Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Carol M Ankeny, Iowa | March 20 2015
We had adopted two dogs from a rescue group and had been trying to teach them good manners using the clicker/treat method of training. It was not working. We contacted Bark Busters hoping that in-home training would be better. In just one lesson our dogs have stopped jumping on us for attention. Their demeanor has changed. We now feel in control of their actions not the other way around. When you meet Deb she is calm, quiet and you wonder how is this person going to be able to work with your out of control dogs. It is exactly that calm way of handling your pets that makes it work. We can't wait to see what we can accomplish in the next session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Heidi R
Heidi R Lockport, Illinois | March 20 2015
I really like the Bark Busters techniques. I like that there aren't any choke chains, shock collars, prong/pinch collars etc. I could never use something like that. I like that I still feel like I can be myself utilizing these dog training techniques. I would absolutely recommend John Sullivan and Bark Busters. It is worth the investment and of course, I was the one being trained more so than my dog Bandi. With this training, we and he will be more happy and that's what we want. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Toileting
review image
Crista G Cabin John, Maryland | March 20 2015
Glenda and Barkbusters to the rescue! When we brought a second dog into the home it created a rivalry that was beyond our control and lots of marking that was destructive and a daily cleaning event. In the first visit, we had a thorough understanding of the root of the problem and real actionable steps that we could take to address (that were easy to follow and fit into our busy schedule). Within a week, the dogs stopped marking. We made subtle changes to the environment and established clear human leadership. The bonus lessons about getting the dogs to come and communicating on other matters were just icing on the cake. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry
review image
Hall T Hockley, Texas | March 20 2015
I would recommend Bark Busters to everyone who needs their dog trained. I am so please with the way Bark Busters handled my 4 dogs. I plan to continue to learn & grow. Thank you so much for your help. A++ Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Digging, Other, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Justin B
Justin B Smithfield, North Carolina | March 20 2015
I definitely recommend Jerry at Bark Busters. Notable results were observed even at the end of the first lesson. His constant jumping was a nuisance and was addressed within minutes. Some of the other issues addressed were aggression towards children and lunging at other dogs. I can now live in peace with my wonderful well behaved dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Susan C Bonita Springs, Florida | March 20 2015
Had a very useful session. First time I've been able to walk my two puppies together, pleasantly next to me. This made all three of us happy. A miracle walk! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Renae S Kewaunee, Wisconsin | March 20 2015
It is a good experience. Exciting to see how our dog is responding and for the outcomes to follow so we can enjoy our dog again. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Recall
Trainer note from Ruth : Maggie is an 8 year old Beagle, who started marking in the house after the birth of their second child. She was feeling more anxious with extra people to take care of. The owners began speaking dog and that made Maggie feel more comfortable. Such a relief for her!
Suzanne W
Suzanne W Renton, Washington | March 19 2015
David Wiley was terrific. He really helped my husband and I with some strategies to gain control of and calm our hyper alert 12 year old fox terrier, who would race around and bark wildly whenever anyone (including ourselves!) entered or left the house. David came three times, and by our last session our dog's behavior had vastly improved and we now feel we have the knowledge and skills we need to work with him further. David's instructions were clear and detailed and he answered all of our questions. He modeled his techniques and coached us while we tried the strategies too. He was also very personable. Hiring David is something I wish we had done years ago, but fortunately you CAN teach an old dog new tricks. I highly recommend David's services. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity
Trainer note from Ian : Suzanne, you guys did all the hard work. It was so great to see him respond to you both. As you can see, you have to be just as persistent as he is. Thanks for the kind words!
Michael B
Michael B Woolwich Township, New Jersey | March 19 2015
We adopted our six year old Corgi when he was three after he had lived with a few different families. He had a few bad habits like jumping and pulling on the leash but nothing too serious until he started getting more and more aggressive towards people walking their dogs past our home. We contacted Kurt at Bark Busters and what a difference in the first week. After evaluating Buddy, Kurt felt he was taking a leadership role to protect the home. During the first visit we learned to walk the dog properly, verbally correct him, and some simple techniques to take control and regain leadership. Kurt has made himself available for questions and when he revisited us two weeks later, Buddy was well behaved and laid on the floor next to him. He's still not perfect but he listens much better, jumps much less, is much less aggressive, and we now have the tools to quickly and effectively gain control. My family and furniture thank Kurt and would highly recommend Bark Busters. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Jane K
Jane K Shellsburg, Iowa | March 19 2015
After Janie left after the 1st meeting there was a definite change for the better in Zeus. He pretty much quit going behind our chairs and chewing on a box. I quit letting him sit on my lap so much and only now when invited. We are doing a lot better with staying, and letting me out the door first. We have our good and bad days leash walking. A lot due to distractions. Gary and I are working harder on recall. Sorry to say we had gotten a little frustrated with that. The jumping up on Gary and I have gotten better. Saturday will be a real test as we will have the 4 yr old grandson here. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Janie : You're doing well. Remember, don't get frustrated and don't give in to him. And always keep in mind, he's just a baby, so he's very easily distracted. Going behind the chairs where all the electronics cabling was located was a very big deal, so even if other things aren't progressing as quickly, always remember your successes. He's such a sweet little guy. Good luck with your grandson. You can do it!