Dog training reviews

Read our Dog training reviews from Bark Busters page 234

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
Jeff R
Jeff R Buffalo Grove, Illinois | September 17 2016
We have two small female beagle mixes that were (to put it mildly) a little unruly and not always obedient. Both are very good dogs, but they were more preoccupied with goofing around with each other than listening to my wife and me. Additionally there were a couple of food aggression incidents that concerned us. Brad did an extensive phone interview with my wife, so he had a good understanding of what was going on before he even came to our house. When he arrived for our session, the training started the minute he stepped inside the house. Izzy and Layla greeted him by jumping on him, and he got them to stop almost immediately. Brad sat with us and took us through the Barkbuster method and thoroughly answered all of our questions. He also educated us on food aggression and "sibling rivalry". Over the next hour, he patiently showed us how to deal with barking and jumping when the doorbell rang, leash manners and other corrective actions. I was amazed at how well the techniques worked and the way both dogs responded to us in such a short amount of time. As Brad told us, the key is to be consistent in the way we handle the dogs, so we now understand that although the techniques work, it is up to us to make certain we don't let Izzy and Layla's new found manners slip away over time. In summary, Brad is an excellent trainer (of both dogs and their humans) and the Bark Busters philosophy, methods and tools seem to work very well - and FAST! Only time will tell whether we've been truly successful, but after only a couple of days we can honestly say we are off to fantastic start thanks to Brad and Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
review image
Jeff R Buffalo Grove, Illinois | September 17 2016
We have two small female beagle mixes that were (to put it mildly) a little unruly and not always obedient. Both are very good dogs, but they were more preoccupied with goofing around with each other than listening to my wife and me. Additionally there were a couple of food aggression incidents that concerned us. Brad did an extensive phone interview with my wife, so he had a good understanding of what was going on before he even came to our house. When he arrived for our session, the training started the minute he stepped inside the house. Izzy and Layla greeted him by jumping on him, and he got them to stop almost immediately. Brad sat with us and took us through the Barkbuster method and thoroughly answered all of our questions. He also educated us on food aggression and "sibling rivalry". Over the next hour, he patiently showed us how to deal with barking and jumping when the doorbell rang, leash manners and other corrective actions. I was amazed at how well the techniques worked and the way both dogs responded to us in such a short amount of time. As Brad told us, the key is to be consistent in the way we handle the dogs, so we now understand that although the techniques work, it is up to us to make certain we don't let Izzy and Layla's new found manners slip away over time. In summary, Brad is an excellent trainer (of both dogs and their humans) and the Bark Busters philosophy, methods and tools seem to work very well - and FAST! Only time will tell whether we've been truly successful, but after only a couple of days we can honestly say we are off to fantastic start thanks to Brad and Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
review image
Jaime R West Haven, Connecticut | September 16 2016
From lesson #1 we've been extremely grateful for Richard and Vicki's expertise. They've equipped us with many tools and resources to train our dog and it's been very effective. They are also very quick to answer questions and always available to help. Choosing Bark Busters was one of the best investment we've made! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Separation anxiety
review image
Megan L Littleton, Colorado | September 16 2016
Dan is an amazing trainer! He has not only been great with our puppy but he is great with our family too! He engages with our 3 year old and ensures that he is involved in the training right along with us. Dan is so easy to get ahold of and is always available for questions! We absolutely love Dan and will not only continue using his knowledge and expertise with our current puppy, but for all of our future dogs! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
review image
Mallory S Denver, Colorado | September 16 2016
I called Dan for help with our 2 dogs, a 7year old Boggle (boston/beagle mix) Autumn and 6 month old doberman, Leo. Autumn has had behavior issues for years. She is great with people but awful with other dogs. We had issues with horrible leash aggression, nuisance barking, not responding to commands, etc. We had tried other trainers in the past and she did ok, but it seemed like if we weren't holding a treat in front of her nose all the time she wasn't listening. She also has a back issue which has made it difficult for us to find a trainer that would work with her. It was no surprise that when we rescued Leo, a 6 month old doberman with a heart of gold, her bad behavior started rubbing off on him. We were going crazy trying to control the 2 dogs. Leo was doing great in puppy classes, but It was so hard to teach Leo good behavior when Autumn was being so bad. We had to take them on separate walks, we couldn't have them in the car at the same time, and they were terrorizing anything that walked near our yard. Dan saved us! After just 1 session we were able walk Autumn on a LOOSE LEASH past other dogs!!!!! I literally almost cried. Her bad behaviors have almost totally disappeared and we are not shoving treats down her throat to get results. Leo is following her lead and we are able to progress with his training. We can go on walks together, ride in the car, and we are hopeful that we will actually be able to take Autumn out in public again. I highly recommend Dan and wish we would have found him years ago!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Sean V Denver, Colorado | September 16 2016
My girlfriend and I recently moved from California to her sisters house in Lowry and she has a German Shepherd named Astro that is out of control. She hired Dan to help train Astro as well as us. Within 7 minutes we noticed a drastic change in him. We couldn't believe it! He explained everything to us in detail and made sure we knew what to do before he left. He left us the proper tools and homework to help continue with training Astro. It has been 24 hours since Dan was here and Astro is so much more focused and his behavior has changed a great deal. He doesn't bark anymore and is very obedient. We can't thank Dan enough for helping us out. He is an excellent trainer and we would highly recommend him to anyone who needs the help. Dan is an extremely nice guy and his love for dogs is outstanding. Thanks Dan!!!! You're the man!!!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Eddie C Tallahassee, Florida | September 16 2016
Ms. Falconer came to our home to help us with our two dogs and their interaction. She was very polite, professional and remarkably good with our dogs. She evaluated the situation and gave us a few lessons and pointers to help us work with our puppies that have helped tremendously. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Iris J Rockville, Maryland | September 15 2016
Glenda of Bark Busters, saved my life and my dogs lives. After four years of two dogs living together (a Boxer and a Sheltie), a third (15 month old Golden Retriever) was added due to the death of his owner. Cooper had spent several months we us, and we knew he would be returned. So when he became permanent, I thought I had better ask for help. Cooper loved to counter surf and pull you across the county while walking on the leash. Blu and Titan barked incessantly when the doorbell rang. It was often like a three ring circus. Cooper also had so much energy! A quick and simple solution was to enroll him in daycare. It works like magic! After two sessions and training techniques tailored for each dog, Cooper walks on a leash, all three dogs charge the door when the bell rings less and there are peaceful moments in my home. Glenda not only trained the dogs, she trained me and she had a tremendous amount of patience while doing it. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Puppy management
review image
Iris J Rockville, Maryland | September 15 2016
Glenda of Bark Busters, saved my life and my dogs lives. After four years of two dogs living together (a Boxer and a Sheltie), a third (15 month old Golden Retriever) was added due to the death of his owner. Cooper had spent several months we us, and we knew he would be returned. So when he became permanent, I thought I had better ask for help. Cooper loved to counter surf and pull you across the county while walking on the leash. Blu and Titan barked incessantly when the doorbell rang. It was often like a three ring circus. Cooper also had so much energy! A quick and simple solution was to enroll him in daycare. It works like magic! After two sessions and training techniques tailored for each dog, Cooper walks on a leash, all three dogs charge the door when the bell rings less and there are peaceful moments in my home. Glenda not only trained the dogs, she trained me and she had a tremendous amount of patience while doing it. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Puppy management
review image
Dan C Larsen, Wisconsin | September 15 2016
Ruth was very knowledgable and reassured that our dong Boone was not a "lost cause" and with patience and hard work he could be a great family dog. We look forward to continued training with Ruth and can't wait to see the positive changes it will have in our dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up
Trainer note from Ruth : Boone is a beautiful English Springer Spaniel. The owners were very concerned about some growling and snapping that Boone was doing sometimes with them, and sometimes with guests. One owner was using a physical technique to correct Boone, and Boone was a nervous dog. Being nervous already, being pinned down made him more nervous, unable to run away. He began thinking maybe everyone would try that so he just tried to keep all visitors away from him. He figured out if he growled, it would keep people away. So he used it. Once the owner starting speaking dog, he no longer needed physical techniques to correct Boone, just his voice. Boone began trusting more and he was much less nervous. Boone is a soft-hearted, sweet dog who needed a leader to protect him. Consistency will make this change permanent.