Justin Scher dog training reviews

Justin Scher

Justin Scher

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Rex L San Diego, California | August 19 2013
Justin helped me with my dog's aggressive, unpredictable behavior. Before training with him, I did not feel comfortable letting my dog loose at dog parks or dog beach, which was annoying since I lived 1 block from dog beach in OB! Not only did he help train me to train my dog, but I feel that now my dog and I have a better relationship. He's great with dogs and once you see him in action you'll know what I mean. He can teach you to have the same control and respect from your dog, and have to loosen up and fun along the way! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Nicole P
Nicole P San Diego, California | August 19 2013
With the stress of various complaints of our pups barking and crying incessantly whenever we left them at home we decided to give Bark Busters a try. There were also a number of other issues we knew we needed to address, and we're SO glad we found Justin! Our pups have completely different personalities and Justin knows exactly how to handle each of them and taught us the skills we need to effectively train them. After just the first training session, we saw a huge change in their behavior. Though it's still a work in progress, Justin has been extremely helpful and patient. He genuinely cares about the people and the dogs he works with. Thanks for everything, Justin! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Dilara A
Dilara A San Diego, California | August 19 2013
Justin is amazing. It's like magic. In 2 sessions, Justin had transformed our canine terrorist into a calm, relaxed dog. When we first adopted Huxley, a ~1yr-old schnauzer mix he came with a past of abuse and a fear of tall men and strangers. Whenever friends came to our home, he would bark and attack the front door. The same would happen if anyone came near us on the street. Huxley would go from being a sweet, cute dog into this ferocious beast. My husband was afraid that he would bite someone and then we'd have to put him down. We were at our wits end having tried just about everything. Nothing worked. Thankfully, we found BarkBusters and Justin. It was worth every penny. Now we can have friends over and Huxley stays calm and his entire demeanor has changed. Justin is fantastic with us and Huxley and it is clear that he really loves dogs! Update: Huxley walks by other dogs without barking up a storm. And our dog walker has noticed a difference. Thanks Justin. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Stephen P San Diego, California | August 19 2013
My Goldendoodle Oliver has had extreme separation anxiety since I picked him up from the breeder. He gets crazy when crated, and has caused a great deal of damage to my home and car due to his fear of being alone. It escalated to a point where I either had to be with him, have a dog sitter, daycare or board him. Enter Justin Sher of BarkBusters, known for success with this disorder, as well as dog training in general. Justin has been great. Very professional, knowledgeable and caring. Always makes time for an appointment and is on time.The BarkBusters approach has really worked for Oliver and me. Oliver has now adapted to being in the crate and seems to now feel like its an oasis. I can leave him for long periods of time and he mostly just sleeps. I watch him on my iPad or iPhone while I'm away by use of a videocam, as suggested by Justin. Before Justin and BarkBusters Oliver would become violent and try to rip the crate apart and anything in it. Justin has also helped me with leash walking, and instead of trying to pull me along, Oliver now heals perfectly. We are working on other training issues and Oliver seems to pick things up very fast.Thanks to Justin and BarkBusters I now have a well behaved, much less anxiety ridden companion. He's a pleasure to be with and as Justin says, Oliver respects me as the leader of our pack. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Lora H San Diego, California | August 19 2013
The love of my life has four legs, weighs about 40 lbs, and is made up of a bit of boxer and pit bull. Her pouty face and doe eyes made everyone smile... until she started attacking anyone and any dog at any time. I've grown up with dogs, and have had so many dogs in my life ALWAYS. I didn't know what I was doing, or how to turn this around. I've read some books on behavior, walked her 3 hours a day, and socialized her at every opportunity. Still, she attacked, and a couple of times drew a bit of blood! (fortunately, I knew this person... so I didn't lose my baby!) Something HAD to be done! As a worker in the pet industry I have the pleasure of meeting a variety of pets and their many personalities, some of them needing more attention than others. Then, I noticed some of my regular clients that were normally "difficult" dogs were wearing red Bark Buster collars, and they were actually behaving! So I decided to give it a try. I was a bit hesitant at first, because of the initial price. I spoke with the people that used Justin, and they SWORE I wouldn't be disappointed. Boy, were they right!! It was worth every dollar! You have a lifetime guarantee, and Justin trains YOU and your DOG! So we are talking about a LIFETIME of training skills!!! When Justin first came to the house, I thought for SURE, my little love would be trying to rip his leg off, and that it would take weeks to calm the beast. I was ready for the shock collars and tasers , but all he brought were a few noise pouches and a squirt bottle. I was skeptical, but within a few minutes, he had her under control! Whoa! So I thought that there's no way this is long term! So then it was ME. As it turns out , it's not the dog that needed training, it was ME!!! One month and 3 sessions later, my dog that would normally chase the neighbors into their house, COMPLETELY IGNORES THEM!!! She no longer freaks out at every person who walks by, and she doesn't try to kill every dog that walks by! I feel confident, and in control, and now I know how to behave around MY dog to have the relationship that makes us both happy! AMAZING! Thanks Justin, You're a life-saver! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Pulling, Recall
review image
Diana F San Diego, California | August 19 2013
When I first got my puppy I knew that I wanted training for him (or actually me) so that i would have a well behaved dog and in turn both of our lives would be less stressful. I hire a trainer to work on your basic dog stuff like walking on a leash, getting accustomed to the crate and he was having separation anxiety. Basically, when I would leave the house he would freak out, barking, howling etcetera, to the point where I received notes from neighbors complaining. The trainer I originally hired simply did not to the trick. Hundreds of dollars spent and although he got a little bit better, but it was not enough. That's when I got a note from my neighbor. At this point, I had become a prisoner of my own home. I literally could not leave my place and leave him there. I was really frustrated... So, I decided I needed to try something different... SOMEONE different... Someone with a different approach. That's when Justin was referred to me.... And my life was forever changed. Justin came to my home at a convenient time for me (which was ASAP) and immediately gave my something new to try. One week later of implementing his exercises... I was FREE!!! My dog no longer has separation anxiety! How do I know this? Easy, I had set up a camera so that I could view him when I was gone, in case he freaked out... NOPE... Nothing. He goes right to sleep for the most part. HUGE lifesaver. Another thing, before Justin, I had a huge playpen overtaking my entire place, not to mention the wee wee pad holder. I told him I wanted to get rid of this stuff and just keep the crate and get him used to going outside (because I live downtown)... That day, the playpen was gone and it has been two weeks since and he is potty trained! Not only that but on our walks, I am leading him instead of him leading me all over the place. Justin really helped me get my life back, my place in order and most important, relieve the anxiety my puppy used to have... I would recommend Justin to anyone for any obedience issues. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Melanie H
Melanie H San Diego, California | August 19 2013
Harry was acting like Cujo until we met Justin! Our Chinese crested is fear aggressive and insecure, but in two hours Justin transformed him into a calm and relaxed pooch. Perhaps more importantly, he taught us how to keep him that way! Justin was our last hope as we were agonizing over whether Harry needed to be put down as he had already bitten someone. We shuddered to think of what would happen if he ever escaped! With a 5 year old child who loves to have friends over, we also knew the chance of Harry biting a child was a huge liability.We got Harry when he was 7 months old from a private party. He has always been male aggressive but he gradually started disliking everyone outside our family. We started to feel as though we were being held captive by our vicious little dog. Having friends over would mean non stop barking from the crate. We have spent thousands of dollars on vets, dog psychologists and trainers in the past 3 years but nothing has ever worked. Trainers would tell us that he was too old to change or that he was just born aggressive. In desperation, we went to a dog boot camp in North County and met the owner who professed to be an expert with large hostile dogs. One look at my barking and snarling little guy and he told us he would take $2000 and shock him into submission, but he wasn't sure he could make him a "nice" dog. He told us to put him down when we refused to pay him to hurt our dog. After one lesson, Justin was able to knock on our door, ring the doorbell AND sit on our couch with Harry out of his crate! Not only that, Harry let Justin pet him!! I cried...literally!! This was our first lesson and the next one is leash walking (he's a leash puller). I will update my post after lesson 2. Thank you Justin!!!!!!! I didn't know what to expect because your reviews seemed "too good to be true" but they were spot on!!!! You rock! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Merissa N
Merissa N San Diego, California | August 19 2013
My boyfriend and I had adopted a pitbull mix and have constantly worked with her for almost a year, but was really having problems with her fear with males and listening to us. After struggling for some time we decided to call Justin for some help. Thank god we did because Justin helped so much!!! Justin has such an amazing natural way with dogs, which was really important to us because we don't believe in shock collars, prong collars, etc. Justin didn't need any of that!! We saw a difference in our dog Marley's behavior after the first week!!! So happy we called Justin it was seriously the best decision we have made for our pup who is not living in fear anymore. Thanks Justin for the help!! :o) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Pulling
review image
Patrick B San Diego, California | August 19 2013
Our Olde English Bulldog, Olive (1 1/2 old) suddenly started developing some anxious and aggressive behavior. She had become overly protective of our house (or any house she was visiting), we were no longer comfortable having guests over as she had displayed some not so friendly behavior with a few of our friends and neighbors. Justin was great, he came over on time and sat down with myself, my fiance', and Olive to get a grasp of the unwanted behavior. After we talked about some of the causes of the behavior Justin then worked with Olive and us(10% Olive 90% us). Almost immediately, Olive was a different dog. It has been 2 weeks since, all unwanted behaviors are gone, and she is back to being the perfect dog she was before. We have had several house guests over since, Olive was as friendly as could be, wagging her tail and giving kisses. When the doorbell rang before, she would "rush" the door growling, barking and snarling. Now, when the doorbell rings she just lays down in place where ever she is at in the house, not a peep. Thanks Justin! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Recall
review image
Ashley G San Diego, California | August 19 2013
I can't thank Justin enough for training my dog & I. Milo developed separation anxiety a few months ago due to a pack member moving away & us moving to a new apartment. It was just too many changes at once for him to cope with. He would immediately start freaking out when I left & would bark for hours. When it didn't stop on its own & neighbors started complaining... I knew I needed help. Thank goodness I found out about Justin & Bark Busters. The training definitely takes time & patience but the repetition pays off! Only 3 weeks after beginning & I have a much more obedient dog who can sit, stay, knows to walk beside me on a leash AND... no longer barks when I leave. He now accepts me as leader of the pack. I highly recommend Justin & his training - it works! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Payment Options

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter