Justin Scher dog training reviews

Justin Scher

Justin Scher

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Daniel B San Diego, California | January 18 2018
I just want to say that Justin is amazing! Our puppy (10.5 months old), wasn't a "bad" dog, but had a couple issues. Barking at neighbors especially in the elevator (live in a condo), not listening to us when we wanted her to come to us, not great on the leash all the time, barking at guests or at the front door when the bell was rung, and a few other "small" things. And I will be honest, because we saw these things as "small" I was skeptical that Justin would be able to fix these issues as quickly as his other reviewers claimed, but I was dead wrong. Justin not only fixed these issues, but also gave us the tools to keep our puppy happy, confident and well behaved going forward. The thing that I loved the most about working with Justin was the fact that he didn't only help us to correct our puppy's behavior for our sake, but he also correctly identified her behavior as her being stressed, and not confident, and helped her through that as well. So not only are we happier, she is happier. Justin spent almost 3 hours with us in one day, he is very dedicated! And also one of the nicest people you will ever meet. By the end of the training my puppy passed my neighbor, who she normally ALWAYS barks at, and she walked passed her and didn't make a sound. We also went into a crowded elevator and my puppy not only didn't bark but looked pretty comfortable. I would HIGHLY recommend Justin to anyone who has any issues with their dog, he is worth every penny! Thanks Justin!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Puppy management
review image
Barbara S San Diego, California | January 18 2018
After rescuing Bruce 4 years ago (7 months old pitbull/boxer mix) from the pound I realized the challenge I was up to was too hard to handle. Bruce's emotional damage was too deep and he was extremely scared of everything. He did not want to come out of the house. And his separation anxiety made him literally destroy my home. I was so desperate I even called Cesar Milan but I was ignored. When I saw Justin's brochure at the vet I decided to give it a try. Justin is exactly like all these reviews say: such a good guy with a deep passion for dogs and helping families be happy with their dog. I decided to buy the lifetime training for Bruce as this kind of problem is very slow to resolve and it takes lots of patience. Justin came to see us for several lessons. Also, I would call him every time I had a doubt and he was always there for us, after hour and weekends included. Needless to say, with Justin's help Bruce came out of his shell within a few months and today he is A PEFECT DOG! Moreover, Justin opened my eyes to a brand new way of looking at dogs and interacting with them. Now I feel like I understand better all dogs. Both my dogs, Bruce and Vasco, are simply perfect. Thanks to Justin's teachings, now I have a channel of communication with them. I recently called Justin to ask him for an advice (3 years later) and he immediately remembered me and Bruce like we saw each other the day before. Justin is genuinely concerned about dogs and I believe he has the skills to resolve most situations. He will help you if you are willing to work with your dog. Because after all, dog training is more for dog owners to understand how to communicate with their dog and how to be understood from them. It does take lots of love, time, work and dedication from the owner. Dog training does not exactly work with a 'magic wand' to fix issues immediately, but with Justin and a bit of work on your part, it sure works! Justin makes training fun and bonding with your dog. I enjoyed this experience and the results. All I can say is: thank you, Justin! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Bona R San Diego, California | January 06 2018
I HIGHLY recommend Justin! He is the ultimate dog whisperer. I went from a hyperactive dog who I couldn't control when walking to a calmer, happy boy who understands loose leash walking. We were able to fix my dog in less than an hour of training and techniques we learned from Justin. He is super informative and you can tell he has such a passion for dogs. I can't wait to continue using the techniques Justin gave us! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Bona R San Diego, California | January 06 2018
I HIGHLY recommend Justin! He is the ultimate dog whisperer. I went from a hyperactive dog who I couldn't control when walking to a calmer, happy boy who understands loose leash walking. We were able to fix my dog in less than an hour of training and techniques we learned from Justin. He is super informative and you can tell he has such a passion for dogs. I can't wait to continue using the techniques Justin gave us! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Bruce L San Diego, California | December 27 2017
