Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Elaine B East Haven, New Haven, Connecticut | November 28 2018
I am so grateful to Richard for his expertise with teaching me how to gain respect from my dog, showing him I am the leader and by doing so we are loving each other a little more everyday. My GSD is a rescue and he is approximately 2 years old. This is not my first GSD but my past fur babies have been mine since puppy so this has been a challenge. Richard is there for me and available whenever I need some guidance. My boy didn't know basic commands, had little manners and I found the honeymoon ended after he was with us about 2 weeks. At first I felt this might have been a mistake but I am now convinced through Richards know how that all will work out. What a great trainer....I call him the miracle man....and look forward to many more training sessions so my boy and I will live happily ever after. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Other, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Dawn V Holland, Michigan | November 28 2018
Sheri - It was great having you here. Trigger is doing great and we have even made progress with the cats. He is definitely learning his place in the pack. With visitors he is also doing pretty well. My brother came over on Thanksgiving, when he knocked on the door, we made Trigger stay behind the line and we let him in. We didn't have to correct at all! When we allowed Trigger to approach, he did it calmly and didn't bark. They only met once before and only outside. Now they are buddies! With your training collar and walking is improving as well. As a result of his progress, I think we can cancel our appointment for this Saturday, and l will definitely call on you if we need more assistance. We will definitely reach out with questions if needed. Thanks for checking in! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Recall
Trainer note from Sheri : Hi Dawn - what fantastic news! Trigger responded so well the first lesson, pretty amazing how quickly change can be made once you all knew what to do. Enjoyed meeting you all.
Carla A
Carla A Naples, Florida | November 28 2018
Very nice and knowledgeable. 10 week old puppy responded on the first session. Trainers listened to our needs and concerns. Willing to explain and answer all our questions. Very happy with the program. (AND they are from the UK! 10 points for that! :-) ) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management
Trainer note from Colin and June : We ordinarily would not start training at such a young age, but having met the dog, and his owners, we are extremely glad we did! Such a lovely puppy, and we look forward to his first follow-up visit on Boxing Day.
Carrie K
Carrie K Kimberly, Outagamie, Wisconsin | November 27 2018
Just one visit with Ruth made SUCH a difference! I think she trained me as well as our George. We still have a way to go with our crazy little puppy... but now, I know that he will get there! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
Trainer note from Ruth : George was all over everyone! Speaking dog was like an interpreter for George to understand his owners. Now they can appreciate each other so much more!
Carlos L
Carlos L Boynton Beach, Florida | November 27 2018
Very, informative. I learned a lot on how to be the alpha of Beau! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
review image
Sydney P Fairfax, Virginia | November 27 2018
If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!! I've never tried dog training before but I am beyond pleased with Tommy and all he has been able to offer us. Well worth the investment for greater peace in your own home!! My training needs: My situation with my dogs is quite complex. I have not one, not two, but THREE beagles! They are all between 2 and 4 years old, so they were a little bit 'set in their ways'. Beagles are not the most obedient breed but with Tommy we were shocked at their ability to learn! My dogs were not having simple training issues like chewing on household items or peeing in the house -- their issues were more behavioral like: barking at movement, barking at strangers or guests in our home, barking for food or scratching cabinets for (demanding) food, being possessive of spaces in our home (couches, beds etc), some aggression between the two boy dogs, and always being under our feet (this can be quite dangerous with three dogs always one step away from tripping you up!). Tommy's solutions: After one session with Tommy my dogs behaviors have totally changed, its like night and day! There were so many things that were just ideal about Tommy's training interventions. First, he comes to you. I think this is such a huge plus because for my dogs, anxiety and strangers is an issue. It wouldn't make sense to take them to a new environment where their training can't be retained because they are so distracted by fear, strangers, or other animals. Second, Tommy trains YOU not your dogs. Tommy doesn't do all these tricks with treats or clickers to get your dogs to behave and then just leaves. He observes your dogs and starts to tell you all the behaviors you can engage in to address every single situation you are facing with your pet. Throughout the session, you are doing the work and the commanding. Third, he didn't just come over and address one or a few of the things you might have mentioned to him -- he really takes the time to tackle all problems (big or small) that you are seeing with your dogs. Fourth, Tommy doesn't force you to make any changes to your lifestyle or your procedure with your animals. If your dog is allowed on furniture, kenneled vs. not kenneled etc, this doesn't matter to Tommy. He really works to teach you how to handle your dogs in the way you prefer, not in some prescriptive, rigid format. Moreover, he assigns you 'homework' to continue practicing with your dogs after he leaves, but it isn't something so strenuous that you have to change your lifestyle (take time off work, carve out an hour of your day for more training etc). Finally, he is just an overall friendly and patient guy. I know the idea of a stranger coming to your home may seem uncomfortable at first, but Tommy really put me and my mom at ease during this training. Overall, I would absolutely recommend Tommy to anyone who has considered seeking a dog trainer. I went back and forth on whether or not this would work and I'm ultimately glad I took the chance on training. I read his reviews (I found Tommy through googling trainers in the area) and thought they all looked nice but that my situation was so much more complex. I really thought "this is going to be the case that Tommy can't fix" -- I mean, three beagles who normally bark endlessly at strangers (among all their other issues) is quite a challenge. I was certainly wrong, and Tommy was more than able to address all our needs. If Tommy can handle my situation and my three crazy dogs, I'm sure he could help you in yours. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Sibling rivalry
Alison F
Alison F Rye Brook, New York | November 25 2018
Nicole is a wonderful trainer. We got Mickey (a rescue) when he was just over a year old. He had some major pulling issues and issues inside and outside of the house. She has given us ample tips on how to deal with his barking, anxiety, and overall behavior issues. Everything she stands by, we try and the training techniques work if you stick with it. She is also extremely reliable and answers any and all questions we have quickly over email. After every training session, Nicole sends an email recapping what we went over in great detail and reminds us of what we need to work towards. We’ve seen great improvements in Mickey’s behavior and we feel lucky to have Nicole as Mickey’s trainer. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Nicole : Thank you for the great review! It's been amazing to see Mickey progress and transform.
Alyssa S
Alyssa S Gotha, Florida | November 25 2018
Our session today was very effective. We addressed all of our major concerns, and were excited to use the methods taught to us for our future training, Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from John : Great family has adopted this Pitbull puppy and given it a great home.
review image
Garth/Leo D Orlando, Florida | November 25 2018
Easily understood suggestions Not intimidating as I thought (the experience) Great experience Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Samantha L Riverview, Florida | November 24 2018
Joanne was absolutely wonderful! She gave my husband and I training techniques to use on our dog and so far everything is going great! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Toileting