Bark Busters Charleston Reviews

Reviews

337 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.99 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Jeannine H.
    3 years ago — Charleston, SC

    About 9+ years ago, Bark Busters (James) expertly helped me train my Cav King Charles. Time came for a new puppy. I researched a polar opposite breed, hub’s favorite. Found a breeder, picked a female, ready to get in 3 weeks. Christmas surprise for our teens!!! Exciting, right? My gut kept telling me differently. Thankfully, Bark Busters was still in town, left message for a consult. James called me back within an hour! He chatted with me as if we just hung out last weekend. All those years ago training Bella, we picked up right where we left off. (Jokes, laughs, and seriousness). After listening to James thoroughly and professionally explain, step by step, my new expectations of owning a large working class breed, was my gut instinct correct? Did I choose to give up the large $$$ deposit I just gave last week, miss the fun of a puppy in house? Disappointed my research proved fruitless? Yes. James talked with me for over an hour on the phone, for FREE!!! (i did ask to pay him for his time). James’ memory of our backyard setup, organized homelife, my personality, ha!, all helped me rationalize how my current situation would drastically change. The negatives outweighed the positives. But, most importantly, James reminded me how the new puppy would affect Bella’s remaining year(s). And that was the deciding factor. It simply was not the right time. Honestly, the next day I felt a H U G E weight was lifted off me. I was no longer worried and my gut was feeling great! All thanks to James and Bark Busters’ claim to fame. Since James gets to know his clients so well, I asked him what large breed he does see ME with. Did he have the answer? Of course!! When i heard the type, my gut AND my heart felt right. But will I choose Bark Busters to train the new puppy when “really” ready? In a heartbeat. Keep your ringer on, James! ❤️

    • #Puppy management
    • #Other
  • Jean F.
    3 years ago — Summerville, SC

    Photo of Buzzie Bark Busters is AMAZING!!! In a matter of days they helped us transform our spoiled little 15wk old Yorkie puppy into the dog of our dreams! Everything they told us to do has worked!!! Unbelievable! If you have a dog you owe it to yourselves and your pet to help them be the BEST they can be! Bark Busters and our puppy are two of the best things that ever happened to us! We are GRATEFUL!!!U

    • #Puppy management
    • #Other
  • Tori R.
    3 years ago — Summerville, SC

    Photo of Aurora & Dixie I am so so happy that someone recommended James and Michelle!! We have two, four year old dogs that just needed help figuring out where they were supposed to be in our pack. With the tools and lesson plan James provided, my husband and I are more aware of the roles we needed to be playing and the rules we needed to be enforcing. With a baby on the way these techniques have made my dog ownership life 100% times easier, within ONE month we saw results. But I cannot express this enough—> it is worth every penny if YOU are willing to work! This isn’t going to work if you don’t play your part, and James isn’t here to beat around the bush, he informed us that he is only there to share his knowledge, to show us HOW to be successful, and to provide support whenever needed. And tough love works, on you, and especially on your pets.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Other
  • Peter W.
    3 years ago — North Charleston, SC

    Photo of Roo, Shep & Lotus Our 3 dogs have made a complete turn around thanks to Bark Busters and James. What we once thought was impossible in fixing our dogs behavior is now a reality. We can’t thank you enough!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Toileting
    • #Other
  • Jaan R.
    3 years ago — Charleston, SC

    Photo of Bennett My wife and I cannot say enough good about James and Michelle and Bark Busters. Within the first 30 minutes of our first appointment, we saw results using their techniques. It’s now been a month, and we continue to be amazed and delighted with our pup’s progress.

    In the last month, we’ve had two appointments with James. He is warm, upbeat, reassuring, calm, and deft with both dog and owner. He’s also extremely responsive to questions over text, phone, or email. Separate from the progress we’re seeing with our pup, we’ve also just really enjoyed our appointments.

    For reference, our pup is a hound dog rescue, about a year and a half old, with separation anxiety, difficulty walking on a lead, and a tendency toward excessive barking. We’ve seen amazing progress on all of these fronts and others. James is teaching us how to do the things that allow our dog to relax and be his best good boy self.

    Again, we cannot recommend Michelle and James highly enough. If you are in need of help or just want to improve you relationship with your pup, call them. You won't regret it.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Other
  • Maddie H.
    4 years ago — Charleston, SC

    Photo of Billy Sue I could not recommend Bark Busters enough. James was so patient and understanding. My dog is a 7 month old rescue who suffered from seperation anxiety, was horrible on a leash, and was often impossible to control. I now feel much more confident and secure is a dog owner. Thank you, Bark Busters.

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Other
  • Sandy & Rob L.
    4 years ago — Bluffton, SC

    Photo of Birdie We rescued Birdie about a year and half ago and she has been high-strung since day one. Barking at the window from a dead sleep every morning, running from side to side of our yard barking at the neighbors and manically barking and jumping anytime someone entered our home. James came to our house and within seconds of meeting Birdie he gave us the tools to get her under control. The results were literally immediate. She is new dog. She is much calmer, is no longer manic and we know she has a much better quality of life now. We do too. We can't say enough about Bark Busters.

    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • John A.
    4 years ago — Charleston, SC

    Photo of Mame How do I compliment thee, let me count the ways....
    Prior to our meeting yesterday, I had several lengthy conversations with Michelle Rodriguez about our dog Mame. I was totally bought into the performance-based training approach (lifetime guarantee rather than hourly). Based on our conversation, Michelle and I decided that her husband James Rodriguez would be the best person to do the training (clear, direct and pithy communication).
    The initial 30 minute no obligation introduction turned into a 1 hour consultation. James recommended an alternate path where he would receive no fee as he thought that would be best for Mame.
    Think about what I just said: thinking about what is best for the dog first, caring more about the results than the money, and recommending a path forward that has the best possible chance for success. Every professional of course pays lip service to these values, but James and Michelle Rodriguez are those values in practice.

    • #Aggression
    • #Pulling
    • #Other
  • Virginia B.
    4 years ago — Johns Island, SC

    Photo of Thor We love our seventy-five pound dog, a mix of short-haired pointer and Great Dane; however, we had problems with him excitedly jumping on our guests to "greet" them and lunging at other dogs--not to hurt them, but to play. Since we have been given a different "head halter" leash and a few strategies to curtail his jumping on friends and family, he is listening to our commands much more readily and walking more obediently at our side. Our guests are more comfortable coming into our home now, and our neighbors are more comfortable with our walking by each other during our outings. We have the trainers of Bark Busters to thank.

    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Other
  • Chloe L.
    4 years ago — Charleston, SC

    Photo of Oliver Professionalism, Quality, Reliability, Responsiveness, Value
    We have nothing but positive things to say about Bark Busters! James did a phenomenal job during our first visit and it’s given us the confidence to train our 8 month old puppy in an effective way. He was starting to drive us nuts with his puppy behaviors - Barking, jumping, pulling on a leash, not coming when called, etc. Despite having already tried a group obedience class with little success, we were desperate for a different solution. I came across Bark Busters on yelp and read all the positive reviews and was very pleased with their mission/philosophy. They don't train with treats, they come to your house/tailor the training to your environment and dog, and genuinely want the dogs to be just dogs (I.e. not perfect, not show dogs, just great companions). When James arrived at the house, we explained that we had gone through a class but didn't feel we could keep up, and that it just wasn't working for our needs. He explained the difference between classes and his 1:1 training - the classes try to make dogs of varying ages / life stages keep up with the same goals each week, which is unrealistic and can result in feeling like you're failing. In his approach, they teach you what your dog (and you as the trainer) can realistically handle at his/her age, and then build on it gradually at the dogs pace, not the pace of a set # of weeks-long course. As simple of an explanation as that was, it was all we needed to know we had made the right choice with Bark Busters. James is super laid back, realistic, and helpful. He went through all our goals and explained how a majority of them could be solved by just one method in how we approach our dog and assert ourselves as the leader. Simple for us, simple for the dog. We saw progress during our first session and are excited to continue on! While it can seem expensive, we immediately saw the value in what they offer, and in their lifetime guarantee. If you are feeling overwhelmed by you dog, we 1000% recommend Bark Busters!! They are wonderful! Thank you, James & Michelle!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Other