Barbara Fassett dog training reviews

Barbara Fassett

Expert Dog Trainer, Barbara Fassett

See below for all reviews for Barbara Fassett, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Lyn H
Lyn H Wappingers Falls, New York | August 30 2017
I am so impressed with the results of our sessions with Barbara! Our dachshund Finn was a maniacal barker when anyone would knock or walk by our house, especially with their dogs. He also had some aggression issues when he felt someone was a threat to us or him. We immediately implemented all the training tips and techniques Barbara used - and have had amazing results. It now only requires a word to stop any barking that's started and most recently I'm noticing he looks at me before he even lets out the first "woof". Progress indeed. Additionally, Finn seems to be much calmer and happier. No doubt that's due to our regularity in training and his knowledge that he's not responsible for managing the house. Her methods did not include treats or physical handling. Much of it was based on 'dog psychology' and our interactions with him. It requires absolute consistency on our part, but the results are well worth any effort. I love the fact that the training is done in your own home, on the dog's home turf. Finn had been to basic puppy and intermediate school, but this was the step missing ! he needed more training at home, without distractions. I have already told many of my friends about Bark Busters and will certainly recommend Barbara to anyone that needs help with their dog. We consider it money well spent and an investment in a happier dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
review image
Meagan S Hyde Park, New York | March 07 2017
My husband and I brought home a new puppy in early January and with the excitement felt instantly overwhelmed. After speaking with a friend who used Bark Busters, I submitted a request for contact and a few minutes later received a call from Barbara Fassett directly. We chatted about Gemma, she explained the program to me and we scheduled our first appointment. I felt more at ease just knowing we weren't in this alone. Barbara spent 3 hours at our house that first night going through an education for us and for Gemma so we understood more about how dogs communicate. She gave us some initial training tools and we instantly felt like we had some control over Gemma's behavior instead of her controlling us. The day after, we noticed a significant difference in how Gemma interacted with us and listened and that continued to improve each day. Just about 6 weeks later and she is almost fully potty trained, willingly goes into her crate, sits and stays..., and understands the correction commands. Barbara has given us the tools we need to become 'leader of the pack' and we're excited to see how Gemma continues to improve! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Toileting
review image
Nancy C Poughkeepsie, New York | February 21 2017
Since May 2015, we have made excellent progress with understanding Bailey's behavior and how to best communicate and understand her body language thanks to our Bark Buster training. This past weekend, we asked Barbara to help us introduce Bailey to our daughter's dog that she adopted. It was another excellent experience. We introduced them at a local park, walked back home, observed their interaction in the yard and in the house. The dogs got along really well. We could not have done it without Barbara's help. It was very comforting having her there to diffuse Bailey's excitement, and we're very proud of our dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
Tom C
Tom C Dover Plains, New York | February 18 2017
Barbara is wonderful with Looey. Worked absolute miracles I just 2 visits!!! Looey was possessive, nervous, hyper, and aggressive when we first adopted him. Now he is so much more relaxed, responsive us, loving, and plays wonderfully with all our family dogs that visit. If you have a pup with any worrisome behaviors please call Bark Busters because they can make the same miracles for you and make your pet a pleasant part of your family. THANK YOU BARBARA!!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Corey F
Corey F Wappingers Falls, New York | December 17 2016
We couldn't be happier with BarkBusters - specifically Barbara (& John) Fassett. There really aren't enough words to explain how grateful we are to them and how lucky we feel that we found them. We adopted a 6.5 week old yellow labrador puppy from an amateur breeder near our home in July 2015. At the time, we did not know we were expecting our first human child as well! Having raised two lab puppies within my family when I was growing up, I knew of a few training techniques and Miles started out on a strong foot. He was house trained almost immediately, sat and waited for food, learned basic commands early on. But he grew fast and with one parent with basic training techniques and another with less experience, bad habits started to form: digging holes in the yard, jumping up on guests, chewing things he shouldn't, listening to commands only "when he felt like it." When we brought our daughter home, everything got worse and the fight for attention blew up. He started stealing pacifiers (yeah - I know - NO GOOD!), other baby items, really anything that wasn't nailed down, he would steal and parade in front of us / play keep away. Since he's GIANT, he was even able to steal food right off the kitchen table. Fears started to rise: What if he steals things from the baby and bites her? What if he tramples her because he runs around like a crazy dog? What if, what if? My family urged us to consider re-homing him due to the stress we were under. My husband and I were new parents, exhausted, frustrated and at our wits end. Enter: BarkBusters. We hopped online and happened