Dog training reviews

Read our Dog training reviews from Bark Busters page 132

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Daniel B San Diego, California | December 11 2017
I just want to say that Justin is amazing! Our puppy (10.5 months old), wasn't a "bad" dog, but had a couple issues. Barking at neighbors especially in the elevator (live in a condo), not listening to us when we wanted her to come to us, not great on the leash all the time, barking at guests or at the front door when the bell was rung, and a few other "small" things. And I will be honest, because we saw these things as "small" I was skeptical that Justin would be able to fix these issues as quickly as his other reviewers claimed, but I was dead wrong. Justin not only fixed these issues, but also gave us the tools to keep our puppy happy, confident and well behaved going forward. The thing that I loved the most about working with Justin was the fact that he didn't only help us to correct our puppy's behavior for our sake, but he also correctly identified her behavior as her being stressed, and not confident, and helped her through that as well. So not only are we happier, she is happier. Justin spent almost 3 hours with us in one day, he is very dedicated! And also one of the nicest people you will ever meet. By the end of the training my puppy passed my neighbor, who she normally ALWAYS barks at, and she walked passed her and didn't make a sound. We also went into a crowded elevator and my puppy not only didn't bark but looked pretty comfortable. I would HIGHLY recommend Justin to anyone who has any issues with their dog, he is worth every penny! Thanks Justin!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Puppy management
Linda N
Linda N Centreville, Virginia | December 10 2017
I reached out to Tommy at Bark Busters for help with my 11 year old Chihuahua, Oscar, and recently adopted 10 year old Pitbull, Roo. I reached out on a Thursday morning and Tommy was able to come that Saturday morning! Oscar is a bit insecure, easily excitable, would bark like crazy when someone knocks on the door/greeted guests a little too exuberantly (with lots of barking included), and would bark at people and other dogs during walks. With the addition of a second dog, I knew it was time to address these behavior issues. Roo is a very sweet dog but needed some reinforcement with basic obedience, loose leash walking, and he had a habit of charging out of his crate in excitement when I would let him out (setting off Oscar and his barking). Tommy was able to quickly identify the issues that needed to be addressed for both dogs, provided great advice and training tips, and really helped me understand how to establish myself as a strong pack leader. After only two days, I already experienced a calmer morning getting ready for work and both dogs were noticeably more well behaved. I found Tommy to be very personable, funny, and extremely thorough. He is very open and honest and I appreciated that he reiterated the need for daily practice and follow through for success. He is VERY responsive through text and email. I'm looking forward to Tommy's next visit! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Julie K Richmond, Texas | December 10 2017
The training was very straightforward and easily applicable to multiple situations. It was just as much human training as dog training! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Erica T San Diego, California | December 09 2017
Justin is truly a lifesaver! We used to walk down the street scared of how our dog luke would react with other dogs, he was always such a sweetheart in our house, but on the street, it was a different story! After just one visit Luke was a different dog! The techniques the Justin uses are simple but effective, Luke has become the dog we always knew he could be. He is a pleasure to walk on leash now and is so much better in the house in terms of barking at the door and leaving us alone while we eat. We were skeptical at first but desperate to try anything, and I am so glad we did. I promise you after one meeting your dog will be a different dog as well! The best part is that Justin is just a phone call or text away and is always willing to help. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Pulling
review image
Cinda M Tampa, Florida | December 09 2017
We are off to a good start! Milo responded very quickly to door control and as of day 1 he waits for us to go out of rooms and doors. Leash training is going better but we have work to do on pulling/stopping. House training is going well-first 3 days I was skeptical because he pooped every singe day! Since then no pee or poop in the rooms he has access to. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Toileting
Phyllis P
Phyllis P Gaithersburg, Maryland | December 08 2017
Glenda was WONDERFUL. She really i understood our dog, us, and the situation. She was both kind and direct. She made the most of every minute. VERY PROFESSIONAL. Charlie, our dog, , response d to her voice and her kindness. She was always on time. A very wonderful experience for us. She was well prepared. Her time flowed. She had great lesson plans. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Terry A Lexington, South Carolina | December 08 2017
The techniques were easy to follow and I saw noticeable results by the end of the session. Leash training is going to be great now. I was very pleased with the methods and learned a lot. I would highly recommend Bruce. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Laura M Springfield, Virginia | December 08 2017
I found Tommy Meyerhoeffer while generally searching online for help with our new puppy. While mostly house trained our pup was still peeing and pooping in the house in odd ways that seemed behavioral. We had been considering obedience training but really didn't feel obedience training was going to address our specific needs nor would routine weekly classes work well with our schedules. I also know from obedience training with our other dogs, one 6 or 12 week class generally isn't enough and there is almost no customization within group classes. The reviews for Tommy were excellent and the fact that so many clients reported seeing success after only one visit really drew me in. We hired Tommy last week to help us with our 3 dogs. 2 who just need some minor work and the new puppy who needs more attention. I am happy to report that reviews were spot on! Within just a few hours in our first visit, Tommy taught our family techniques that had all 3 dogs falling into line! While we are still working on the puppy bathroom issues, Tommy has been amazing on that as well. He is very accessible to his clients by phone or email and we have been in constant touch - with me reporting observations and Tommy giving suggestions. We will have our 2nd work session with Tommy this Friday and I am really looking forward to it! While the initial cost may seem higher than a single obedience class, I can honestly say this is much better value for the money. The one-time fee covers training for your dog for the life of the animal and Tommy is on call any time you need him. When I calculated how many general training classes I would need to cover our issues and basic obedience, general obedience classes likely would have added up to be about equal to this fee and I would not have had the on-call support that I have with Tommy. Our family highly recommends Tommy and the Bark Busters methodology for training. We have tried other means and classes and have not had the success we have seen with just one meeting with Tommy! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
review image
Laura M Springfield, Virginia | December 08 2017
I found Tommy Meyerhoeffer while generally searching online for help with our new puppy. While mostly house trained our pup was still peeing and pooping in the house in odd ways that seemed behavioral. We had been considering obedience training but really didn't feel obedience training was going to address our specific needs nor would routine weekly classes work well with our schedules. I also know from obedience training with our other dogs, one 6 or 12 week class generally isn't enough and there is almost no customization within group classes. The reviews for Tommy were excellent and the fact that so many clients reported seeing success after only one visit really drew me in. We hired Tommy last week to help us with our 3 dogs. 2 who just need some minor work and the new puppy who needs more attention. I am happy to report that reviews were spot on! Within just a few hours in our first visit, Tommy taught our family techniques that had all 3 dogs falling into line! While we are still working on the puppy bathroom issues, Tommy has been amazing on that as well. He is very accessible to his clients by phone or email and we have been in constant touch - with me reporting observations and Tommy giving suggestions. We will have our 2nd work session with Tommy this Friday and I am really looking forward to it! While the initial cost may seem higher than a single obedience class, I can honestly say this is much better value for the money. The one-time fee covers training for your dog for the life of the animal and Tommy is on call any time you need him. When I calculated how many general training classes I would need to cover our issues and basic obedience, general obedience classes likely would have added up to be about equal to this fee and I would not have had the on-call support that I have with Tommy. Our family highly recommends Tommy and the Bark Busters methodology for training. We have tried other means and classes and have not had the success we have seen with just one meeting with Tommy! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
review image
Becky G Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin | December 08 2017
It was very informative and helpful. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Toileting
Trainer note from Ruth : Sunny is a Bichon/Shih Tzu mix who is 7 years old. His barking and nervousness had gone to the exreme and the owners really wanted to fix this, not only because the barking was annoying but because they wanted to help Sunny feel better. Sunny is improving! This is proof you can teach a dog at any age!