Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Jim S Naples, Florida | February 24 2016
Very kind trainers. Great experience. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management
Trainer note from Colin and June : Cute 7-month old female shih-tzu puppy enlisted in our Silver Program.
review image
Trista L Doral, Florida | February 23 2016
Luis is a great teacher and very friendly!!! He taught me with all the technique and things I need to do in order to correct my dog's behavior. My dog - Snoopy, is 4.5 years old pointer mixed, I know my Snoopy is a very sweet dog. However, she has pulling on the leash and aggression problem, which frustrated me quite awhile. I would be scared to walk her outside when there are other dogs or people, Snoopy would pull and bark at them. And since she's a 90lbs dog, it's very dangerous when she act like that. Luis gave me a lot of insights as of why she's acting like that and how to correct that. I have been training her for a few weeks, and I do see tremedous improvement in her. But one thing you have to do, is to be consistent and patient. Thank you Luis for everything! It's definitely worth spending the money and time, in exchange of a sweet and now submissive companion. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
Trainer note from Luis : You are so kind! Is my pleasure to help you & Snoopy get a better understanding of each other. Keep up your good work and call me if you have any questions. Thank you for letting me help you with her education
Karen A
Karen A Jensen Beach, Florida | February 23 2016
We used Bark Busters training techniques for the first time 5 years ago when we adopted a 5-6 year old Rottweiler. It was easy to follow the training suggestions provided and I learned so much about being the pack leader in my home. We helped a good dog become a great dog. Following his death we adopted another Rottweiler, a 4-year-old male in January 2016. Our new dog, Buddy, was a friendly, good dog with an unknown history. He was timid and skittish, but also attentive and loving. He is obviously smart and wants to please us. But he wasn't fully housebroken, was sometimes jealous of the kids, constantly escaped the crate (when I could manage to force him in); he chewed anything on the floor, and didn't come when called. Following a refresher with Mary, now only 2 weeks after putting into practice my newly remembered skills, Buddy is already a changed boy. He is responsive when called, had only one accident in 2 weeks, plays with only his toys and most importantly, looks to me for leadership. He is a much happier dog now that he doesn't need to lead our "pack". He is more relaxed and much less skittish. We still have some items on the improvement list, but these will be corrected over time with patient attention to daily training using my position as pack leader to reinforce positive behavior. My favorite part of the Bark Busters method is its training of PEOPLE to understand dog behavior, pack leadership and applying this information in an easy-to-use (non-violent) "correction and reinforcement" method. I recommend the Bark Busters method and Mary Johnson to everyone with a dog. It is an investment in a good relationship with your dog for years to come. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Chewing, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
review image
Laura B Katy, Texas | February 23 2016
Wow-amazing! We saw changes in our dog's behavior immediately. We are so encouraged and hopeful to have our dog around friends and family. We wish we had found Bark Busters sooner! Thank you for giving us the tools to work with our dog! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Pat, Sheryl and April : Unfortunately they had tried two other training methods before they found Bark Busters. The first one was a very well known "send the dog to us for a month". About two weeks into it, they pulled their dog out because the trainers were being very rough and using prong collars to the point it was injuring their dog's neck. Their dog has been very fearful aggressive since then. They then tried a "bring your dog to us once a week socialization and obedience training" that helped some when their dog was away from their home but did not help at all with the fearful aggression behavioral problems they were having at home. Using Bark Busters leadership and communication techniques, they were able to quickly get Sybie to relax and not be obsessed with a guest being in their house.
review image
Joanne R Newton, Iowa | February 22 2016
Deb did a nice job of explaining the bark buster philosophy and why it works so well. We have been very pleased with Maizy's response to the training. She is much more loving and responsive to my husband since we've followed Deb's suggestions. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
Trainer note from Deb : Thank you for you kind words! That Maizy stopped biting your family after our first lesson makes me happy for you all! You've done a great job with her!
George H
George H Charlottesville, Virginia | February 22 2016
I called Allison from Bark Busters to help with my 2 dog's bad behaviors. She came to my home and addressed the situation (My dogs would lunge and bark at other dogs on the leash, bark at the door, bark at the fence at other dogs). She taught me a way to be able to communicate with my dogs as another dog would. Now my dogs see me as the leader in the pack. Best thing I ever did. Allison is great and has a mind full of information. If a problem in the future arises I will call her again and again. 5* Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling
Fiona S
Fiona S Port washington, New York | February 21 2016
Sarah is great with such knowledge and understanding of dogs. I am really enjoying our training and learning more about the behavior of Sacha. I love her way of explaining and showing me how each goal is accomplished. I look forward to a better happier dog as I continue to learn from Sarah. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up
review image
Robert and Margie V Tampa, Florida | February 21 2016
Before Ms Joanne came into our lives, we had a puppy eating our house! We have a beautiful King Charles Cavalier Spaniel, 10 months old. The jumping was out of control. The chewing was horrible. We tried Petsmart puppy training without any success. When Ms Joanne came to our house she spent time with us first and then made her assesment with our Lexi, who to our surprise she responded to the no jumping and chewing! We recommend her to anyone who has this issues. TRUST ME it is worth it and now we have a happy home! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management
review image
John H Gainesville, Virginia | February 21 2016
Lee, Just a brief update since your last training visit here . You really did a great job working with Sue and Snickers as Snickers is showing her much more respect and her corrections ( BAH). Sue is especially good in correcting Snickers sits and stays on the rug in the family room while she prepares her water and food and only comes to eat when called to come. Snickers also does the same when I do the same. We have also been successful in our corrections with Snickers to not grab and pull on our pant legs and shoelaces. I have also made great progress with correcting her when she wants to " mouth " while sitting with me on the couch. She loves sitting as close as possible to me on the couch every evening, that used to be a real pain for me as she just would not quit pestering me. Now by correction as you have taught, she only comes on the couch when I allow it, and when she is here, she has quit pestering me and allows me to just pet her without trying to jump all over the place and mouth. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Other, Puppy management, Recall
Kristyn G
Kristyn G Santa Clarita, California | February 21 2016
Just wanted to take a moment to send you a note of thanks. We haven't seen you in about 4 months, but wanted you to know what a huge impact you have had on us and helping to train our dog, Bentley! Bentley is a new dog these days. His leash aggression is about 85% gone... the other 15% is still a work in progress. He does have some instances that catch us off guard sometimes when a dog is being aggressively forward with him, but he is quick to correct. Water bombs are still our go to when needed as he reacts very well to them. We still use them whenever we visit a new place to help put him in a submissive state when needed. We can literally just show him that we have one in our backpack and we won't even need to use it. We have been working really hard with him over the last 6 months and have seen SUCH a difference! We have enjoyed a lot of family outings and hikes in the past several months with the cooler weather... many of which have been in VERY close proximity to many different types of dogs and he's done great! However, most of the time, corrections are not needed these days and we are so thankful to you for that. Bentley is very obedient, comes when he is called, and is getting over his shyness is public little by little. He almost always looks us in the eye now when he senses something off and reacts well to whatever we tell him to do. Yesterday, we were out and about a lot in this beautiful weather. We visited a nursery to get some new plants for our backyard and everyone there was complimenting how well trained and behaved his was. He even let the store owner give him a scratch down. His ears were perked and happy almost the whole time we were there... much different than his typical ears back, low walk, scardy-cat posture he usually puts off. Then we headed over to Lowe's to pick up a few more things in the outdoor section for our backyard, and again, so many compliments. He even saw a dog there and had absolutely no reaction to it because he looked at us and we told him to leave it. Amazing. The cashier was complementing him so much and it just made me realize how grateful we are for you. I needed to tell you. It hasn't been an easy road with this one, but we put in the hard work and listened to the guidelines that you taught us, and it has all paid off. Thank you for being so patient with him, and with us. =) THANK YOU for what you do! We couldn't have done it without you! We are planning on getting a puppy friend for him next summer, so I'm sure we will be calling you then. =) Until then, thanks again for everything! We appreciate you! You have made such a difference in our lives! Warmly, Kristyn & Aaron G. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling