Scott Schwab dog training reviews

Scott Schwab

Scott Schwab

See below for all reviews for Scott Schwab, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Jeanne T
Jeanne T Denver, Colorado | June 29 2017
After lots of research, I called Scott. His assistant, June, answered my many questions effectively, was patient and positive. We have two labs, around 6 years old, and the male Jake believed the our iron fence was not to be approached by others - dogs, strangers, kids. He would bark a lot, and his back would go up. His partner in crime, Bella, would bark sharply and often. They knew if their bark collar or training collar was on or off. No amount of "Stop" etc. would work though they are well-trained in many other areas, such as bird hunting, and can be kenneled with other dogs and get along with the dogs. Scott explained what Jake was thinking and effectively taught us how to change his attitude and behavior. Another trainer was going use an electric fence for a couple months, but these dogs know when this sort of thing is active or not. We must continue to work with the dogs - it's only been 2 days- but we know what to do and Scott's techniques are very effective and cause no harm nor negative reactions from the dogs, rather, they look to you for direction and praise. We will happily call Scott for any additional issues or corrections. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
Jeanne T
Jeanne T Denver, Colorado | June 27 2017
After lots of research, I called Scott. His assistant, June, answered my many questions effectively, was patient and positive. We have two labs, around 6 years old, and the male Jake believed the our iron fence was not to be approached by others - dogs, strangers, kids. He would bark a lot, and his back would go up. His partner in crime, Bella, would bark sharply and often. They knew if their bark collar or training collar was on or off. No amount of "Stop" etc. would work though they are well-trained in many other areas, such as bird hunting, and can be kenneled with other dogs and get along with the dogs. Scott explained what Jake was thinking and effectively taught us how to change his attitude and behavior. Another trainer was going use an electric fence for a couple months, but these dogs know when this sort of thing is active or not. We must continue to work with the dogs - it's only been 2 days- but we know what to do and Scott's techniques are very effective and cause no harm nor negative reactions from the dogs, rather, they look to you for direction and praise. We will happily call Scott for any additional issues or corrections. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
Chris O
Chris O Golden, Colorado | May 23 2017
Wow, Scott and the Bark Busters technique are both amazing. I spent an hour and a half with Scott this afternoon. In one session we transformed the leadership in the pack. My dogs now look at me for guidance in how to react. We have also corrected the dogs pulling while on walks and aggressive behavior to the front door when a guest arrives. What I am most surprised by was the ability to bring another dog into my house and have Kingston not react. Normally he lunges at any dog he sees however when I brought a new dog in the door he looked at me vs give the new dog any attention. I feel like I don't recognize my dogs after our session because they were so well behaved. The training starts now and I have my homework to work on to ensure I stay the leader of the pack. Scott, if you need a reference please have someone reach out to me directly. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Jill B
Jill B Lakewood, Colorado | April 07 2017
Scott arrived with such a mild manner, and my barking dog didn't even bark. I knew right away this was going to work! I have been working with my 2 dogs, boxer and boxer mix, for about a year now with guidance from another dog behaviorist. I wasn't making progress. I was spending a lot of time doing the wrong things and just getting frustrated. Just one session with Scott and the Bark Busters methodology, I can see how the right things can make such a big difference. I'm excited to spend time doing the right things now and get to the point where I can walk them both together! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Heather E Lakewood, Colorado | March 29 2017
Scott came over to our house almost 2 months ago to work with us with our 6-year old dog Buster, a blue heeler/pitbull mix. Scott spent 30-40 minutes talking with us about the philosophy behind the training and the techniques used. His explanations and instructions were thorough and clear. We then spent the next hour and half working directly with our dog under Scott's guidance. The results were immediate. We could hardly believe how Buster responded to the training and exactly in the manner in which Scott explained would occur. Some of the issues we had Scott help us with include Buster's overreaction to someone coming to the door (ie, excessive barking, crowding the door, hardly giving space for people to enter), his "herding" of strangers in our house, severe pulling when walking on a leash and aggression towards other dogs while on leash. The great part about this training is that the same basic principles and techniques are applied regardless of the situation at hand. This provides continuity in addressing any situation. We have been working with our dog for two months now and continue to have great response. One point of note, is the importance of consistency in working with your dog. As many reviewers have indicated, and as Scott told us the first day, this training is most successful when given attention daily. The more consistent we are in the training, the better the response in our dog. Even though we saw immediate change, the training isn't a magic pill, rather it has equipped with better understanding and tools that we implement in our everyday interactions with Buster. Scott provided us with great instruction and support and provides very prompt response to any issues. There is comfort in knowing we have an expert resource to turn to with questions or should additional needs arise. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Pulling
Martin K
Martin K Denver, Colorado | March 01 2017
Scott is amazing. It is clear the moment he walks in the house that our puppy respects his leadership. And the tips he gives us for establishing our own leadership have been extremely helpful. In addition, Scott is completely responsive. When we have a question, we send him a text and usually hear back within minutes - always with useful ideas and feedback. We have had several dogs, but this is the first time we have worked with Scott. The difference is clear. Our puppy is already a well-behaved, well-socialized family member. Incidentally, one tip for people considering working with Scott: We hired Scott and met with him before bringing our puppy home. His tips were both comforting and helpful in avoiding bad habits from the start. We would highly recommend hiring Scott before you get your dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
review image
Katherine L Denver, Colorado | February 23 2017
My vet, Dr. Jenkins at Highlands Animal Clinic recommended Scott to me after I told her about my failed attempt at training with Noble Beast. I was a little skeptical at first when I called and realized that Bark Busters is a franchise. However, I set up a complimentary consultation with Scott anyways and I am SO glad I did. My boyfriend and I have two dogs with very different needs, one is a very shy puppy and the other is an outgoing sweet as can be Australian Shepherd but turns into a completely different dog when the leash goes on. We have tried multiple methods and trainers to help with leash aggression and nothing has worked. Scott was able to correct 6 years of bad behavior within an hour of meeting Buckley. To say I was shocked would be a complete understatement. I didn't think it was possible, especially in such a short time frame. We have continued working with Buckley on this and the change is still astounding. Scott gives a dog owner the tools they need and does not promote dependence on him. With very few in person visits, he is able to initiate big changes and is consistently available via phone/text/skype when specific questions come up. We have a few more things to work on in person with Scott but feel comfortable and confident that this approach will make both our lives and our dogs lives much easier Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Brittany W
Brittany W Denver, Colorado | December 08 2016
I adopted a 9 month husky one month ago from the animal shelter. Nieve has severe separation anxiety and crate aversion- will howl/cry horribly and tear up carpeting, blankets, etc. I worked with another behaviorist, who taught me the desensitization method. After two weeks off work committed solely to training my dog, through this method, the anxiety somehow seemed worse. I couldn't even leave to get groceries. My carpet was ripped up, and my dog still unable to be left alone for even an hour. I reached out to Bark Busters as a last ditch effort to be able to leave my sweet, timid dog home alone, if even to run the odd errand. I just completed my first session with Scott, and the results were immediate and purely gold. I'd read these reviews prior to our session, and have to tell you- he knows dogs. Within thirty minutes, not only was Nieve willfully entering her crate, but she was laying down in it and staying while we left the room-- WITHOUT THE DOOR EVEN BEING CLOSED. As I speak, she is calmly sleeping downstairs while I am upstairs typing a review. This is without a toy, treat, or kong bribery. Instead of teaching me a long method of behavioral shaping, Scott instead showed me the most effective way to "talk" to my dog. I am so excited to be able to have a bit of life back, and also relieved to see that my dog finally seems to be relaxed and peaceful. Can't wait to continue this same concept with the rest of her training. We are so, so happy with Bark Busters. Thank you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Separation anxiety
Rebecca D
Rebecca D Arvada, Colorado | September 28 2016
I highly recommend Scott for behavior modification. My small dog of 15 lbs. had problems with resource guarding, and attacked big dogs when they got near me. I think he may have had some bad experiences before I adopted him at the age of 3. I wasn't sure how to deal with his overprotective behavior and it was really important for me to have a well behaved and happy dog. My neighbor recommended Bark Busters, and I couldn't be happier. Scott taught me how to deal with these situations, and my little dog is doing much better. Every day I work on training- the more consistent I stay, the better he does and the more ‘natural' it becomes for both of us. Now, he looks to me to guide him where to go, or what to do. Fantastic! I learned how to ‘speak dog'! I am very happy with the education and training I receive. I also learned how to properly walk him so that I'm the leader and reduced his nuisance barking. I never thought it was possible, thank you Scott! -Rebecca & ‘Oso' Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Recall
review image
Leigh D Denver, Colorado | September 26 2016
Scott came to my house yesterday for about 1 1/2 hours and I was immediately impressed. My dog is already acting better and his methods are very effective. It is great to have tools that I can do on my own each day to reinforce what Scott did. I highly recommend this company! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Separation anxiety

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter