Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
Port Saint Lucie | March 21 2013
My husband and I have 2 mops and 2 stretches; 2 twelve-year-old brother and sister Shih Tzu's, Sam and Libby, and 2 six-year-old Dachshunds, Molly and Blackjack. While our primary concern was on Blackjack, each of our furbabies benefited from Bark Busters Home Dog Training methods. Blackjack has been a part of our family a little over 9 months; he was a quasi-rescue. We know he received basic home training of sit, down, and stay during the early months of his life. Although home life today is quiet and pleasant, he is completely out of control while in contact with our friends and visitors who knock on our front door. Our active social life instituted many greetings in general and in all honesty, greetings were anticipated and dreaded. Blackjack was an out of control small dog with beg dog strength; dangerous for us, for Blackjack and for those who were around us during interactive times. We began our training with Bark Busters Dog Trainer, Mary Johnson, on January 21, 2013. During sessions, Mary addresses issues and concerns first, producing a quick result, which allows us to cover new training as well. A prime example, keeping our dogs out of the kitchen. It was a pet peeve of mine. Mary provided direction on how to manage my dog's behavior versus how I was managing the issue. The result, not only did Blackjack re-calibrate his need to be in the kitchen when either my husband or I or both were in there preparing meals, but each of our 4-legged dogs received a re-calibration with little effort, peace in the kitchen once again! It is difficult to think like a dog. The biggest benefit we have gained by working with Mary Johnson, has been to understand what our dogs need and expect from us, by learning how they think. Mary not only taught us what we needed to do to train our dogs, but she also explained the logic behind the actions with patience and many hands-on demonstrations. We highly recommend Mary as a trainer whether you have specific issues to address or general training. Permalink
review image
Fort Myers | March 20 2013
Amazing! My dog and I have learned to respect each other and I learned how to communicate more efficiently. Permalink
review image
Palatine | March 20 2013
He saved my relationship. My girl and me couldn't be in the house together as my dog was just to un-easy towards her. The training was just so valuable and I am so grateful. Permalink
review image
Emily and Nathan C Dallas, Texas | March 20 2013
The techniques are quite simple yet so effective! Rebecca did a great job of demonstrating and explaining. We observed noticeable results from the very first minute we applied the leash-walking techniques. We are big fans of the no touch, no treat training methods as we think it's in our dog's best interest. Rebecca is very friendly and her love for dogs makes training enjoyable. She also motivates us to keep up with the training on a daily basis. We would recommend BB to anyone who owns a dog and wants to change their dog's unwanted behaviors. We learned a lot from Rebecca. From the start we noticed positive changes and we are moving forward with training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling
Susan S
Susan S Auburn Hills, Michigan | March 20 2013
We were AMAZED at how quickly Buck responded! We will be recommending Bark Busters to our friends. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from John and Lisa : Susan Spitsen is a staff member of Auburn Animal Hospital in Rochester Hills.
review image
Fairfield | March 19 2013
I recently purchased a Doberman Pinscher puppy. At first,the dog was a handful and I felt overwhelmed with her behavior. I felt she was in need of some discipline so I called mike to come visit and meet Ava and tell me what he thought. It was the best decision I ever made! He came over and took the time to explain to me how the training process worked as well as the thought process of the puppy. After he explained it to me he then created scenarios that help address her behavior problems. We role played until I got comfortable with the exercises and he instructed me to practice a few minutes a day until he returned. I cannot believe how effective his training technique is! I started seeing improvements the first few hours I was working with her. I'm happy to say my puppy is listening to me much better and I highly recommend mike for any dog training. Great teacher! Permalink
Bridgeport | March 18 2013
Mike really does work wonders maybe even miracles! I have two golden retrievers ages 7 and 4, who I thought were completely untrainable. Mike introduced my family and I to the Bark Buster methods, which I can't thank him enough for! Once receiving a schedule I worked with both dogs for about a month and can see significant improvement. Therefore to everyone out there who has rambunctious, crazy dogs Mike is the trainer you. My dogs no longer beg for food, jump up on people or counters for that matter, and no more nuisance barking. The trick to this methods is constant training everyday on a schedule even if its for ten minutes a day. I am so pleased with the results that I needed to post my testimonial to let everyone know that there is no such thing as an untrainable dog, with these methods and Mike's help of course! Permalink
Joliet | March 18 2013
John was very thorough with all of the training techniques which were all very easy to understand. It was amazing to us that there were immediate results! John did a great job with Tanner and us. We do not believe in physical force to train animals. Bark Busters techniques are 100% safe for Tanner and we loved that! It was nice to have the dog trainer at our house, in our environment to teach us the techniques. It was also nice to have the one on one experience versus a group class. We would absolutely recommend Bark Busters. John was great! Seeing results in just a couple of hours was amazing. John showed us just how easy it is to train Tanner. We were a little worried before he came, but have all the confidence now that we have proven techniques to use. Permalink
Fremont | March 17 2013
I have only had one session with Gail, and already I feel like she's been my friends for years! My dog already showed improvement in the time frame of our first session, and by the next day, my dog had picked up on leave it, no jumping, stay and how I could make her calmer when visitors came over to distract her. I'm able to enjoy my dog more now because she can be in the house more than prior because of her jumping on everyone. My kids can love their dog, more than her being an annoyance like a annoying little sister. Gail is very thorough and goes over everything with you first and why dogs may do certain things. She has a lot of patience and is great at what she does. You can see her love for what she does and that she truly loves dogs and just wants you to know how to enjoy your dog better than it being difficult. She gave me her cell and said I can call her anytime even if I just had a question or a new issue arrived prior to our next appointment. I felt like I have my own on-call trainer. But because she taught me great tips, I haven't had to call her yet! :) I would recommend this for anyone with a dog even if there is just one little issue ... it's worth it, and you will see the results. As you can see, after our first appointment my son was able to lay with our dog in her side table crate without her knocking my son over or jumping all over him. Permalink
Ken A
Ken A Rochester, Michigan | March 17 2013
THE DIFFERENCE IN BOTH MY DOGS WITHIN JUST DAYS HAS BEEN A BLESSING IN MY HOUSEHOLD! The stress level has reduced abundantly. The results have continued to get better and better. The barking has decreased and no longer waking up my children. I look forward to having my dogs be obedient even in public areas and listening to every command without hesitation. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety