Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Channahon | July 16 2012
John was very detailed in explaining and teaching us how to train our dogs. He also was very friendly in training us. Mya and Oliver responded very well and were on their best behavior by the end of the session. Radar did well, but was a bit difficult from time to time and needs more work. We were amazed at how much of a response was received from all the dogs with nothing more than voice commands. The first session ran a little longer than we expected, but was jam packed with good information. This was by far the best training ever received for our dogs. We would gladly refer John's services to others. We were very pleased with our first session and will undoubtedly set up more down the road as we advance. Permalink
Bloomfield Hills | July 16 2012
JOHN IS AN EXCELLENT TRAINER! His approach is clear, concise and his delivery is comfortable, yet direct. He helped us make sense of our 2 dogs' behavior and our response to it. The training makes sense and is something we can realistically implement in our home. Permalink
Lake Orion | July 16 2012
EXTREMELY INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE! It really 'connected the dogs' for us as far as understanding dog behavior! Permalink
review image
St. Paul | July 16 2012
Our only regret is that we did not call Lynne from Bark Busters the minute we brought home our new dog from the Humane Society. Buddy was an abandoned, neglected dog that started out very friendly and loving, but once he became comfortable in our environment, he became aggressive and overly protective to the point that we couldn't have anyone over to our house without fear of them being bitten by our dog. I knew that the usual training programs from Petsmart or the Humane Society wouldn't work on the specific problem we were having, as Buddy responded to heel, sit, stay, etc. rather well. This was something deeper that we assumed was related to his past experiences with his former owner. We were very frustrated and felt we might have to surrender the dog since we couldn't deal with his behavior. Based on their website and other reviews, it seemed that Bark Busters could be the ones to help. Lynne came out and sat down with us, discussed how the program would work, and observed Buddy's behavior. She was able to discern that Buddy, who is a Alaskan Malamute/ Lab mix, had a very strong need for a "pack" environment, and needed a strong owner to lead his behavior. He was not getting enough leadership from us, so he felt he had to take over and be the boss. Thus the assertive, often dangerous reactions to strangers to protect his pack. Lynne required that we learn to be commanding and confident in our interactions with him, as he was constantly protecting his home and neighborhood from other people and other dogs, which was natural to him. Lynne worked with us many weeks (at several weeks more than the typical client, I am sure) and was determined to help us, as she saw that Buddy could be a great pet and companion. She worked with us in our home environment, at local parks and public places, to further evaluate Buddy's reactions. Our program was definitely tailored to us and our dog. Lynne also showed us how some of our ignorance about dog behavior (first time dog owners!) led us do things that confused and frustrated Buddy, and eroded our leadership role in his eyes. We now have a dog that is loving to us, and accepting of our extended family in our home. He looks to us for direction, and we know how to give it to him. Whenever we have a question, Lynne is available and responds within hours to our questions. She even helped us find the right leash for him, since he is a immense puller (sled dog!) on walks and needs something to help curb his overpulling tendencies. One of the most important things we learned is that training your dog; is an ongoing process - you can't expect a quick fix for deep-seated issues like our Buddy had. But Lynne worked VERY patiently with us to help us see that Buddy could be helped. Permalink
review image
West Chester | July 15 2012
Karen was very thorough and answered all of my questions. There were some results after the first lesson which surprised me, I didn't expect to see results immediately. I was very pleased with the all natural training methods. I don't believe in hitting my dogs, so I liked this method. Karen is extremely interesting and she made it very enjoyable. She's very good with the dogs and great with the training techniques. Bark Busters is a solid program with positive reinforcement and I like the lifetime support guarantee! I love Karen and her energy. She makes me feel comfortable and she is very good with teaching me the techniques and very patient. I hope she stays my trainer forever! Permalink
review image
West Chester | July 15 2012
The training techniques were very clear. Taio is much calmer and better behaved. I got far better results than with treat training! I would absolutely recommend Bark Busters and already have! Permalink
review image
Larchmont | July 13 2012
It was actually fun to see Maggie's quick response to Mark's training. I would never have believed it could be so easy to get her to stay. Effective very quickly. Explained logic behind techniques well. Mark was very helpful. It's great that I can continue to contact him if I have questions. Permalink
review image
Janet Z Henderson, Nevada | July 13 2012
Will have more comments as we get further into training, but I feel that it really works in many ways. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
review image
Cynthia K Delmar, New York | July 13 2012
Rachel was amazing with our dogs. We are looking forward to training them. Life is already so much better! If I didn't see it, I wouldn't believe how quickly training helped. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Recall
review image
Harald & Kay S Lake Forest, Illinois | July 12 2012
Pleased with training. Results better than we anticipated. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Recall