Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
Christine D
Christine D Nanuet, New York | July 21 2020
We had used Bark Busters over 10 years ago for our previous dogs and had great success then. We just adopted a new dog, a 5 year old rescue Boston terrier named Rocky. He is an amazing dog but had a rough history. We needed to get him more comfortable with children and other dogs and my first thought was Bark Busters! To my surprise Michelle was still there! I was even more pleasantly surprised that the program had evolved over the years, with better handouts and a color-coded guide to how your dog is reacting at a given moment. I loved that. Michelle spent a lot of time with us. She was patient and supportive and we got an email the next day checking on us. Great value, since it is for the life of the pup. Rocky is already doing better and we've only been working with him for 3 days! Thank you Michelle! You're the best! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Christine! I loved working with you guys again and helping you with Rocky. He's a lucky little dog! I've loved seeing your successes with him and you know I'm always here to help! ! Michelle PS Love this pic!
review image
Brett S Bethesda, Maryland | July 20 2020
Andy was professional and easy to get along with during the initial session. He communicated information clearly and backed his knowledge up with useful demonstrations and guidance. The expectations moving forward as training progresses were straightforward and organized. Thumbs up. Keep rocking it. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
Allysan W
Allysan W Marco Island, Florida | July 20 2020
At this time we only had the first session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Chloe L
Chloe L Charleston, South Carolina | July 20 2020
Professionalism, Quality, Reliability, Responsiveness, Value We have nothing but positive things to say about Bark Busters! James did a phenomenal job during our first visit and it’s given us the confidence to train our 8 month old puppy in an effective way. He was starting to drive us nuts with his puppy behaviors - Barking, jumping, pulling on a leash, not coming when called, etc. Despite having already tried a group obedience class with little success, we were desperate for a different solution. I came across Bark Busters on yelp and read all the positive reviews and was very pleased with their mission/philosophy. They don't train with treats, they come to your house/tailor the training to your environment and dog, and genuinely want the dogs to be just dogs (I.e. not perfect, not show dogs, just great companions). When James arrived at the house, we explained that we had gone through a class but didn't feel we could keep up, and that it just wasn't working for our needs. He explained the difference between classes and his 1:1 training - the classes try to make dogs of varying ages / life stages keep up with the same goals each week, which is unrealistic and can result in feeling like you're failing. In his approach, they teach you what your dog (and you as the trainer) can realistically handle at his/her age, and then build on it gradually at the dogs pace, not the pace of a set # of weeks-long course. As simple of an explanation as that was, it was all we needed to know we had made the right choice with Bark Busters. James is super laid back, realistic, and helpful. He went through all our goals and explained how a majority of them could be solved by just one method in how we approach our dog and assert ourselves as the leader. Simple for us, simple for the dog. We saw progress during our first session and are excited to continue on! While it can seem expensive, we immediately saw the value in what they offer, and in their lifetime guarantee. If you are feeling overwhelmed by you dog, we 1000% recommend Bark Busters!! They are wonderful! Thank you, James & Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
review image
Ann B Chicago, Cook, Illinois | July 18 2020
We have an older dog who we adopted when she was a year old. Over the years, she has become increasingly aggressive to my husband and strangers coming through the door. She is part terrier and gets very anxious. This made for a very tense household. Marlene Marks worked with us via Zoom (due to Covid-19). Seriously, we had positive results within the first week. First, Marlene showed us that our human responses were often ineffective to a dog behavior. Rather than focusing on how to make the dog change, she empowered my husband and myself to make some simple changes in our behavior and help shape the dog's response. It has improved the quality of life within our household. Additionally, what I truly appreciated, was Marlene's very straight forward techniques and instructions. She took into consideration the "individual" dog and it's personality. She gave us feedback about accepting some of our dog's quirks (don't reach out to her) and focus on changing behaviors that create discord in the home. Our dog is definitely calmer and friends who know her have commented on her improved behavior and demeanor. We are very grateful. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
Trainer note from Howard & Marlene : You worked diligently on the behavioral exercises and it shows! Great dog!
review image
Gregory M Washington, District of Columbia | July 15 2020
We had our first session with Andy, and we were wowed by our Penny's progress in only a couple of hours! The experience was fun, informative, and Andy always made sure to give attention to Penny's specific needs. We're looking forward to continuing the program and training our puppy in a fun, positive way. Thanks BarkBusters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling
Sarah T
Sarah T Louisville, Boulder, Colorado | July 14 2020
Andrea was amazing with our dog Hudson! After a year of aggression towards humans and dogs, Hudson showed immediate results from our first session with Andrea. She did a fantastic job of communicating with us as to why Hudson was reacting the way he was. Once we learned how to respond and act around him it was a complete game changer! Andrea was also extremely professional and courteous in response to COVID-19 social distancing, we felt very comfortable having her in our home. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
Trainer note from Gary and Andrea : Thank you! It was my pleasure working with you, Chris and Hudson!! Keep speaking dog :)
Sarah T
Sarah T Louisville, Boulder, Colorado | July 14 2020
Andrea was amazing with our dog Hudson! After a year of aggression towards humans and dogs, Hudson showed immediate results from our first session with Andrea. She did a fantastic job of communicating with us as to why Hudson was reacting the way he was. Once we learned how to respond and act around him it was a complete game changer! Andrea was also extremely professional and courteous in response to COVID-19 social distancing, we felt very comfortable having her in our home. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
Chanyha C
Chanyha C Columbus, Muscogee, Georgia | July 14 2020
Theresa has been a huge blessing to us with JoJo being my first puppy and being a confident Great Pyrenees. She gave us all the tools to train him successfully and smoothly. I’d recommend her to anyone! Thanks Theresa! ☺️ Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
Traci W
Traci W Dowagiac, Cass, Michigan | July 13 2020
I appreciated Sheri's expertise and the techniques used by Bark Busters. There are no treats involved which was great because my puppy is not motivated by food. Our puppy which was a 5-month old Chocolate Labrador Retriever struggled with putting her teeth on people especially my 8-year-old daughter. Some of the other issues we were dealing with was getting into the dishwasher, jumping to nose around the counters, barking at the vacuum, biting at her leash, and barking/jumping up on people when at the dinner table. She also got too hyper during play and didn't know when she was getting too rough. A huge struggle for us was keeping her off of the furniture. After our first lesson with Sheri, we worked on the techniques she gave us and in less than one month, she didn't bother the dishwasher, didn't jump up at people at the table, learned to play normally, left the vacuum alone, and doesn't bite at her leash as much. We also no longer struggle with her staying off the furniture. After the second lesson, we are now learning to have her wait when someone comes to the door, and walk properly on a leash. I am 100% pleased with the results and can't wait to continue to work with Daisy so she has the balance in her life to be a big part of our family. I am also excited that we have support for the life-time of Daisy from Sheri and Bark Busters if we ever need help with other issues. This is definitely the way to go for getting your dog properly trained. You won't be disappointed! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management
Trainer note from Sheri : Hi Traci - thank you so much for your kind words! Daisy is a sweet wiggly lab puppy and she really wants to please. Once you knew what to do and how to communicate that - the light went on in her. Keep up the great work and enjoy your happy puppy. Sheri