James & Michelle Rodriguez dog training reviews

James & Michelle Rodriguez

Expert Dog Trainers, James & Michelle Rodriguez

See below for all reviews for James & Michelle Rodriguez, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Tiffany N
Tiffany N Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina | February 11 2019
I’ve seen a major improvement in my dog’s behavior over the past few months while working with James. I have a 3 year old hound mix who had some unfortunate bad experiences with other dogs while growing up, causing him to be very fearful and reactive to dogs while on leash. He also became protective over certain objects and furniture in my apartment, and as a veterinarian who has taken him to several other training classes and works with dogs for a living, I was unsure of how to correct his strange behaviors! James taught me how to read my dog’s body language in different situations and how to communicate with him more effectively. He actually came to my apartment complex so we could work in my dog’s environment. He would give me a set schedule of things to work on before the next training session and made sure I understood everything before leaving. He always answered my texts promptly and was able to modify training techniques for what worked best for my dog and I. My dog has not been as anxious in my apartment and is not guarding objects and furniture anymore. He now walks next to me on a leash without pulling and we are able to pass other dogs without him being reactive. He has even been able to go on walks with other dogs and I’ve been able to take him out to a few restaurants where other dogs were present (which is something I never thought was possible)! James has really helped me to understand my dog better and I see a happier more respectful dog in return. I am very happy with the results from working with Bark Busters and highly recommend them to anyone looking for training! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling, Recall
Brittany K
Brittany K N. Charleston, South Carolina | January 28 2019
We contacted Bark Busters when our Goldendoodle was just 10 weeks old. Best decision ever! We worked with James all the way until now (Winston is now a year and a half) to say we are pleased is an understatement. I wish I could give 10 stars. Winston took to James immediately and the training is not only for your dog, it’s for you as well. The techniques work if you really put forth the effort and do your homework. Anytime we felt Winston was regressing we contacted James and he responded immediately with tips and reminders of what to do. Everyone who comes to our home compliments how well behaved our dog is. Choose Bark Busters with James and Michelle! You won’t regret it! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Anne E
Anne E Charleston,, South Carolina | January 27 2019
We travel a lot and live in both country and city settings. Trapper was smart but was difficult to train, and manage his aggression toward other dogs. Really it was the owners, we gave him too much power and had to learn to manage him both at home and in public. One lesson with James was life changing. He helped us define the roles of owner and pet. It is challenging to make the changes and even more challenging not to slip back into old habits. We waited a long time for our second and third lessons. Don’t wait, work hard on the exercises and you will see it pay off. It wasn’t until we interacted with other students that we realized how far we have come. James is calm and immediately respected by the dog, it has been life changing and this is not my first dog. Thank you James! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling
Elizabeth R
Elizabeth R Charleston, South Carolina | December 15 2018
James and Michelle are absolutely fantastic! I am a Vet Tech at All Creatures Vet Clinic in Charleston and they have done demos for our team at the clinic to teach us how to handle different dog behaviors. In addition, James came to my house to help with my 6 month old puppy, Luna. James helped me claim spaces in my house, correct barking behaviors, stay away from the door when people come and go, and walk on the leash better. Even when i'm shaking a bag of treats, she no longer comes in the kitchen or jumps on me to grab food (even though she is extremely food motivated). They show you how to speak dog; that way, you don't have to rely on treats, shouting, shock/bark collars, etc. to help with your training. I now understand how to speak to my dog and effect her behaviors in a way that she understands. James and Michelle are so motivating and truly care about helping and supporting their clients! I highly recommend their training services! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Ashley D
Ashley D Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina | November 01 2018
As a person who tends to be conservative with money, I was reluctant to make an investment in dog training without assurance that it would be worthwhile. Bark Busters was recommended by coworkers and trusting their opinions I finally scheduled an appointment. My boyfriend and I have 2 hound mixes, his who is sweet and tame, and of course mine, who while loving, is a headstrong ball of energy. Needless to say, I had no idea how to train her properly and was becoming desperate for help. Before our first appointment with James ended, I was sold. He laid out clear, simple guidelines for working with our dogs and I was immediately able to see a positive response from both dogs. Using their methods, I am finally able to walk my dog without getting dragged around the neighborhood and becoming incredibly frustrated. While we of course still have room for improvement, I couldn't be happier with this investment in my relationship with me dog. We even were able to include them in our adventure to Asheville! Not long ago I never would have believed that to be possible. Thanks for your help and support! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
Geddy P
Geddy P Charleston, South Carolina | October 31 2018
We have been working with Bark Buster's over the past few months. I am very excited by the results I am seeing and with the methodology Michelle and James use. I have a two year old hound mix who is very food oriented and easily distracted. Instead of being treat based, they focus on establishing yourself as the leader and using both verbal cues and body language. I was amazed by how well my counter surfing food hound listens to the "growl" correction they teach. I am excited to see the change in him as we continue working with Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Bruce K Johns Island, South Carolina | October 30 2018
We are the parents of a Cavachon puppy, Remy. We started working with James when Remy was only around 10 weeks old. He is now almost 4 1/2 months old. The insights offered by James have been critical to Remy's development. He is rapidly becoming a great companion. This is our first dog, and I don't think we would have such a loving and mature puppy if left to raise him on our own. Bark Busters' training techniques have been key. We owe much to James and could not recommend Bark Busters more highly. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Amy J
Amy J Daniel Island, South Carolina | October 17 2018
Bark Busters was recommended by my vet. I have been working with James to help my 8-month old puppy (and me) to develop good habits. He is awesome to work with and has been very responsive to any questions. I like James' communication style very much and the way he can interpret my little puppy's behavior and then help me understand how to adapt my approach. Great job! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety
Lane W
Lane W Summerville, Dorchester, South Carolina | September 08 2018
Years ago we decided on purchased the Life of the Dog Support on our Beaglier. We live on a busy street and our fear was that if she got out she would run thinking it was a game. Listening to commands and following instructions was difficult for her, and frustrating for us. I needed to be trained on how to be a better dog dad, and Bark Busters was our solution. It has been the best decision we have made with our pups training and they do honor that support as promised. Anytime we have a question, or we find ourselves with a training challenge, James is always available to us, and even comes to the house for training and follow up sessions. It is simply one call or email, and they have the answer or visit to teach us. I would give them five more stars if it was an option, thanks James for all of your training and advice !!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Recall
review image
Shauna S Charleston, Charleston, South Carolina | August 15 2018
I love James and Michelle! They were both so professional both on the phone and in person! James came over the next day from when I called and had a bunch of personalized training stuff already put together for me! With a new baby in the family I wanted to get control of my dogs aggressive tendencies towards children and James 100% helped me prepare to have Lou around children! I feel so much more comfortable going into these situations now than I did before and I cannot wait to continue the training techniques we worked on to help Myself establish more of a leadership role in Lous life! I highly reccomend them for any and all dog related issues! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter