Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Tualatin | January 19 2013
Lisa explained the training techniques in a way that was easy to follow and understand. Both dogs responded very well..even the puppy! Training is easy to learn and practice, but you have to practice. The difference in our dogs' behavior is like day and night. They are great dogs, now they behave great too! Permalink
review image
Livonia | January 18 2013
Maril was very patient and professional to us! She explained why these techniques work and how a dog thinks. I was truly amazed. Bella is a good puppy (speaking as a 1st time dog owner who is afraid of dogs.) Maril made Bella listen better within the first hour. Maril remained calm and focused not only with Bella by also with my husband and myself. She calmly pointed out what we were doing wrong and corrected us. It was absolutely interesting and enjoyable. The time flew by. Lots of information. I took pages of notes. Love the homework and follow up visits. It was worth the money you pay. For a new dog owner, they are patient and explain everything thoroughly. Permalink
review image
Menomonee Falls | January 17 2013
Nikki is wonderful! She made (makes) me feel confident in training my dog. I have called her and emailed her several times for more advice and ideas, since my dog is kind of stubborn and a puppy, and she always gives me great tips to keep up my progress. Nikki always lets me know she is available and doesn't make me feel like I am bothering her with all of my questions! Laura Vuolo and family w/ Lloyd a 6 month old lab/hound Permalink
Sean M
Sean M San Pedro, California | January 16 2013
My fiancee and I were having a lot of trouble with our 1 year old Puggle, specifically, her incessant barking, biting, and stubborn behavior. Neither of us had any prior knowledge of how to train a dog so we were desperate for a solution. Sue Doyle gave us an informative overview of why dogs act the way they do, tips on how to curb these negative behaviors, and then, putting the information/tips into actionable training. Additionally, Sue gave us homework assignments which we have being doing religiously. Overall, within one lesson, the barking and biting have been reduced drastically, and being a skeptic myself on fast results, I am astounded at how quickly this occurred. Follow Sue's guidance, do the homework, and you should have a happy family! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Sheboygan | January 15 2013
The methods Ruth demonstrated and taught me are so effective and they can be used throughout the day. I am no longer hesitant to answer the door. My visitors will no longer be greeted by barks and lunges. I will stay with this and know that Ruth has my back when I need her. I love this system. It was a good decision. Permalink
PerryHall | January 14 2013
We were all out of options when my husband came across the name 'Bark Busters'. Our one year old Jack Russell mix had begun showing (what we thought were) food aggression signs when he was about four months old. We already were in puppy training classes and then begun intermediate classes for him. While he could be trained pretty well when a treat was involved, we could not get a grip on his food aggression. We started out with him as a five week old puppy and always had our hand in his bowl, we even would touch his mouth while he was eating and he never minded it. As the time went on and after the training classes our dog began to be unpredictable. He could be so loving one minute and you could rub him everywhere and the next thing you know he just turns on you with no warning and growls and shows teeth and then bites (sometimes pretty hard). Two trainers later and now he is a year old, he finally did the unthinkable, he charged both my me and my husband in the same night. My bite was not so bad, more like a scratch with a big bruise. My husband however was not so lucky. He should have had stitches but he was so shaken up by the whole event that he just couldn't bring himself to leave the house. The next day we called our current trainer and also our vet and explained the situation and both agreed that maybe our dog has a screw loose or some kind of mental problem. It was suggested to us to go to the ASPCA and have them do a series of tests on him to see if he could go into a new home. One of the tests would be to have him eat at his bowl and then put a fake arm near him as if to come near his food bowl. I must say, he would have failed test. He really would not have done well if you got near him while he was eating. If he failed the tests they gave him they would have to put him down because he would not be suitable to live with people. My husband scoured the Internet one last time to see if there was anyone out there that could help us save our beautiful puppy. He came across the Bark Busters site and gave them a call. He first spoke with a person in general just to share our story and then he was put in touch with Anne George. Anne heard our cries for help and then offered to come give us a FREE assessment of our dog. We took it not thinking too much that she could really save our dog but that she may just be able to give him a new home with someone who could deal with his temperament. She came to our house the next day and she immediately noticed that he was 'in fear'. He responded to her with no problem. He was never told to do something in dog language. It was already a move in the right direction. My highlight of the first visit was when she gave our dog a small bully stick. I told her it was not a good idea, that he would not be ok with others around and that we would have to leave the room or he would growl, show teeth and then attack us. She told me that she needed to see how he would respond, good, bad or ugly. She gave him the bully stick he went to a corner and then she asked him to leave it. HE DID. I was in tears and then at that moment I knew we did not have to put our dog down. We made our real appointment with Anne to get the whole training session and we are so glad that we did. Our dog Hunter is so much better. He needed to gain trust back in us and us in him. It is long journey that our family is happy to be on. I recommend this program to anyone with any kind of dog problems. Just stay vigilant with the training and you will be impressed with how your dog will learn to see you as a leader instead of as a lower dog that he has to put in it's place. Permalink
review image
Naples | January 12 2013
We enjoyed how June and Colin explained and presented the training. It was awesome to see how our dog, Eva, responded. Permalink
review image
Naples | January 12 2013
Incredibly good results! These folks were wonderful! Permalink
review image
Greenwich | January 10 2013
I couldn't believe how fast I saw changes. The training was excellent and Michael was really great in the way he included our children in our lesson... Permalink
review image
Fairfield | January 10 2013
Michael was great helping us introduce our new Golden puppy to our home. The method worked immediately and and we were able to correct a lot of the problem behaviors we were having within the first two visits. His housebreaking program was a lifesaver...thanks Mike! Permalink