Client Reviews and Testimonials

What Bark Busters clients have to say about our dog training services

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

See below for all our reviews, or use the fields below to filter reviews by behavior issues or by location.
review image
Eric L San Diego, California | November 07 2013
My wife and I have an 11 month old Boxer puppy. He is the sweetest, cutest dog you can find. We got our puppy when he was very young, and as sweet as he was/is, man did he have crazy energy! And I wish it was the high-energy that was the problem...Dexter (our dog) began jumping on guests, getting too rowdy, not listening, showing zero respect, etc, etc. We got to a point where we really felt that we could not do all of the things that we dreamed we would be able to do with a dog. Due to the fact that we could not get his attention, and he did not respect us, we could no longer: take him on walks, take him to dog parks, invite guests over who did not appreciate a dog jumping all over them the whole time, take him on trips, and pretty much everything else fun! His lack of respect and attention resulted in us being frustrated and stressed out, but more importantly it resulted in him getting himself in positions where he could be harmed. So, we decided to get serious and find help for Dexter. And after a long and careful research process, we landed on enlisting the services of Justin and Bark Busters. We did not know what to expect, but we knew that we did not want to take Dexter to a class with a bunch of other dogs, we wanted personal attention. We wanted a professional to come to our house, meet our dog, learn about all of his behavior issues, and create a training curriculum that is specific only to my dog! And I will tell you we have not regretted it one bit! Justin has not only helped our pup, but he has helped us be able to implement the training on our own. We can now enjoy our dog for the sweetheart that he his, and we can take him fun places that he too can enjoy! If you are anything like me, and you need more than just a great review in order to make a decision, let me tell you a bit more about our experience: Justin will be the first to tell you that he is not a miracle-maker dog whisperer. If there are issues between us and our dogs, it is mainly because we do not understand how to communicate with them, and they do not understand anything we are saying/doing. Justin taught us how to talk to our dog, how to establish control, and how to understand Dexter's personality so that we are correctly teaching him what is right and what is wrong. We used to get so frustrated with Dexter, he wouldn't listen, he did not have any respect for us, and he had no boundaries. I remember the most rewarding moment was after Justin's first visit; right after he left the house, we saw immediate improvement in Dexter's behavior. That moment where my wife and I looked at each other and said "Look at this! Dexter is totally minding us, and he is respecting our boundaries!" Each time Justin came over we worked on something new. He always came prepared with his next exercises, but he also made sure that we worked on anything else that we felt like working on as well. He always answered his phone, and he was picked right up where he left off the time before. Best money we ever spent! We started using Bark Busters in late August, here we are 2 months later, and our puppy has improved by leaps and bounds! Justin has mad us happy, and he has made our Dexter very happy! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Laura L Cornelius, North Carolina | November 06 2013
Bark Busters training techniques are different from what we are used to but it was very enjoyable and educational. We are impressed! Karen was very patient with us. We saw a very quick response from both of the dogs! Now when my father walks the reactive one, he says he is doing so much better! He listens to dad much better and is more relaxed. When they have approached other dogs, he is not nearly as much of a problem! My female is doing quite well, also! Bark Busters has helped a tremendous amount. We are very happy because we can see a remarkable improvement! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Toileting
Trainer note from Karen : They did a great job and they know that additional help is only a phone call away if they need it!
review image
Luara F Palm Coast, Florida | November 06 2013
It appeared she knew what she was doing and was perfect at explaining the training to us. She knew I was exhausted and took extra time to make sure I understood. Our dog showed the exact behavior changes she said would occur. Linda was very friendly, stayed on task and made us feel comfortable. After the training, I had to go outside, I heard the neighbors dogs barking coming down the street and knew they could benefit. Very Amazed how quickly my dog responded!! Thank you so much!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other
review image
Keri G Apopka, Florida | November 06 2013
We were amazed that after two hours with Mike, Bella was able to be around our family without barking continually, She still growled a couple of times but quickly stopped when corrected. Mike explained that Bella was fearful and that us being confident in our voice and body language she would become more confident. We loved that treats weren't used. We would recommend Bark Busters because we were able to help our dog feel confident and fit in with our family and lifestyle. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Recall
review image
Becky W Huntersville, North Carolina | November 05 2013
There was very little barking by the end of the session! However, my terrier-mix still needs some work on her short attention span! I'd recommend Bark Busters because you could definitely see results immediately! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Karen : What a great response from a terrier! Amazing job!
review image
Julie M Denver, Colorado | November 05 2013
Scott has done a marvelous job helping us transform a headstrong, "passively dominant" Bernese Mountain Dog puppy into the well-behaved, sweet and obedient girl we knew she could be!! We couldn't be happier with the results we've achieved with Scott's assistance and Bark Busters dog training philosophy -- well done!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Christine K Huntersville, North Carolina | November 05 2013
From the time Karen walked into the house until she left, the transformation was like night and day. She had plenty of patience and now Pearl is now a much calmer dog! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking
Trainer note from Karen : The tension simply melted off of little Pearl when the owners introduced her to the pack leaders!
review image
Gwen D Portland, Oregon | November 05 2013
I think she's excellent Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Recall
review image
Erin R San Diego, California | November 05 2013
Our story is a bit of a rocky one. Don't worry though, there's a happy ending, all thanks to Justin :D Seriously, call him ASAP if you need help overcoming any dog issues - no matter how major the issue seems, there is hope! He's a wonderful, gentle dog behaviorist and an AMAZING human trainer (which is what a lot of dog training is really about). I recommend Bark Busters to everyone; my dog's total 180 speaks for itself. __ Here's my full (long!) story, with the hope that it might help people feeling trapped or hopeless about their dog's behavior/potential: I adopted a 2-year-old chug (chihuahua/pug mix) from a rescue group. I'm not sure what the story was with his first owner or if he was ever abused, but he definitely wasn't properly socialized. He ended up dumped at a high-kill shelter (72-hours til euthanasia). A rescue group pulled him from death row with hours to spare, and he went to live with a foster family until I met him. I saw so much potential in him, past the moments of fearfulness (could you blame him for not knowing who to trust?). I could tell that he was smart, motivated to please people, totally wanted to love but was just insecure about his place in the world. He came home with me, because I thought he deserved a real shot at becoming a confident, happy guy. I named him Prince, because I saw the prince charming behind the sometimes growly beast (plus all his stuff was purple). In the first week, while Prince quickly got comfortable with me, he got worse around just about everything/everyone else. Separation anxiety issues (wanted to be glued to me, cried if left alone) and MAJOR issues with socialization and trusting people: bearing teeth/growling/snarling at strangers (sometimes other dogs but always people), wasn't a fan of anyone but me, definitely didn't want to be petted by anyone else, and would snarl at even me if I got too close to him when he had a chew bone. I couldn't sit with him at a coffee shop patio or he would turn into an unmanageable gremlin. I've had dogs before so I started crate training for the separation. I have never dealt with fear-aggression though, so I thought it would be worth the money to work with a professional behaviorist. The first time I met with Justin I got a GREAT feeling. I saw that he was fantastic: friendly, easy to work with, gentle but firm, and really knew dogs and loved to help people. Prince snarled at him from under the coffee table, but I'd come to expect that and Justin obviously wasn't fazed. We were on track. But then another week went by, and I was at my breaking point with Prince. I work from home (which can feel isolating on it's own) but now I had this creature forcing me into total solitary confinement! I had been trying to gently socialize him (asking everyone to ignore him, "don't pet him, he's in training", etc.) but had stopped bringing him most places because it was too stressful. Then I stopped having anyone over to my apartment, after he lunged up and actually bit a friend of mine when she got up to head home. She said she was okay but I was horrified and I had a spike of anxiety. It was late at night, I didn't have anyone to call/anywhere to go, no family, no boyfriend, the best friend I'd usually turn to was the one he had bitten! All I had was this monster; I thought "I should've named him Beast." :( We had been working on longer and longer separations (but with me still in the house), so I felt trapped: I couldn't leave him by himself at home yet, I couldn't have anyone over, I couldn't bring him places, and now I have a dog that bites. I was totally in over my head; major buyers remorse. I actually contacted the rescue saying I was afraid I'd have to give Prince back and called Justin asking what sort of refund he gives. I felt like an awful person that wasn't giving Prince the "forever home" I had promised. I already deal with anxiety and this was making it much worse. I was afraid that Prince was also feeling my anxiety, that I was making HIM worse, and that it was just going to keep snowballing like that. I was concerned about what this all meant for my future...In the next 10 years of our lives together, I want to be able to have friends over, bring my dog places, have a boyfriend over, have kids someday, and have my friends able to bring their kids over. I met with Justin to talk about it, and he was seriously better than a therapist. With newly boosted confidence, I decided to keep at it. After a month with Bark Busters, Prince almost seems like a different dog. These days, he PLAYS with Justin when he sees him, all goofy smiles and waggy tail. I've had friends over with no issues and fewer and fewer issues in public. He respects and looks to me. He RUNS to his crate, and I've caught him voluntarily napping in there. I can leave the house again! Of course there are still things to work on, but I have all the confidence in the world (and I know Prince can sense that). I can't thank Justin enough. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
review image
Luke M Mill valley, California | November 04 2013
I rescued bodi when he was 6 mos old from Sonora. I had no idea what to do with a puppy and I was lucky enough to meet Karen at bark busters. She made me understand that consistency and leadership was what was needed. He responded to me almost instantly. I think he really likes the training methods, The tips Karen gave me are easy to follow and whenever I need help, Karen has made herself available to answer all my questions and concerns. Bodi is now almost 2 yrs old and everyone thinks he is such a well behaved dog. He is and I am so happy. There is no jumping on people or barking at passing strangers. And most of all no pulling or should I say attacking on the leash. I highly recommend BarkBusters for training and if you can, try and get Karen. Luke Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety