Dog training reviews

Read our Dog training reviews from Bark Busters page 1074

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
Whoo-hoo! I am learning to speak dog! Just had my first session with Justin yesterday to address issues I have been having with my headstrong, 11-lb. Pom. He's 10 months, and I had been looking at training options for months. None seemed to be what I needed. I wanted to figure out how to deal with certain issues...excessive barking in a variety of situations, jumping on people, leash pulling, chewing, and other general behaviors I wanted to correct. Obviously, what I was doing was not working. Justin came in and immediately was greeted with a bark-a-thon and within seconds, Bear stopped barking-Hey, how did you do that?-I have been trying for months without progress, and within seconds my dog was quiet. WOW! You have got my attention! Over the next two hours, Justin showed me how to properly correct and train with INSTANT results. Turns out I was the one that needed to be trained-LOL! Bear is doing amazing with the training Justin has taught me and only barked one time in 24 hours and stopped immediately when correcting him the right way-whoo-hoo! The walk this morning was a breeze-no pulling. I wish I would have found Justin earlier and can't wait for Justin's next visit! What is so great about Justin and Bark Busters is that they come to your home and see the "real" situation. They can observe things you may not even realize that are issues and teach you to properly train your dog. I have so much more confidence with training Bear, and if I am unsure of something, Justin is just a phone call away to give me advice on how to handle it. Thanks Justin! Permalink
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
I found Justin while doing a Google search for dog trainers in San Diego. I didn't think anything of him or his work and decided to go with another company, which shall remain nameless. The previous trainer didn't seem to teach me anything, and I felt it was an hour lost, in addition to the money I coughed up. I called Justin and voiced my concerns regarding my dog Aldo, and he told me to rest assured; he'll be able to show me changes in one session. I was skeptical and thought he may be too confident of himself. BUT, let me tell you...he did just that. I have a 7-month-old mini Australian Shepherd, and he has energy galore. He would jump all over people and think it's playtime whenever someone walks in the door. From the first session, Justin was able to have the dog sit, listen to what I say, and be more attentive. For anyone who is looking for a trainer out there, trainers are plenty and so are their companies, yet not many trainers will tell you what the problem is and solve it from the ground up. Justin did that for me! As long as you follow his instructions and actually put in the effort, your dog will turn out great. Too many people try to humanize their dog and treat them like one of their own and forget that these "kids" are dogs, and at the end of the day, work on instincts. It's an art how we can communicate with them, and Justin is like Picasso in that field. I have been getting compliments from my friends and family on Aldo's attentiveness, in addition to his calm demeanor. I recommend Justin to anyone willing to put an investment into his or her dog's life. Permalink
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
Justin is fantastic. Our 2-year-old rescue, Biscuit, suffered from separation anxiety and would bark constantly after we left the house. He also had anxiety around other dogs when being walked (and new dogs in general). He lunged, barked and growled at dogs we passed. During our first lesson, we saw a huge improvement. We learned how to walk him correctly, and he took to it right away. He was just looking to be led. Once we did, he followed. On the first day, we walked him past another dog and he didn't even turn his head to look. The anxiety took a little bit longer to deal with, but Justin came over for weekly lessons and that soon too was no problem. We no longer hear a peep from Biscuit when we leave, which I'm sure our neighbors greatly appreciate. After working with Justin for just a few sessions, we were even able to take Biscuit to the dog park: something we never dreamed would be possible. It's now one of his favorite things to do. Bark Busters isn't a magical fix. You will have to put in the work between lessons, but once you do, you won't for a second regret hiring Justin. Permalink
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
I searched online for dog trainers for my 6-month-old miniature pinscher for what seemed like months. When I came across Bark Busters, I was glad to find that the trainer would come to my house for training. I sent an inquiry, and Justin called me within a day; we briefly discussed my dog issues and made an appointment. As soon as I met Justin, I knew he knew his stuff. He immediately had my overly-hyper Focsi-Brown in check! I learned so much from Justin about how to get Focsi's attention and to become a better leader. What I appreciate about Justin is his ability to communicate so well with both humans and dogs. He showed that he was invested in our success, and he really wanted to help. That made me feel assured that I had the right trainer, and I highly recommend him. Thanks Justin! Permalink
review image
San Diego | June 22 2010
Found Justin online... man has he helped us with our newly adopted 11-month-old St. Bernard Jethro. We called multiple trainers; all were scared away from training a 130-lb. puppy. Justin has been great to work with!!! We have seen a huge difference in Jethro's behavior. The best thing is that Justin makes the process so simple and easy. Our main intent was to find a trainer that worked similarly to Cesar Millan's techniques, and Justin is spot-on. Jethro has had issues with basic commands sit, stay, heel, and was overly excited when seeing other dogs (not a good thing when you have 130 lbs. on the other end of the leash). Jethro is now a Saint on the leash (no pun intended) and now ignores other dogs on walks! Most importantly, Justin has helped us learn how to communicate with Jethro and how to train our pack to be balanced. Thanks Justin! Permalink
review image
Barrington | June 21 2010
I have used other methods in the past, and this method was the easiest to use, with immediate results. Much less frustrating than other methods. Rick is a fabulous trainer. He was patient with us in getting the timing down, etc.-really took the time to be sure we were comfortable. Permalink
review image
Carpentersville | June 21 2010
We could not believe the difference in our dog after the first day. We had a new dog! I found the training fascinating-the psychology of dogs is amazing. Rick was wonderful-I would highly recommend him! Permalink
review image
West Dundee | June 21 2010
I wanted to write to let you know how wonderful Roxy is with the training Bark Busters taught us. She does exceptionally well in the house, and now that it is warmer out, I have begun working with her more in the yards and on walks. She walks on the leash like a pro and watches me for what to do next. She waits at the bottom and top of the stairs until I descend or ascend; she sits at the doors until we cross the threshold and call her out; she sits at the crosswalks when I stop and only moves when I tell her to come-all without us even having to tell her. It is second nature. What a smart dog! All in all, I am so pleased with what Bark Busters taught us. I hear from so many people how well-trained she is. She is so much better than before we called you. Thanks so much for teaching us how to train Roxy. Permalink
review image
Palatine | June 21 2010
Rick explained the technique in great detail and the reasoning behind it. We could tell later the first day that the techniques were impactful, and we have seen continued results. We have seen a dramatic change in Wrigley's behavior, as well as her demeanor. It has been a great success! Permalink
Naples | June 19 2010
Patrick was extremely clear and concise explaining the training techniques. The results I saw at the end of one two-hour lesson were amazing! I would not have thought results like mine were possible. The natural training techniques are absolutely pleasing; no bribery and nothing harsh. The training experience was enjoyable. Patrick has a wonderful sense of humor and rapport with my dog. I recommend Bark Busters because they give you the feeling that you can get control of the situation and really enjoy your dog. I am looking forward to the next lesson and to practicing what I have learned. Permalink