James & Michelle Rodriguez dog training reviews

James & Michelle Rodriguez

Expert Dog Trainers, James & Michelle Rodriguez

See below for all reviews for James & Michelle Rodriguez, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Judy T
Judy T Richmond HIll, Georgia | November 01 2022
We have two dogs but needed the most help with our 3 year old Brittany….Ginger. For those of you that are familiar with that breed, you clearly know how energetic and spastic they can be. We had a Brittany before, but Ginger has exceeded the craziness. She had a bad habit of counter surfing in the kitchen while we were cooking. As much as we yelled at her, that bad habit continued. Walking her was exhausting. The minute she got outside, her nose led the way. She would pull so hard, and if a car drove by, she would bark and try to dart at the car. That was really nerve wracking because one day if we didn’t have complete control of her leash, she definitely would have been hit. We finally decided to hire a dog trainer. We hired James with Bark Buster. The best thing about his tactics, is that we are not just attending typical training classes teaching dog obedience. Most dog training classes have a generalized training outline. James customized the training needs based on what we wanted to be corrected. We successfully keep the dogs out of the kitchen during any cooking process. We can now walk the dogs and there is absolutely no pulling. They no longer control us while in the house or during the walks. Both dogs now understand that we are the pack leaders and that we control our expectations of them. In the end, it was my husband and I that really needed the training. We are both thrilled at the results and look forward to finally enjoying calmer walks and more peaceful times within the house. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Frank M Seabrook, South Carolina | August 26 2022
James Rodriguez is a master: experienced, knowledgeable, authoritative when necessary, and successful in gently overcoming a dog's bad behavior or habits. James first educated us on the traits of dogs in general, and our dog Rocky in particular. He was correct in all respects, and quickly taught us the best methods to help Rocky shed behavior that had become intolerable. Those methods proved to be successful. Money well spent. Frank and Tami McCann Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Kelly C
Kelly C James Island, South Carolina | August 02 2022
Michelle began working with my dog as a 12-week old puppy. Since then, she has continued to implement training that is age appropriate as my dog enters new phases of life. I could not be happier with the results. I look forward to continuing these steps as my dog grows into adulthood. Michelle is very professional, but also just a joy to be around! I highly recommend Bark Busters and James and Michelle. You will not be disappointed. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Diana B
Diana B Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina | July 22 2022
Working with Michelle from Bark Busters has been so very helpful with our feisty (albeit adorable) little Pomeranian who kind of thought he was in charge of the world! Michelle provided super helpful tools, strategies, and information so we could understand how dogs think and communicate, and learn how to change our dogs behavior by changing our behavior. It takes practice, however the strategies work! She has made herself readily available via a combination of in person sessions, phone calls and texts. We highly recommend Bark Busters! Thank you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling, Recall
Leslie S
Leslie S North Charleston, South Carolina | May 01 2022
Bark Busters has changed our lives. James is unlike any trainer, he is always there for anything that comes up. We've been working with him for the last 2 years since getting our dog, and he still comes out when we have questions. He's even helped us with our new puppy and the transition of bringing her into our family. This isn't just a one time, pay for training and be done, this is for the life of your pet. As life changes, as environments change, as your dog matures and other challenges come up, James has been there with us through it all. He's only a text away, and always makes time for us. I couldn't say enough good things about Bark Busters. If you're thinking about it, just do it, its the best investment we've ever made into having a well trained, obedient, and loyal dog. He takes the time to teach you about your dog so you can understand what training works and why. If I went back in time knowing what I do now, I would have only called sooner. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Alexis L
Alexis L Bluffton, South Carolina | April 30 2022
James has been such a phenomenal trainer and person throughout every interaction we have had with him. When we adopted Braxton, we were informed that he had behavioral issues with children and other animals. He had bitten myself within the first few weeks of taking him in so we began to search for someone to help us since we had not experienced this before, and giving him up was NOT an option. On our first visit with James, he took the time to educate us on Braxton's learned and inherited behaviors and certain things that could and could not be completely changed. We learned how to establish dominance and recreate our family dynamic in order for Braxton to feel more secure as well as situations that helped or hindered his traits. After working with James over multiple sessions- Braxton is a COMPLETELY different dog. It has been night and day of a difference. Our bonding has strengthened immensely and he has not bitten myself or my fiance a single time since we learned our new tools. I am telling you- James is an absolute miracle worker and has impacted our life in more ways than we can express. We are so incredibly grateful for his mentorship. 10/10 recommend! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Thomas R Charleston, South Carolina | April 23 2022
Michelle is great and really passionate/realistic on what you can get out of your dog. Signed up for two dog training and one of our pups passed shortly after signing up and Michelle was prompt and thoughtful to refund us accordingly. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Meredith J Goose Creek, South Carolina | April 13 2022
We adopted one puppy intentionally and then fell into a stray puppy a few months later. We were in over our head and were beyond frustrated that our dogs wouldn't listen, chewed everything, barked at neighbors, dug holes, you name it, one or both dogs did it. One was so aggressive when meeting new dogs I thought we would never be able to take them anywhere or have dog friends over. This sounds dramatic, but James from Bark Busters was a life changer. I knew we were the problem, not so much the dogs, but he showed us how to communicate with them in a manner they understand and everything is different now. They are delightful. Perfect? No. But they listen better, we can leave them unsupervised for longer, and their whole demeanor is so much calmer. They are changed dogs because we are better at communicating with them. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Digging, Pulling, Recall
Diana W
Diana W Summerville, Berkeley, South Carolina | April 07 2022
James from Bark Busters has been our trainer and has taught us how by learning to lead our 95lb. Boxer mixed dog - Charley, we can modify his behavior tremendously in a positive way. We had been dealing with behavioral territorial, protective, and fear based issues that lead him to bite in 3 different situations. We tried other training methods in the past and nothing seemed to work. Charley is a sweet good behaved dog when around the people he has always known, but we would always refrained from bringing other people home because of fear of his reaction. James taught us how establishing leadership and following through with consistency can change Charley’s behavior from a fearful reactive dog, to a more calm and secure dog. Side note: While his fears of thunderstorms were not addressed in the training, by establishing leadership, his fear and anxiety of thunderstorms changed dramatically. Last night we had terrible and really loud storms in Summerville and in the past he would have jumped on the bed between my husband and I and would have been alert and shivering, but last night, I dragged his bed close to ours and instructed him to stay in his bed. Although he was alert to the noises, there were no signs of anxiety, panting, or whining and he eventually fell asleep through the storm. I truly believe that learning to lead Charley through the methods taught by Bark Busters added life quality for my family and our dog. We truly recommend them! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling, Recall
Whitney A
Whitney A Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina | February 03 2022
Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value - We adopted our lab mix, Penny, about a year ago and she is a year and 3 months old now. When we got her, people hadn’t been over much because it was still during covid times, but we noticed after a couple of months, if anyone did come over, she would bark at them the entire time. She also was terrible on the leash. She would pull all over the place and would be constantly trying to sniff and eat everything we walked by. In the summer of 2021, we had sold our house and moved into an apartment temporarily for a few months. Penny barked at every single person that we walked by in the hallway, outside, in the elevator, even if someone walked by the apartment while we were inside. Since she was a little older, her bark sounded scary and aggressive. We know she is a sweetheart, but it was scaring people. She also would lunge at them while she was barking, which did not help. We could not deal with it anymore. We had so much anxiety every time we had to take her out. That is when we decided to call Bark Busters. We worked with James, who was super nice and knowledgeable. Penny barked her head off at him when he walked in and he stopped it right away without any contact with her (no shock/beep collars, etc.), which is what we wanted. The first session was so informative and life-changing. It basically was a dog psychology lesson and was more about training you to be a leader for the dog. Penny was barking at everyone because we did not do a good job of showing her that we were the leaders of the pack, so she thought she had to protect us. Once we knew how to do that properly, she backed off and let us lead, meaning no more barking and pulling on the leash. Her behavior changed drastically in just one session. It takes, work, though! It’s really up to the owner(s) to get results, but it made a world of difference for us. We are so thankful for the help we got from Bark Busters! It honestly improved our quality of life! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter