Dog training reviews

Read our Dog training reviews from Bark Busters page 711

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
review image
Diana F San Diego, California | August 19 2013
When I first got my puppy I knew that I wanted training for him (or actually me) so that i would have a well behaved dog and in turn both of our lives would be less stressful. I hire a trainer to work on your basic dog stuff like walking on a leash, getting accustomed to the crate and he was having separation anxiety. Basically, when I would leave the house he would freak out, barking, howling etcetera, to the point where I received notes from neighbors complaining. The trainer I originally hired simply did not to the trick. Hundreds of dollars spent and although he got a little bit better, but it was not enough. That's when I got a note from my neighbor. At this point, I had become a prisoner of my own home. I literally could not leave my place and leave him there. I was really frustrated... So, I decided I needed to try something different... SOMEONE different... Someone with a different approach. That's when Justin was referred to me.... And my life was forever changed. Justin came to my home at a convenient time for me (which was ASAP) and immediately gave my something new to try. One week later of implementing his exercises... I was FREE!!! My dog no longer has separation anxiety! How do I know this? Easy, I had set up a camera so that I could view him when I was gone, in case he freaked out... NOPE... Nothing. He goes right to sleep for the most part. HUGE lifesaver. Another thing, before Justin, I had a huge playpen overtaking my entire place, not to mention the wee wee pad holder. I told him I wanted to get rid of this stuff and just keep the crate and get him used to going outside (because I live downtown)... That day, the playpen was gone and it has been two weeks since and he is potty trained! Not only that but on our walks, I am leading him instead of him leading me all over the place. Justin really helped me get my life back, my place in order and most important, relieve the anxiety my puppy used to have... I would recommend Justin to anyone for any obedience issues. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Melanie H
Melanie H San Diego, California | August 19 2013
Harry was acting like Cujo until we met Justin! Our Chinese crested is fear aggressive and insecure, but in two hours Justin transformed him into a calm and relaxed pooch. Perhaps more importantly, he taught us how to keep him that way! Justin was our last hope as we were agonizing over whether Harry needed to be put down as he had already bitten someone. We shuddered to think of what would happen if he ever escaped! With a 5 year old child who loves to have friends over, we also knew the chance of Harry biting a child was a huge liability.We got Harry when he was 7 months old from a private party. He has always been male aggressive but he gradually started disliking everyone outside our family. We started to feel as though we were being held captive by our vicious little dog. Having friends over would mean non stop barking from the crate. We have spent thousands of dollars on vets, dog psychologists and trainers in the past 3 years but nothing has ever worked. Trainers would tell us that he was too old to change or that he was just born aggressive. In desperation, we went to a dog boot camp in North County and met the owner who professed to be an expert with large hostile dogs. One look at my barking and snarling little guy and he told us he would take $2000 and shock him into submission, but he wasn't sure he could make him a "nice" dog. He told us to put him down when we refused to pay him to hurt our dog. After one lesson, Justin was able to knock on our door, ring the doorbell AND sit on our couch with Harry out of his crate! Not only that, Harry let Justin pet him!! I cried...literally!! This was our first lesson and the next one is leash walking (he's a leash puller). I will update my post after lesson 2. Thank you Justin!!!!!!! I didn't know what to expect because your reviews seemed "too good to be true" but they were spot on!!!! You rock! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Merissa N
Merissa N San Diego, California | August 19 2013
My boyfriend and I had adopted a pitbull mix and have constantly worked with her for almost a year, but was really having problems with her fear with males and listening to us. After struggling for some time we decided to call Justin for some help. Thank god we did because Justin helped so much!!! Justin has such an amazing natural way with dogs, which was really important to us because we don't believe in shock collars, prong collars, etc. Justin didn't need any of that!! We saw a difference in our dog Marley's behavior after the first week!!! So happy we called Justin it was seriously the best decision we have made for our pup who is not living in fear anymore. Thanks Justin for the help!! :o) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Pulling
review image
Patrick B San Diego, California | August 19 2013
Our Olde English Bulldog, Olive (1 1/2 old) suddenly started developing some anxious and aggressive behavior. She had become overly protective of our house (or any house she was visiting), we were no longer comfortable having guests over as she had displayed some not so friendly behavior with a few of our friends and neighbors. Justin was great, he came over on time and sat down with myself, my fiance', and Olive to get a grasp of the unwanted behavior. After we talked about some of the causes of the behavior Justin then worked with Olive and us(10% Olive 90% us). Almost immediately, Olive was a different dog. It has been 2 weeks since, all unwanted behaviors are gone, and she is back to being the perfect dog she was before. We have had several house guests over since, Olive was as friendly as could be, wagging her tail and giving kisses. When the doorbell rang before, she would "rush" the door growling, barking and snarling. Now, when the doorbell rings she just lays down in place where ever she is at in the house, not a peep. Thanks Justin! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Recall
review image
Ashley G San Diego, California | August 19 2013
I can't thank Justin enough for training my dog & I. Milo developed separation anxiety a few months ago due to a pack member moving away & us moving to a new apartment. It was just too many changes at once for him to cope with. He would immediately start freaking out when I left & would bark for hours. When it didn't stop on its own & neighbors started complaining... I knew I needed help. Thank goodness I found out about Justin & Bark Busters. The training definitely takes time & patience but the repetition pays off! Only 3 weeks after beginning & I have a much more obedient dog who can sit, stay, knows to walk beside me on a leash AND... no longer barks when I leave. He now accepts me as leader of the pack. I highly recommend Justin & his training - it works! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Lisabet R
Lisabet R San Diego, California | August 19 2013
When i first got my dog Todd from the shelter i saw that her needed some work, as most dogs from shelters do. I emailed a LOT of dog training companies and I found Bark Busters! My dog Todd was very scared of men and I was worried that Justin (as a man) wouldn't be able to get close to Todd as would needed for training. But, right when Justin walked into my house Todd went straight up to him and sat in his lap! I was thrilled with this experience. Ever since the first training lesson Todd has been a changed dog, well on walks, respectful, and knows who's boss! Thanks Justin for all your help! I'm sure you'll be needed more as he gets older. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other
review image
Debbie A Royal Palm Beach, Florida | August 19 2013
I was very impressed with Mary within 5 mins! I went into this with the 30 min no expectation. I loved Bark Busters' approach. Not only did she do training but spent extensive time teaching me. I was quite frustrated during the first week, but after the second visit, things got better. I got my shopping list which she helped me with. ex: Bitter Apple. I've been able to sweep without attack and today vacuumed and mopped. I had to do an occasional BAHH but off he went:). Also I was so frustrated with him not coming when called and the leash. Our second visit Mary listened and didn't try and move on. We worked on that. He actually wants to do leash training. When he hears the chain rattle, he comes right to me and sits! I'm looking forward to everyday working on things a little at at time. If you are looking for someone I highly recommend Mary! I can tell she truly wants to help and loves our 4 legged family members. Thank you Mary. Deogi and I have had a great weekend! I will continue to post as we move along. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from Mary : Debbie's dog, Deogi, is a handsome German Shepherd puppy of 5 months. We are focusing on Basic Obedience as well as respecting in house boundaries, tolerating the broom and vacuum, mouthing and chewing.
review image
Ruby N Greensboro, North Carolina | August 19 2013
This was very clear & concise training. All of my questions were answered completely and I like how this is not aggressive in anyway. I also like the very thorough lecture in the beginning. The visual aids helped a lot to integrate the information. During the hands-on part it was helpful to get the constant prompts. This made the process way less stressful and let me focus on my dog without worrying about forgetting what to do. I got immediate results for my dog Oscar. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Other, Recall
review image
Craig H Sugar Land, Texas | August 18 2013
Fantastic method. Winston really misbehaved. When Bark Busters completed the 3 hour training session, Winston was well behaved. We would recommend Bark Busters to everyone! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Dan H Wilbraham, Connecticut | August 18 2013
Dear Scot, Thank you so much for your help today. We learned a lot, and the difference it has made is striking. We feel we are much better dogs for having met with you! Our two fighting dogs laid down together ON THEIR OWN in my sons room this evening for a long time without any problems. We expect that there will be some incidents in the future, but now we have a good idea of how to deal with them. Thanks again, and we will be in touch as we need more help. If any of our friends need help we will be recommending you. Yours, Dan Hatten Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Sibling rivalry