upon the BarkBusters website. We took the behavior test and gave them a call. John answered and listened to our concerns. He was confident that even though Miles scored pretty high (i.e. BAD) on the test, the techniques they offered could reverse the behavior. They bent over backwards to get us on the schedule as quickly as they could. On May 17, 2015, our lives changed for the better when Barbara walked in our front door. She had an immediate effect on Miles. She took us through the details of the program, answering our questions along the way. She spent hours with us. We learned the beauty of "Bah," how to escalate warnings and the basic "drills" to work on with Miles to gain authority and show him we were the boss(es). She introduced the Game Changer and voila - he was finally getting some mental exercise. By the end of the training session, Miles was NOTICEABLY calmer. Each of the following training sessions were spent discussing what went well and what didn't, challenging and working with Miles in new ways. Some improvements were immediate - others weren't. Every dog is different and Barbara would switch to a different tactic with ease if something just wasn't working with Miles. Training extended past just live visits - we traded texts, calls, e-mails with successes and questions. Barbara was always there to help! Now a full 7 months from when we started, Miles is a different dog. He is better behaved, happier, calmer and is becoming a great buddy to our 8 month old daughter. He's not perfect (he's still a puppy after all!), but we continue to work with him and see improvements. My family is now in love with Miles and all suggestions of re-homing him are LONG gone. We owe all of this success to Barbara. She is a highly trained, expert dog trainer. Her techniques are effective and focus on building a strong respectful, loving relationship with your pup - without the use of treats. We whole-heartedly recommend BarkBusters (and specifically Barbara!). Best decision we made - hands (& paws) down! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Puppy management, Recall
review image
Robert H Rhinecliff, New York | October 20 2016
Our experience with Barbara Fassett has been exceptional. ! Barbara is a highly effective trainer who possesses admirable personal characteristics that immediately instill both comfort and confidence. She began training Mia , our beloved Blue Merle Collie when she was three months old and continues working with us as our puppy turns seven Months on Nov. 8th. During that time, Barbara has competently trained Mia and educated us as puppy owners. Barbara has provided our family with the skill and resources to train Mia in a confident and loving manner. The outcomes are measurable in that Mia understands and obeys all commands that ensure her safety and well being. Barbara also taught us how to keep a sense of humor and enjoy Mia as she will grow up quickly ! I can honestly say we couldn't have progressed this far without Barbara's dedication , professionalism , knowledge . skill and kindness. We look forward to many happy and rewarding years with Mia and will always be appreciative of Barbara's assistance. As an educator I I highly recommend Barbara Fassett and the Bark Busters program. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Alison W
Alison W Hyde Park, New York | October 10 2016
Barbara was amazing! I did not think that anyone could help me with my little dog's anxiety. Brewtus would bark at every unfamiliar noise. People would come visit me and he would nip at their ankles and sometimes their clothes. If anyone approached me, even if it was family or friends, Brewtus was aggressive toward them. During our first meeting, Barbara made excellent suggestions to curb Brewtus' anxiety. She explained why Brewtus was anxious and helped me become a more confident leader, so that he could feel more secure. I highly recommend Bark Busters! I especially like the fact that they do not use treats and that they are not physical with my dog. Anyone who has a problem with their dog's behavior should call Bark Busters. It was the best investment I've ever made. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
Nicci S
Nicci S Woodstock, New York | September 30 2016
Barbara was so nice and made me and my dog feel very comfortable. I learned that I needed to be trained too, my dog knew how to get over on me and I had to break my bad habits. I couldn't believe how quickly Bella has responded to what Barbara Fassett has taught her and she is less anxious. Bella had very bad separation anxiety and kept barking where other tenants were complaining to my landlord, now my landlord actually came to me and said she told other tenants with dog issues they should find out who trained my dog because she can't believe the difference! I recommend Bark Busters and especially Trainer Barbara Fassett and her husband Jeff Fassett to anyone who needs help! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Robert H Rhinecliff, New York | August 10 2016
Observed immediate results by the end of training. Barbara was very helpful and understanding. We found the training absolutely interesting and enjoyable. We look forward to continuing the training process. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
review image
Christine H Poughkeepsie, New York | August 03 2016
I was truly surprised at what Penny could handle after one visit. It was a relief to see how natural and safe the techniques were. No physical force or contraptions. Barbara made the training relatable and fun! I would recommend Bark Buster - I can think of at least two people who would benefit from Bark Busters.Thanks Bark Busters for giving us hope when I was beginning to think our only option was to put our dog down. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter