Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
West Ashley | September 18 2009
My dog Dexter is a Cairn terrier about 18 months old. In an attempt to work off Dexter's puppy energy, I began using a laser light for play. Dexter loved chasing the light - all around the room up and down the stairs. Unfortunately Dexter transferred his play activity to a fixation on lights and shadows. He would bark insistently at any shadow or light reflection on the wall, floor or ceiling. He exhibited this behavior outside during walks also as he would fixate and bark constantly at his own shadow, my shadow or any shadow from any person, plant or object. Dexter's behavior was so extremely disruptive that I was on the verge of finding a new home for him.---I spoke with my vet about Dexter's behavior and she recommended Bark Busters. James came to my home, talked with me and showed me the proper way to handle Dexter. The results were incredible! By the end of our session, I was the "alpha" and Dexter was a well mannered puppy.---A shadow will still occasionally catch his attention, but I now know how to correct him. Barking is at a minimum and walking outside with him is a pleasure versus a chore. Permalink
review image
Wendy D Hoffman Estates, Illinois | September 18 2009
Shane walked wonderfully on a leash for the first time. We are excited to try these new techniques! Permalink
review image
Chestnut Ridge, NY | September 17 2009
review image
Raleigh | September 17 2009
Noticeable results were observed by the end of the training. Now it's our job to keep them coming. I absolutely recommend Bark Busters to my friends and neighbors. Permalink
review image
Cary | September 17 2009
Mooshu and Rocco responded quickly to the training techniques. Jerry opened a new world for us regarding being leaders. With Jerry we feel very confident in providing the balanced life that our dogs need. Thank you! Permalink
review image
Chapel Hill | September 17 2009
The training techniques were very clear and direct. We observed noticeable results by the end of the training especially in heeling. The natural training techniques were very thorough and easy to understand. We absolute recommend Bark Busters training. Permalink
review image
Chapel Hill | September 17 2009
Jerry is outstanding - low key and calm and knows how to work with dogs. We were surprised to see such quick changes. Try it! You won't regret it! Permalink
review image
Madison | September 16 2009
I have/had a dog that was very territorial and came from an abusive background. He also is picky about food so treat training would not work with him. Bark Busters was a real savior. I learned how to better "communicate" with my dog and am now a good leader. I love how the trainer comes to your house, explains the training very well, and helps with getting you started. The follow up visits are a good time to clarify questions and get tips on how to better train. The training is free of treats which makes it easier to watch your dogs weight, should you have to, and free of punishment which is good for all dogs. It is especially good for dogs that you aren't sure if they came from an abusive background like my Max. So there you have it affordable, good, and effective!!! Gotta love it. Permalink
review image
Palatine | September 16 2009
Hi Brad, First off Kevin and I would like to thank you for all the assistance you gave us during your visit this morning. It was greatly appreciated. I swear after you both left I kept thinking of what else I could do to help enforce things around the house. We were able to do a few things when it came to their walk, hearing the chains jingle, going out in back, etc... However, the main reason for the email is Redd, I read over the anxiety packet and got straight to work; I put Cyclone's cage next to his in the laundry room, I put his towel in there earlier then when I get ready to leave, I put a treat in the cage and put my hand through the bars to lure him in, I shut the door and was folding laundry (left him for a few minutes), I opened and invited him to sniff Cyclone's cage, I lured him in his cage again for a few minutes while I was folding again, this time I walked out briefly. Later while ironing my uniform he went in the cage on his own and actually laid on the towel for 5-10 minutes, I was so excited I had to give him a treat and walked away trying not to put to much emphasis on his actions so that it wouldn't lead him to have more anxiety later. That's not the best part..... I was leaving for work, called Cyclone in and then called Redd who I used the same tactics as earlier to get him in the cage and sure enough he went right in, well when Kevin got home after they were in their cages for an hour and a half or so, Redd's cage was bone dry!!!! For the first time in a little over a month since we've had Redd he did not slobber all over the cage and himself. It is an absolutely great feeling!! What an accomplishment in just the first day. I pray that they continue to improve and that Kevin and myself will remain diligent in our efforts to be the leaders of the pack. I look forward to sharing more stories with you. See you in a few weeks. Thanks Again, Erica and Kevin Update :The dogs are doing great, Redd tests his boundaries every once in a while when we're not looking, he made a run out the door the other day but came back when called which was good at least. Today, he had a toy in his mouth when he was about to go outside and I said "leave it" and he dropped it on the floor. Normally, I would grab the toy, say "leave it" and he would open his mouth and I'd put it down but he did it all on his own, I was so proud. Lately, we have mainly been practicing to get them off the living room sofa when someone is outside and keep them from jumping on the storm door. Permalink
review image
Canby | September 16 2009
Dick is very personable and encouraging. It was important to have my husband there for the training, which he was. I appreciate that the techniques do not physically intimidate or hurt the dog and find dog behavior and training very interesting. It is helpful to know WHY the techniques work, but the dog owner has to be ready and willing to do the practices. Permalink