I first signed up with Bark Busters about 2 years ago when Lori was trainer. We have 2 rescue dogs with barking issues and 1 who is aggressive to other dogs. After Lori moved, Sue Doyle took over. We only worked once or twice and then I didn't follow up on training like I should have. We have 2 family dogs that visit on Thanksgiving and it has always been stressful so I decided to call Sue again. She came quickly. The first training session she worked on greeting people at the front door and the second session we worked on meeting other dogs. The day of the last session the first dog and 3 people arrived, then 4 more people, then another dog and lots more family, and our dogs were very well behaved. We made it through the holiday with no confrontations and all had a great time. Sue showed me many techniques that truly helped--now all I have to do is keep up with the training! If I have problems again I know she will be out in a few days to help me again. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up
review image
Rose & Al W Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida | December 08 2012
Toby was responding to both James and Rose immediately. Toby's walking on a leash well already! Permalink
review image
Carmin M Barrington, Illinois | December 08 2012
Snickers is a different dog! We have already recommended Bark Busters to our friends and neighbors! Permalink
review image
Kim G Parkland, Florida | December 07 2012
Bark Busters is very patient and thorough. Both dogs were better behaved after the first lesson, and after the first week, the change was amazing. The techniques are easy to adjust to and easy to practice. A little stressful at first because I had to break a lot of bad habits, but the fast results were a welcome change. Permalink
review image
Coal City | December 06 2012
John was very professional. We could not believe how well our dogs responded to his training and commands. We are very pleased. Permalink
review image
Naples | December 05 2012
Bark Busters was highly recommended to us and the training still EXCEEDED our expectations. Patrick was great! Excellent in presenting the Bark Busters concepts in understandable terms. Permalink
Richland | December 04 2012
Pam explained the training techniques clearly and watched to make sure we understood. I was amazed at how quickly our two Goldendoodles responded to the training. I am very pleased with the positive training techniques used. I'm not sure Gus and Gracie realized they were being trained. It was interesting the way Bark Busters used the psychology of the dog and your body language to achieve a very pleasant relationship between you and your dog. Permalink