Justin is indeed a dog whisperer, to say nothing of being a dog-owner whisperer, provided those people will listen. We adopted our Husky "Sky" about a month ago. She's a sweet, gentle dog but suffers from some separation anxiety and leash pulling. In one session Justin showed us how to resolve those issues, nearly completely, ourselves. We have a regimen now of practice to reinforce what's been taught and we're absolutely positive that in very short order, Sky will be much happier, better behaved in the areas of concern we had, etc. Best of all, Justin and Barkbusters services come with unlimited support for the lifetime of our dog, so long as we live up to our commitments. We couldn't be happier and Sky couldn't be happier either. Thanks Justin!!! Your are without a doubt living your dream and 100% committed to making your life about the work you do. Hats off to you!!! Now, if you can help us train our 5 year old human, I'll double your rate!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Mark R San Diego, California | December 10 2017
We call Justin, "THE DOCTOR". In a two hour session, The DOCTOR transformed our rescue dog, Ozzi. From a skittish, nervous dog who was becoming unpredictable and aggressive and would go ballistic when someone came to the door or into the house, into 'man's best friend'. A miracle we tell ya, a miracle. Ozzi was doing GREAT, but then we left on a 5 week vacation and Ozzi was his old self. In a 20-30 minute refresher, THE DOCTOR, got everyone back on track. Literally 15 minutes and we had things back to 'GREAT'. I was thrilled with the LIFETIME guarantee but wondered how long t'd take to get THE DOCTOR out for a re-visit. He came two days after my call. I felt supported with renewed confidence. Justin, er, I mean "THE DOCTOR" knows his stuff and is well worth the investment. He ain't cheap BUT he's Magic. We have bragged about Justin & Ozzi to a kazillion folks. They guy is good. And DOCTOR-- Thank you from our family to your! Love, Ozzi Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Erica T San Diego, California | December 09 2017
Justin is truly a lifesaver! We used to walk down the street scared of how our dog luke would react with other dogs, he was always such a sweetheart in our house, but on the street, it was a different story! After just one visit Luke was a different dog! The techniques the Justin uses are simple but effective, Luke has become the dog we always knew he could be. He is a pleasure to walk on leash now and is so much better in the house in terms of barking at the door and leaving us alone while we eat. We were skeptical at first but desperate to try anything, and I am so glad we did. I promise you after one meeting your dog will be a different dog as well! The best part is that Justin is just a phone call or text away and is always willing to help. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Pulling
review image
Madison C San Diego, California | December 01 2017
I am so happy to be writing this review! Some quick background, my fiancé and I adopted a 5 month old puppy in May. He was a rescue from Mexico and although he was sweet as can be with us, he was timid and could be unpredictable. We noticed that his fearful nature was leading to aggression- especially toward people entering our home. After a few incidences with some aggression towards visitors and people in our neighborhood, we were at a loss at what to do. Oliver showed many fear based behaviors- barking, growling and snapping at anything he deemed to be "suspicious"- a person walking by, a plastic bag blowing in the street, a broom, his own tail...Trying to take him on a walk was near impossible, he would be so afraid of everything we literally couldn't get him to move and he would shake in fear. We had already done 12 weeks of obedience training and it didn't really seem to work when he was heightened trying to protect his territory or us. I am so glad I came across Bark Busters. I spoke to Jason (Justin's assistance) and he was amazing! He spent 30 minutes on the phone listening to some of the behaviors we were observing and if Bark Buster's would be effective. I never felt pressured or like I was being sold something, he was warm and empathetic and encouraged me to think about it before committing. After reading all of the reviews we decided to book our appointment and I can't tell you how happy we are. Justin truly is the dog whisperer. He explained where Ollie's behaviors were coming from and how we could correct him to show him that we we are the leaders of the pack. I was so nervous that he would say our dog couldn't be helped and would just leave, but he asked us to trust him and let him meet Oliver. We had Oliver on leash and he began his aggressive behaviors, and responded instantly to the corrections. Justin built trust with Oliver and showed us how to encourage him. He respected our dog's fearful nature and showed us how to adjust the correction levels so they were appropriate for what he needed. By the end of the appointment Oliver just wanted Justin to pet him and play with him THIS WAS A BEHAVIOR WE HAD NEVER SEEN WITH ANYONE EXCEPT MY FIANCÉ AND I! We were absolutely blown away. We went on a walk and that dog that wouldn't move and feared everything..GONE and replaced with a happy-go-lucky tail waggin' dog that followed all direction and corrections. All of this after 1 appointment! If you are in a similar situation, don't hesitate! Book now! It was worth every penny. I can't wait to continue our lessons and give our dog the relaxing life he deserves. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Amber E San Diego, California | November 28 2017
Justin is remarkable! I have a 1 1/2 year old Boston Terrier, Bentley, who has had growing leash aggression, anxiety around other dogs, whimpering at home when dogs would walk by and just generally thought he was the boss. I had come to the point where I was scared to even walk past a dog not knowing how he would react, which in turn was creating more anxiety and aggression in Bentley. Within one session, Bentley was a changed dog, and I was a changed person. Justin showed me how to speak dog - and it worked! He adjusted the training to be specific to Bentley, who was very sensitive and needed lots of praise after he heard the "BAH" (You'll know what that means and how it works soon enough!). The very next walk Bentley and I went on, I wanted to walk by dogs, just to see how awesome Bentley was doing. I've now heard "what a well-trained dog" on my walks a few times and share Justin's information on the street! As Bentley became more comfortable with his new boss (me!), he started to push the boundaries a little more while walking. Justin and I met again and we went through how to proactively manage each situation. Justin even brought his own dog and mine together so that I could understand how I should handle introductions. Instead of growling and jumping, Bentley was submissive and sweet. He took his time meeting Justin's dog and before the end of the lesson was giving dog kisses and rolling on his back around the other dog. Bentley is now happier and more importantly, stress and anxiety free. Having worked with other trainers in the past without sustained improvement, I can tell you that Justin's passion and knowledge are beyond worth the investment. I am now armed with the tools to be prepared for any situation and know that Justin is there if I need him! I highly recommend him - you will be amazed at the change you will see! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling
review image
Natalia W Lemon Grove, California | November 25 2017
We just had our second training session with Justin and it's hard to explain what this has meant for us. Here's a little background. We purchased our dream dog, a gorgeous pick of the litter springer spaniel. She was meant for a life of show but had the terrible luck of having her parents be aggressive with her which in the dog world is about as traumatic of an experience as you can have. This went on for 4.5 months so by the time we got her, her dog aggression was out of control. She attacked our senior cocker spaniel any time I pet her or if she went near her food or toys and any other dog she would see she would instantly want to attack and I'm talking straight for the face and neck until she saw blood. I have never seen a puppy be so aggressive in my life. It was heartbreaking and so stressful to live in fear of when she'd snap at our other dogs and not know if we'd ever be able to live in harmony. Enter Justin- the most mellow, positive energy, ray of sunshine you'll ever meet. Instantly the room changes because the dog knows someone is in charge now and she relaxes knowing it's no longer her job to protect the pack. He explains to us how she came from trauma and I got her right after the trauma of losing our 10 year old Tibetan terrier so together we were the perfect mess of wanting to save each other but instead creating unstable havoc. It was time to teach her that she was safe with her new leaders and that although I was unstable when I got her it was not her job to protect me or the home or anything. It takes a minute to understand that everything we do as humans with nothing but the best intentions actually hurts our animals in these situations. The second you implement the BAH and you start with corrections the dog instantly starts looking to you for guidance and the transformation almost makes you feel like an idiot because the science behind it is so simple. You are now communicating with your dog like a dog instead of trying to have them know how to understand human. Back to today. The scene is the Little Italy farmers market where there's a million dogs and people. Showing leadership we walk by everyone with no attacks because I'm in control. Here's the real kicker, we are working the Justin's perfect boy Luca who is the example of a calm , submissive, respectful dog. Addie is shy and fearful but every block she is learning to gain confidence and trust in us and in Luca. By the end of the hour we are chatting on a corner and Addie keeps checking Luca out. She's on her back getting a belly rub and he comes to sniff her and she puts out a paw to his face to engage in play. In my head harp music plays, white doves fly and in real life I start crying because to see her do that instead of trying to rip him open is an experience that couldn't really be felt in any other way other than raw emotion. You know what makes you feel right about a situation like that? When your trainer has tears in his eyes knowing what just happened and what he did for a family that just weeks ago was so broken. I can't sell this service any more genuinely than this. I'll be completely transparent, when I first called bark busters the price took me back and I said no way. It took 2 weeks of bloody attacks to hit rock bottom and decide that's what budgeting and credit cards are for. After today I'd hand over my home and car keys for such effective training, in a heartbeat! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Payment Options

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter