Jean Atwood dog training reviews

Jean Atwood

Expert Dog Trainer, Jean Atwood

See below for all reviews for Jean Atwood, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Sammie S Minneapolis, Hennepin, Minnesota | June 01 2020
Blue is a rescue I got just over two weeks ago who had been living in a single bedroom for 2 years and had never been outside before. I knew he was gonna need a lot of work. I wasn't sure how much progress to expect through a virtual lesson, but Jean somehow helped us progress SO MUCH in just one lesson! It was very clear that she knew what she was talking about and answered all my questions. She helped me develop a strong base to give Blue the training he needs and in a very nice and professional manner! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Trainer note from Jean : Good job, Sammie! It only works if you put it into practice. Blue is a lucky dog to have found his way into your life.
Colleen P
Colleen P Rockford, Minnesota | April 21 2020
Scot and I are so grateful for the time you have provided and the care you have shown toward Murphy, Charlie, and us. We also greatly appreciate your willingness to meet us virtually to help us learn how to train our dogs. This was such an excellent solution to not being able to meet in person at this time. We are so happy that we did not have to wait for you to help us with training. With our tablet, we were able to clearly see and hear you while you were able to see and hear us. You gave us great feedback as we did the exercises you described. The other great thing about this method is it allowed Murphy and Charlie to remain focused on us throughout each exercise! We are so amazed at how happy and calm the house already is! In just a couple weeks, you have helped us communicate so much more effectively with Murphy and Charlie. Already, in this short time, Murphy went from being a very anxious dog who barked uncontrollably to now having a much better understanding that he is not the boss or the protector, so he can just relax and enjoy being a sweet pet. We are so thrilled with the difference you have made in the lives of our dogs and our whole household. We are excited to continue working with you and learning how to be better dog parents and continue to have a home that is a calm and safe place for our sweet boys. Thank you so much for the work that you do, Jean, and for being so willing to adapt by providing excellent virtual training sessions! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Jean : Thank you so much for your kind words. I appreciate the opportunity to help you remotely. You are doing a great job with your boys and I look forward to being able to meet all of you in person soon!
review image
Liana F Plymouth, Minnesota | March 29 2020
We rescued a dog last year and she was always shy and timid. As she came close to being a year old her “shyness” turned into some aggressiveness. She started barking like crazy at any new visitors, tries to herd children (and nip them) as they run around our house, and has nipped at delivery people. We didn’t believe that utilizing food as a motivator for good behavior was going to give us what we needed in the long run. We tried it and it didn’t work. So we contacted bark busters and had our first session with Jean about 10 days ago. She explained why our dog was trying to assert herself into a pact leader role and what steps we needed to take to teach her she is not the leader and that she can rely on us for that. We are learning how to talk in a language that Hailey understands. We are so happy with the results we have seen in just 10 days! She stays away from the front door when the doorbell rings, has been a lot more calm when company has come over, we are starting to have loose leash walks, etc. I feel like her training has barely begun and we have already seen such a difference! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Jean : I'm so happy that you are having such great success with Hailey. She is a sweet girl and you are obviously doing a great job with her. Please don't hesitate to let me know if you need additional help going forward
review image
Deb M Eden Prairie, Hennepin, Minnesota | February 26 2020
Jean is positively amazing! We rescued our Bella in December. She was a stray and clearly had never been socialized or trained in any way. She is approximately a 1.5 years old Doberman whippet mix and we were struggling with some of the most basic things. She would bark incessantly at anything or anyone. She was mouthing and was pretty much out of control. We knew she was unusually smart and wanted to give her the best life given hers started out so bad. She is a highly active dog and we knew we needed help but we were not interested in shock collars or the use of other motivators. We called barkbusters and immediately received a call from Jean. Jean came to our home and spent literally a couple hours teaching us how to speak Bella’s language. Once Bella realized she was not in charge, she learned so rapidly to follow all of our commands. The only motivator Bella requires is positive reinforcement. She is truly brilliant! I swear she learns something new every single day. She walks at my side on a leash even when there are other dogs, children and people around her. Not a single bark! She clearly wants to please us and we will pretty much do anything for her. We have since recommended Jean at Barkbusters to several of our friends who are training puppies. I am telling you, if you need help with your pooch call Jean at Barkbusters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from Jean : Bella is a very sweet, smart girl and you are obviously doing a great job implementing what you learned! Keep up the great work.
review image
James H Hopkins, Hennepin, Minnesota | December 23 2019
Henry was a rambunctious puppy who displayed all the typical behaviors -- jumping, chewing EVERYTHING , barking uncontrollably, and not understanding how to walk well on a leash. Jean gave us some invaluable tools to get Henry under control including housebreaking and crate training. I feel less overwhelmed knowing Jean is on our corner. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
Trainer note from Jean : Henry is an adorable puppy and I think you are off to a great start!
review image
Jesse M Minneapolis, Minnesota | October 02 2019
All reviews Search reviews Jesse Morgan 1 review 5 hours ago Jean was fantastic to work with. We have learned so much and Paisley has responded well to the Bark Busters method. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Jean : It has been very rewarding to see the progress you have made with Paisley.
Paul K
Paul K Eden Prairie, Hennepin, Minnesota | July 03 2019
Our puppy had a lot of bad habits as a lot of puppies do with not knowing their place in the family, toilet training, chewing, and leash pulling. Within a month of our first session our puppy has turned into a very good dog with very few problems that will carry through his whole life and the training equipped us to deal with anything that does come up. Thanks Jean!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Jean : It was so much fun working with you and Finn and seeing the progress you have made with him. Keep up the great work!
Jonathan L
Jonathan L Minneapolis, Hennepin, Minnesota | February 25 2019
I am very grateful for all of the assistance and training Jean provided me. My dog, Tikka is a very sweet girl, but had some behavioral problems as I adopted her from a shelter. After a few sessions of working with Jean, Tikka is like a brand new dog and a great addition to our family. Thank you again! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Jean : It was a pleasure working with you and Tikka. You're right, she is a sweetie!
review image
Ralph & Kim H Eden Prairie, Minnesota | February 21 2019
Jean did an amazing job in teaching us how to speak dog and become leaders! We were at our wits end before calling Jean. We were thinking something had to change or we wouldn't be able to keep Freddy due to everyone's safety. Within 24 hours of our first training session we noticed a difference. Now, three weeks later Freddy is a new dog and a member of our family/pack. People that have visited since his training began can't believe he's the same dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Jean : It's been rewarding to see the progress you have made with Freddy in such a short time. He is a sweet, smart boy and you are doing a super job with him!
review image
Lindsay H Minneapolis, Minnesota | January 18 2019
Jean was wonderful to work with in training our 3-year old rescue dog Sundance. She provided a wealth of knowledge and resources, combined with hands-on training to learn the Bark Busters method. Thanks to Jean, we have been able to establish proper pack order so that our dog understands we are in charge. Sundance has settled in well and is much less anxious since the training we've undergone these past few months. Jean has been great with providing advice for the different challenges we've faced. We highly recommend Jean and Bark Busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Other, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Jean : It was a pleasure working with you and Sundance. You have made amazing progress with him in a short period of time! Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience.

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter