James & Michelle Rodriguez dog training reviews

James & Michelle Rodriguez

Expert Dog Trainers, James & Michelle Rodriguez

See below for all reviews for James & Michelle Rodriguez, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Meghan B
Meghan B West Ashley, South Carolina | June 21 2015
Being a veterinary technician myself I finally broke down and admitted "my child" needed some training. Michelle was PERFECT and knew exactly how to not let Rex take charge. What I loved the most was the customized training exercises that Rex and I could do at home as well as outside. They were so fun for both of us! Life with Rex has become so much more enjoyable because of Michelle's wonderful knowledge and skills. I couldn't give enough praise!!!! I highly recommend trying Bark Busters!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Rachel D
Rachel D Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina | May 19 2015
I have reached out and used Bark Busters services twice over the past 3 years. In both instances I had great success. Most recently I had James come over and work with my 1.5 year old German Shepherd who is having some fear aggression issues as well as not listening when off leash. In just 1 visit with us I saw a huge improvement in my dog's behavior. With just a few simple modifications I am now able to control my dog at the door when people come to visit. I was amazed at how easy and quickly my dog listened and started changing her behavior. I used to be very stressed out when having friends over to my house but now I know how to anticipate my dog's behavior and how to control the environment to make her feel more at ease. James has incredible patience and makes the training fun and very easy to fit into your day. With 5-10 min of practice a day my dog has made huge progress in her listening skills and she is less fearful. He has made my relationship with my dog so much better because now I understand her needs and what she is looking for in terms of direction from me. Thank you James for once again helping me!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Pulling, Recall
Laura & Kevin G
Laura & Kevin G Sullivans Island, South Carolina | April 29 2015
We have 2 dogs at home, a 7 year old golden retriever and a one year old mixed breed rescue. We were having issues with both dogs barking all day, rushing the door when someone arrives, and our rescue was very fearful of new people. James came over twice and I can report that both dogs are now following my cues instead of their own, and seem much more relaxed. James taught me so much about leading, being consistent with their training, positively reinforcing good behavior and recognizing when the dogs are stressed and what to do. I highly Recommend Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Puppy management
review image
Ginger N Daniel Island, South Carolina | March 16 2015
James helped us integrate a new puppy with our 8 yr old dog and address our older dog's aggression when walking on leash and at the vet clinic. We saw some results on the first visit! On the second session we started the walk - it was magical. Especially since I ended my last walk with this dog after half a block and torn skin on my palm! We now know we need to continue to be the consistent leaders but behavior is 100% better than before Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Pulling, Puppy management
Ben B
Ben B James Island, South Carolina | March 05 2015
We called James and Michelle because our new rescue (a 3 year old, pit bull terrier named Blue) was aggressive towards other animals. We didn't call them first though. The other company we called rejected us. Stating that it would take many months of one on one behavior training, thousands of dollars and worried we would end up having to put her down due to a possible rocky past. We were devastated but we didn’t want to give up on our new family member and decided to invest in her no matter how long it took. Michelle put me at ease right away. She gave me some information I could use while we waited to meet James at our first appointment. James sat with us for close to 2 hours answering questions and teaching us to understand Blue. We were so excited to get started. James gave us lots to work on and Blue took right to it. The more we stepped up as leaders the better she responded. We are continuing to work with her everyday and she is no longer reacting to other dogs as we pass. We are so grateful to not be pulled across the road every time another animal is spotted. These are not the only things James taught us but these were the biggies. Overall Experience: We enjoyed learning more about our dog and how she thinks. James is a great teacher, very encouraging and helpful. He is a fantastic support system. Anytime we felt we had a set back or a question we could count on James to lend us support over the phone. Price: I wish we would have known Blue would have responded so well to training. We would have gone with the smallest package. So we over paid but it is wonderful to know Blue better and to be more confident in our own skills as Blue’s new family pack. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Pulling
Marcy M
Marcy M Daniel Island, South Carolina | February 15 2015
Excellent results. Dolly is walking on leash calmly and looking to me for direction. Still working on lunging at small dogs but that behavior will hopefully decrease as we get further along in training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Pulling
Kristine R
Kristine R West Ashley, South Carolina | February 04 2015
For some time my dogs had been annoying me and my neighbors with their random barking and though I know my pups are harmless they sounded vicious. After one session with James I could already see an improvement in my 5 and 3 year old Shepherd mixes. In my opinion, the biggest thing that Bark Busters did was help me to understand HOW to communicate with my dogs through my behavior and actions. I am a vet tech so what I have learned has even helped me at work and I now recommend them to ALL of my clients! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up
Kelsey S
Kelsey S Goose Creek, South Carolina | January 31 2015
I learned about Bark Busters through my work as a vet assistant. It is amazing. James came to our house professional and on time to help with both of our dogs barking and running to the door when the doorbell rings, one of my dogs would growl at people that she didn't know. My other dog had multiple accidents in the house and walked very poorly on leash. James came over and took control, knew exactly what he was doing and the things he teaches really do work!! It's mostly training you as a dog owner, which can be difficult in the beginning but now I do it without even thinking about it. All of the issues I had with both dogs are now resolved. When the doorbell rings both now run straight to their beds and stay until I release them. On walks they both walk quietly next to me. It is such a relief! If you are having any issues with your dog I now highly recommend Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Recall, Toileting
Sherry H
Sherry H Ladson, South Carolina | January 25 2015
James spent 2 hours and twenty minutes with us on the first meeting to discuss issues we wanted to work on with our dog, Kacie, such as counter surfing, trash diving, jumping up and worse of all aggression with some dogs and with veterinary staff. He explained how to become her leader and the need to be consistent. We saw some results the first visit! She is much better in all aspects and muzzle training at home continues to get her accustomed so she can safely been seen at the vets. On our second meeting a few weeks later I told him of a terrible walk we went on where she pulled so hard she tore the skin on my palm and the walk was terminated after a half block. James outfitted her with a training leash and we went for a walk. It was magical, within a few minutes we were able to walk without any pulling and a calm willing walking partner. I now have a dog who is a pleasure to walk with and who has learned house manners. We still have work to do and I must continue to be consistent with guiding her but it is 100% better than before Bark Busters. Thanks James! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Jenny Benjamin & R
Jenny Benjamin & R Charleston, South Carolina | January 22 2015
I was referred to Bark Busters by both my vet and Charleston Animal Society. When we rescued our Lab/Golden "puppy", Rupp, he was a 70 pound stray with absolutely ZERO social skills or domestication. He was basically a wild animal. Rupp didn't know a single command (not even SIT), had never worn a leash, and had no exposure to other dogs. He also had EXTREME separation anxiety, and could not be left alone for any period of time. To say I was desperate when I called James is an understatement! Walks were virtually impossible, and we couldn't let him out of our sight for a second....admittedly, I was almost in tears daily. This service is worth every penny. In my opinion, the most valuable part is that James trained ME to train my dog. He has an awesome understanding of dog behavior and psychology, which is really the most important part of training. James is also SUPER patient. Rupp is an EXTREMELY hyper, energetic, "spirited" dog, and he requires A LOT of discipline & consistency. James has worked with us for hours, and never seems to get irritated or frustrated (like I do). Most importantly, his tips and training tools WORK, and he truly seems to care about Rupp's progress. He also doesn't use treats as training tools, which is awesome and unique. The other thing I like so much about James is that he is realistic and honest, which helps me manage my expectations for Rupp. He asked me to make a list of things I wanted to work on, and it was three pages long. Instead of cramming everything into one session, we took baby steps and the results have been AMAZING. Rupp is now crate trained, walks effortlessly on the leash (with his leader), goes to his bed on command, stays off the furniture, and has even started walking past other dogs without reacting. The list goes on and on. It has been less than three months, and we have had three sessions with James. Rupp is like a completely different dog. His progress has been unbelievable, and there is literally no way we could have gotten to this point without James. Which reminds me I need to book session #4. I would 100% recommend Bark Busters to anyone and everyone! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter