Justin Scher dog training reviews

Justin Scher

Justin Scher

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
Lisabet R
Lisabet R San Diego, California | August 19 2013
When i first got my dog Todd from the shelter i saw that her needed some work, as most dogs from shelters do. I emailed a LOT of dog training companies and I found Bark Busters! My dog Todd was very scared of men and I was worried that Justin (as a man) wouldn't be able to get close to Todd as would needed for training. But, right when Justin walked into my house Todd went straight up to him and sat in his lap! I was thrilled with this experience. Ever since the first training lesson Todd has been a changed dog, well on walks, respectful, and knows who's boss! Thanks Justin for all your help! I'm sure you'll be needed more as he gets older. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other
review image
BT N San Diego, California | July 15 2013
Justin is amazing! We had issues with our 4 yr old Pomeranian, Jack. Like many other small dog owners, we catered to his needs and allowed him to take over. We didn't realize it at the time, but we created a little monster. Jack had severe separation anxiety and socialization issues with other people, kids, dogs, skateboards, you name it. Anytime we would leave, Jack would start to bark and as soon as we would close the door he would howl as if he was calling to his wolf pack. When approaching other people or dogs, he would tug, growl and bark nonstop. We tried everything to address these issues; obedience classes, the Thundervest, aroma therapy (a device that plugged into the wall and released pheromones similar to a mother's), specialized treats, we even turned to doggy Prozac. Nothing worked. Justin was our last hope. I can't imagine what Justin was thinking watching our 5 lb. Pomeranian jump and run around our loft while barking continuously. Justin started with a subtle approach with the spray bottle to see if this would defuse the barking, didn't work. Justin recognized this right away and changed his approach. To our surprise, Jack seemed to respond to the training immediately and Justin was able to calm Jack down within a matter of minutes. In another session, we worked outside and Jack was put to the test. There was a kid on a skateboard with his father and dog outside, four things that triggered Jack's "crazy" behavior. I admit I was anxious as I started to walk toward them and expected Jack to start his erratic behavior. Jack allowed the dad and son to pet him and didn't budge when the dog approached him, something that rarely ever happens. We were all quite surprised and I was one proud mama! The only thing we regret is not trying Bark Busters sooner. Justin is a life saver! He is definitely a dog guru. He answered all the questions we had and taught us and Jack to work together. The result is a happier dog and owners. We highly recommend Justin, his passion for dogs shows through his line of work and the end results. Jack isn't completely fixed yet, but we are confident that Jack will be fully cured of his separation anxiety and behavior issues. I guarantee you'll be asking yourself why didn't I try this sooner! Thanks so much, Justin! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Coronado | September 13 2012
I found Justin through a recommendation from my Vet- I'll write a lengthier testimonial at a later date...But at this point, I just wanted to say I couldn't have found anyone smarter, more devoted to his job, and more sensitive to our family (& my personal) situation and needs. He has been a miracle worker for our Golden Retriever puppy, Grace, and a tremendous ego booster and support /confidence builder for me. Thank you!!! Permalink
San Diego | November 07 2011
I contacted Bark Buster's when my 2 year old lab/pit mix Sookie and I moved into a townhouse where a cat, Bentley, was currently living. For the life of me and my roommates we could not get the dog and cat to get along. Constant hissing and barking and lunging and just overall it was a tense atmosphere. I had to keep Sookie on her leash at all times and it was just no fun for the both of us. Finally, I had Justin come in and by the end of his first visit Sookie and Bentley were calmly co-existing. Bentley even came downstairs and ate his food in front of Sookie while she just laid there. From that point on things only got better. By Justin's next visit there was a notable difference in the atmosphere and dynamic of the house. We are still working on better walking on the leash, but the biggest issue is, thankfully, behind us. Mainly Justin has showed me how to be the leader that Sookie needs and as long as I remain consistent with her we are going to have a more relaxed relationship in the future. Thanks Bark Busters and thank you Justin!! Permalink
El Cajon | January 18 2011
Justin has now helped us with not just one, but two dogs. My newest dog, Wendy, was so strong that when she jumped up she knocked me over. She also engaged in puppy biting and barking that was less than cute. She started to calm down within ten minutes of Justin's arrival. He was able to figure out what techniques would get through to her very quickly, and worked with me until I understood what to do. Within just one day, I was able to play with Wendy with a cup of coffee in my hand, something I have never been able to do. Justin is just wonderful. Permalink
San Diego | September 24 2010
Nothing less than amazing. My two boxers had been to countless trainings and schools. I saw results after the first week. I'm now able to walk the dogs and use the training aids in a correct manner. After taking my giant boxer, Tyson, to the vet and having the vet shake as she listened to his heart, I spoke to Justin and he accompanied me for the next visit. He has really done above and beyond. I recommend him to anyone that has dogs big or small. He is consistent and honest but I always knew he cared about my Tyson and Layla. Permalink
review image
San Diego | August 11 2010
I was very impressed with Justin and am happy I called him. When I brought my new rescue pup home, Pippin would bark constantly if I left the apartment, even for a few seconds. Within two days of Justin's visit, Pippin was showing about a 90% improvement. After a week, it was 100%, and we have no more problems with barking. The techniques turned out to be so simple and gentle, yet I would never have thought of them on my own. In our second visit, Justin answered many questions I had about dog behavior, and I felt more confident after our talk that I'm on the right track with my dog. This was money VERY well spent, and I have no regrets whatsoever about working with Justin and Bark Busters. Pippin and I both send our thanks! Permalink
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
Another amazing review for Justin, but he really is this great! Justin helped me out over a year ago with my Jack Russell, "Sproles." We adopted him from the humane society, and I don't think he had ever walked on a leash before. He would get extremely frantic whenever we passed another dog. He would just completely lose it, barking and crying, because he wanted to go towards the other dog and usually this freaked out the other dog and owner as well. Justin showed me how to correct Sproles on the leash before he got into this excited, out-of-control state, and now he is a dream to walk. I even get compliments from people on how well-behaved he is for a Jack Russell. Justin just dropped by for a short refresher course after Sproles had an incident with my dog walker, and it was just as effective as his previous training sessions. Justin is truly a behaviorist and will teach you how to watch, listen, and feel for your dog's state of mind so that it's easy to stop the bad behavior before it starts, and he is also great about reminding you how important it is to reward and reinforce the good behavior that you are teaching. Definitely worth it to seek out a true professional like Justin if you are having behavioral issues with your four-legged friend. It will make life for the both of you so much more enjoyable, and enjoying your dog is what it's all about. Permalink
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
Whoo-hoo! I am learning to speak dog! Just had my first session with Justin yesterday to address issues I have been having with my headstrong, 11-lb. Pom. He's 10 months, and I had been looking at training options for months. None seemed to be what I needed. I wanted to figure out how to deal with certain issues...excessive barking in a variety of situations, jumping on people, leash pulling, chewing, and other general behaviors I wanted to correct. Obviously, what I was doing was not working. Justin came in and immediately was greeted with a bark-a-thon and within seconds, Bear stopped barking-Hey, how did you do that?-I have been trying for months without progress, and within seconds my dog was quiet. WOW! You have got my attention! Over the next two hours, Justin showed me how to properly correct and train with INSTANT results. Turns out I was the one that needed to be trained-LOL! Bear is doing amazing with the training Justin has taught me and only barked one time in 24 hours and stopped immediately when correcting him the right way-whoo-hoo! The walk this morning was a breeze-no pulling. I wish I would have found Justin earlier and can't wait for Justin's next visit! What is so great about Justin and Bark Busters is that they come to your home and see the "real" situation. They can observe things you may not even realize that are issues and teach you to properly train your dog. I have so much more confidence with training Bear, and if I am unsure of something, Justin is just a phone call away to give me advice on how to handle it. Thanks Justin! Permalink
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
I found Justin while doing a Google search for dog trainers in San Diego. I didn't think anything of him or his work and decided to go with another company, which shall remain nameless. The previous trainer didn't seem to teach me anything, and I felt it was an hour lost, in addition to the money I coughed up. I called Justin and voiced my concerns regarding my dog Aldo, and he told me to rest assured; he'll be able to show me changes in one session. I was skeptical and thought he may be too confident of himself. BUT, let me tell you...he did just that. I have a 7-month-old mini Australian Shepherd, and he has energy galore. He would jump all over people and think it's playtime whenever someone walks in the door. From the first session, Justin was able to have the dog sit, listen to what I say, and be more attentive. For anyone who is looking for a trainer out there, trainers are plenty and so are their companies, yet not many trainers will tell you what the problem is and solve it from the ground up. Justin did that for me! As long as you follow his instructions and actually put in the effort, your dog will turn out great. Too many people try to humanize their dog and treat them like one of their own and forget that these "kids" are dogs, and at the end of the day, work on instincts. It's an art how we can communicate with them, and Justin is like Picasso in that field. I have been getting compliments from my friends and family on Aldo's attentiveness, in addition to his calm demeanor. I recommend Justin to anyone willing to put an investment into his or her dog's life. Permalink

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Payment Options

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter