Justin Scher dog training reviews

Justin Scher

Expert Dog Trainer, Justin Scher

See below for all reviews for Justin Scher, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Grace F San Diego, California | January 24 2015
Needless to say we were the classic case of SRDS (Spoiled Rotten Dog Syndrome), luckily we did find a cure... Justin from Bark Busters! He is seriously one of the best investments we have made for our precious lil' boy. Rudford's "SRDS" made him an unruly dog, he was very aggressive: barking at and jumping on people. He pretty much ruled our house. Justin really brought to light what we were doing wrong, why Rudford was doing the things he did and how to EFFECTIVELY correct it. After just the first session with Justin it was like we had a new dog, the results were immediate! It has been a month now and we feel more at ease anytime strangers are around. Thank you Justin for all your help, you definitely earned the Dog Whisperer Badge of Honor! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Toileting
review image
Lindsey G Alpine, California | January 09 2015
Our story: We have two large dogs (Rottweilers) both under three years old. We were having aggression issue with our younger male dog. He would go after other dogs while we were on walks, and towards other dogs he was introduced to. We called Justin and he was nice enough to come to our home (even though we live far out in east county.) He showed us how to communicate with our dogs in away that would give results and let our dogs know that we were in charge, not them. The results were immediate! I never thought I would see our dogs behave this well. I will say that his training requires daily reinforcement by us, but we are happy to do it, especially with these results. Although we worked on only a few exercises with the dogs their demeanor has completely changed for the better. They are not constantly pawing at us anymore, no more grunting, and I can see that they actually respect us more (sounds weird I know) I also have no idea if this is a result of the training or not, but they are sleeping longer too! No more early wake up calls anymore! Since we've only had one session I can't wait to see what we can accomplish next time. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
review image
Lori S San Diego, California | January 07 2015
My husband and I both work at the zoo as animal keepers and trainers. We adopted an 8 year old dog about 2 years ago from a shelter and he was a great addition to our household. The only problem was that he and one of our cats could not seem to get along. We spent the last 2 years breaking up fights and doing everything we knew to do to try to fix the problem, but it was not working. I was at my wits end with the situation and was concerned for my cats life. The reality was settling in that I may have to re-home my dog, which broke my heart. We decided to bring in a professional as a last attempt to help everyone get along. We found Justin on Yelp and he had the best reviews of any other trainer I had researched, so we made an appointment. After our first session with him it was like a whole new household, we felt more in control of our environment and all the pets were calmer around each other. Both our dogs are now better behaved and we can take them on walks with out having them pull us down the street or worry about running into other dogs. Justin is a lifesaver! We highly recommend him, it's well worth the price. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Carl P San Diego, California | December 24 2014
Justin of BarkBusters has worked a miracle with our dogs. Our 6 year old chocolate lab and 2 year old boxer/husky mix, while super sweet, suffered from a severe inability to walk without barking incessantly at people and especially dogs, as well as from getting way overexcited whenever anybody walked through the door. Our first session went so well that our dogs improved to the point that we never would have even needed to call him in the first place. But after our second session, we realized just how much better they can be. While they used to pull and whine and bark on the leash, they now walk slow, steady, and very disciplined, in just 2 sessions! Justin's approach is very confident and stern mixed in with super caring and sweet to reward good behavior. He not only trains your dogs, but you as well, so that after he leaves your dogs respect your commands and behave the way you want them to. I highly recommend Justin of BarkBusters San Diego to anybody who wants their dogs to behave better than they currently do. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Ryan T San Diego, California | December 22 2014
To sum it up, Justin is a miracle worker! I used to dread taking my dog, Jax, for walks. He would pull, not walk in a straight line and bark like crazy when he saw another dog. We also had problems ranging from agressivness with other dogs to Jax jumping on people when they entered my home. On our first session, Justin went over all the things i wanted to work on. Justin showed me how to speak "dog" and the proper way to correct Jax's behaviour. Justin was able to teach me how to turn Jax from a high energy and nervous dog to a relaxed and calm one. When working with Justin I felt like I was on an episode of the Dog Whisperer! I can't say enough amazing things about Justin. I'm still in awe that after our first session I saw such a dramatic change in Jax's demeanor. Everyone tells me its like I have a different dog. I can't thank Justin enough. Book a session with Justin, he'll change your life! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Alyssa A San Diego, California | December 03 2014
Wow! I found Bark Busters here online after being extremely frustrated with my dogs behavior on the leash or when guests were over. I had previously gone to Petsmart training where the trainer said there was nothing we could do and it was just my dog's personality. Not true! Justin is an answered prayer. It has been one month since he trained Sammy and Sammy is a complete different dog. Prior to training I would sometimes dread walking Sammy as he would bark at other dogs, pull on the leash, not listen, or bark uncontrollably at anyone in my apartment. Literally an HOUR after Justin's training, Sammy was a transformed dog. I couldn't believe it. He's super good on the leash and I can walk him stress free. I can also now have people over and he doesn't bark at them or get in their face. I HIGHLY recommend Bark Buster's to anyone who loves their dog dearly but is frustrated with their behavior. The best thing about Bark Buster's is they don't use any choke collars, shock collars or anything inhumane. This was very important to me. Thanks to all the other yelp reviews that helped me make the best decision I've made all year. Cheers!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Pamela W San Diego, California | November 19 2014
WOW, Justin from Bark Busters is INCREDIBLE!! This is one case where we need a scale of more than 5 stars!!! My sister was referred to Justin from a co-worker to help with some behavior issues she was having with her dog, Quincy. Since we all interact with Quincy on a daily basis she asked us to come and observe the training. What we experienced today was nothing short of amazing!! First of all, we loved the fact that Justin came in and educated us on how and why dogs exhibit certain behaviors. I firmly believe that it is important to know the "why" when dealing with behaviors and how to correct them. Justin explained everything in a very clear and easy way to understand and did not hesitate to answer any of our many questions. Quincy is a fun loving and energetic dog, however he was having issues with some behaviors that needed changing, such as excessive barking, pulling while walking, aggressive behavior, jumping etc... I am not exaggerating when I say that we saw a change in Quincy's behavior within minutes! I couldn't believe it!! I don't think that my sisters or I thought we would see this kind of change so quickly. Justin was absolutely great in showing us how to be the "leader of the pack", and in teaching us what we can and should do to make sure Quincy is a well behaved and loveable dog. By the end of the first visit, Quincy was not barking needlessly, not showing the aggression and was walking side by side with my sister. It was easy to talk with Justin and we so appreciated that fact that he was not at all judgmental in his coaching or in making us aware of things that we had been doing, that we should no longer do. Quincy loved interacting with Justin and we know that he will be a happier little fella with unwanted behavior no longer being an issue. My sister now knows what to do and how to more effectively interact with Quincy on a daily basis. Everyone is much happier:-). Justin was very personable, extremely professional and showed us so much patience. I have a little dog and I have done other trainings (that didn't help), but I will definitely be contacting Justin. I will say that if you have any pet behaviors that you want help with, call Justin at Bark Busters. You will be so pleased. I promise!! Thank you Justin!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Telly M San Diego, California | October 16 2014
Justin is a lifesaver! With two beagles use to their own acre to roam in Washington, coming to San Diego (for my husbands work) and living in an apartment is a difficult transition. After researching trainers in the area, I settled on Bark Busters. We first met with Justin in 2012, and he helped us get control of our energetic beagles. Forget about taking them on walks, just taking them out to go to the bathroom was a nightmare! I was near tears on a daily basis. Noses to the ground they'd work themselves up into a frenzy. Heaven forbid if we actually saw another person or dog! Desperate I contacted Justin. In our first training session, within five minutes of the dogs being outside on a leash, he had them calmly walking around our apartment complex! I was not expecting that kind of improvement so quickly! Socializing them with other dogs took some time but with every training session we saw improvement in leaps and bounds. Being consistent when he's not around is key! Now two years later we're back down here for work again, and our dogs are great in the apartment, and with people.. But they were struggling with socializing with other dogs again. So I called Justin and set up a training for the following week. He remember the boys and was genuinely excited to see them. This just showed me his love and passion for what he does. We met and he showed me some new training techniques, and now my beagles doing so much better! It's nice to have a trainer on hand who is always willing and able to help! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Vanessa V San Diego, California | October 16 2014
Thank you for bringing Justin into our lives! I pride myself on researching restaurants/Services. In this case I didn't know anyone that used Justin before. So I was flying solo! As a proud french bully owner it was hard for us to admit "We have a problem" which is Step 1. Step 2. Acknowledging that we needed help from a "higher dog power" A.K.A. Justin from Bark Busters. :) Once I narrowed it down to a trainer with great reviews we were ready to spend the cash and he has been worth every penny! Friends and family come over and they say "he is such a calmer pup" that was just after one training session!! No joke the training Techniques work and we are still in the process of correcting a few things but it's been amazing! Otis respects me and looks to me for direction and he is a much better sibling to his frenchie brother Mojo. I cannot wait til I am 100% stress free on a leash with my lil crazy frenchie! I love him even more and I am grateful to Justin for helping us with our lil furry child. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Savannah M San Diego, California | September 03 2014
I've had my dog Beamer since he was a puppy. He has always been an absolute sweetheart, but he had a lot of behavioral problems. My dog was, dog aggressive, would bark at anything that would walk by our porch, he would try and eat his leash, he would pull on his leash so bad that he has actually made me fall down the stairs and pulled me down. I was at my ultimate lowest when he tried to attack and kill two dogs at the dog park, I was lucky that he was wearing his muzzle. I was so absolutely stressed, and overwhelmed and scared. I was terrified taking my dog out to go to the bathroom, I was terrified that something bad was going to happen and I would have had to put down my best friend. At Beamer and I's all time low, my mom found justin. Beamer and I have only had one session so far, and got the lifetime guarantee. But all I can say is he is wonderful! I saw improvement in my dog with the first 45 minuets. I was able to walk him around the neighborhood with a loose leash, and him staying right by side. His attitude has changed, he is back to being my sweet boy I used to know. Earlier today he watched another dog walk by on the porch and did nothing about it. This morning I've been able to leave the sliding door open to my porch, while dogs have been walking by, and he has continued to stay by me instead of running out their and barking. This was all in the first session! I'm so happy to see such improvements in my best friend. I'm very excited to see what the future holds for me and Beamer and I look forward to more sessions! Thank you so much, justin! I recommend him to anyone that thinks that their dog is un-fixable, I thought mine was, and now I finally have hope! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Puppy management

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter