Michelle McCarthy dog training reviews

Michelle McCarthy

Expert Dog Trainer, Michelle McCarthy

See below for all reviews for Michelle McCarthy, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Jennifer A D
Jennifer A D Nanuet, New York | November 14 2020
Michelle McCarthy saved our dog's life. Simply put. Before I found out about Bark Busters, we had contemplated putting our mixed pup, Tanner, down for aggressive behaviors. He had attacked me and more importantly, my children for the past few months on and off. We had spoken to SEVERAL trainers, watched dozens of videos, and even bought a shock collar as a last result. Nothing worked. We didn't know what else to do. The vet (at the time) said that 'nobody should feel scared from a pet in their own home." While I wholeheartedly agreed with this statement, my gut said there was something we were missing. Was it organic? Was it 'fixable'? That's when we called Bark Busters. We were assigned to Michelle McCarthy due to our 'area', and now, I wouldn't have anyone else. Within 15 minutes of Michelle entering, we had begun to see what we were doing wrong all along: we weren't speaking his language. I cannot go into all that Michelle did for us that first night. When Tanner tried getting our attention by pulling down a whole roll of paper towels, Michelle corrected his behavior in 10 seconds, without getting up, raising her voice, or giving unnecessary treats. Michelle saved Tanner's life. Michelle eased our hearts and minds. Michelle IS the dog-whisperer! NOT ONLY is she affordable, she is here with us for the life of Tanner. I can honestly say though it is my opinion that the reason that is the 'guarantee' is because her techniques are SO good, we probably won't require her for that long! Having a 'treat free' behavior plan is epic for us. No more junkie treats that were upsetting his belly, and PROVEN not to have any lasting effect with behavior management. I can't wait for our next lesson. I am so blessed to have this woman in Tanner and our lives. ONE note. DO NOT call if you do not plan on following: the daily homework, working with your dog, or following the new behavior plans. Families have to be 100% on board. You CANNOT have one person doing it, while the others ignore it. THIS IS CRUCIAL. Tanner is a different dog in just 14 days. Why? Because we ALL use the techniques. All 4 of us are doing what Michelle recommends. We are 'tally-marking' the strategies daily. DO NOT hesitate. Call/schedule immediately. Like I stated in the beginning, Michelle saved Tanner's life. We are so grateful. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Digging, Jumping up, Puppy management
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you so much Jennifer! It's been such fun working with you and your family and your dedication to Tanner is amazing! He is truly a great dog and I am always humbled to know that I played such a part in helping a dog and his family. I'm always here to help! ~Michelle PS I LOVE this picture of Tanner!
review image
Sheira Schlair S Valley Cottage, Rockland, New York | October 17 2020
Michelle McCarthy is a truly fantastic trainer and we have had a successful training experience from the start with her. Our dog changed his ways from the first day that we started to work with her homework and her training style was motivating and supportive. We really appreciate the approach of understanding the dog mindset, which has been enormously helpful as we continue to work daily to reinforce lessons learned. We are now on week 4 and the changes are profound in our dog and in our family dynamic, with a deeper sense of peace and true opportunities to enjoy Bamba. We cannot thank you enough Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Sheira! I love helping clients understand how their dogs see things differently and how that affects their behavior with us. They are truly smart and amazing beings and it is so rewarding to take the time to understand their mindset. It's been wonderful to see Bamba fit into your family and I look forward to being here to help when you need me! ~Michelle
review image
Meaghan M Pearl River, Rockland, New York | September 25 2020
My dog Gipper is a 1 year old English Bulldog. Gipper is an amazing dog with a very distinct personality however you could not get through our front door without him jumping all over our guests as well as getting carried away and nipping at them as well. Also walking him was more of a battle or a drag than an actual walk. After just one session I see a complete change in Gipper. The way Michelle explained to us what was going on in his head was so clear and made it so much easier for us to see the world through his eyes. She gave us plenty of tips on how to make those experiences so much easier on him. You are trained just as much if not more in this program than your dog. We are doing our homework with him daily and constantly seeing improvement. We learned so much and look forward to continued positive changes through additional sessions with our boy Gipp. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you so much Meaghan! It was such a pleasure working with you guys and Gipper! He is a great dog and it was such fun to see him respond to you and "get it". He will be happier for it! Well done to both of you and you know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
review image
brittany L Nanuet, New York | September 05 2020
Our dogs are both very misbehaved. We were feeling defeated, as we had tried every technique on our own with no changes. Michelle came and worked first with me and showed me how I needed to act as a leader. Within minutes of trying these new skills there was a significant change in both dogs. Michelle worked with me and my husband and gave us the necessary tools to train our own dogs. We found this to have a significant impact because they learned to listen to US, rather than someone else. I didn't think it was possible for them to show signs of obedience and calm down enough to listen. Michelle and the training techniques are incredible! I would highly recommend her and her services to anyone in need of dog training! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you so much Brittany! I have really enjoyed working with you guys and seeing your love and dedication to your dogs. I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Maria R
Maria R Tappan, Rockland, New York | July 25 2020
Michelle is awesome! After the very first session we learned so much and saw a change with Beau right away. By the second session 3 weeks later, he was doing so much better! We still have some work to do, but Michelle has been so good with helping us stay consistent with training and I continue to see positive results every week. She is so knowledgeable and helpful. Definitely would recommend Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Puppy management
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you so much, Maria! I love working with dedicated dog owners like yourselves! Beau is an awesome dog (and so, so handsome!) and I'm so happy to see him doing better. You know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Robin C
Robin C New Windsor, New York | July 25 2020
Michelle is the best! She has the patience of a saint! I didn't think that anyone could train me!!! ❤ Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Other
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Robin! You and Hanky are wonderful students and were a pleasure to train! :) And he is such a handsome boy! Looking forward to seeing your continued progress. I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Carmen H
Carmen H Valley Cottage, Rockland, New York | July 24 2020
I was so impressed by the progress we made after only one session! I would highly recommend Michelle and Bark busters! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Carmen! What an amazing job you've done with Romeo. I love working with pitbulls and he truly lives up to his name! Love, love, love this pic of him! You know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Christine D
Christine D Nanuet, New York | July 21 2020
We had used Bark Busters over 10 years ago for our previous dogs and had great success then. We just adopted a new dog, a 5 yo Boston terrier named Rocky who is amazing, but has had a rough history. We needed to get him more comfortable with children and other dogs and my first thought was Bark Busters! To my surprise Michelle was still there! I was even more pleasantly surprised that the program had evolved over the years. Better handouts and a color coded guide to how your dog is reacting at a given moment. I loved that. Michelle spent a ton of time with us and she was patient and supportive and we got an email the next day checking in on us. Great value, since it is for the life of your pup. Rocky is already doing better and we've only been working with him for 3 days! Thank you Michelle! You're the best! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you so much Christine! It is always such a thrill to get a call from a client to meet and work with their new pup. Rocky is an awesome little guy and it is my honor and privilege to come out and work with you guys again and get him settled in! You know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle :)
Christine D
Christine D Nanuet, New York | July 21 2020
We had used Bark Busters over 10 years ago for our previous dogs and had great success then. We just adopted a new dog, a 5 year old rescue Boston terrier named Rocky. He is an amazing dog but had a rough history. We needed to get him more comfortable with children and other dogs and my first thought was Bark Busters! To my surprise Michelle was still there! I was even more pleasantly surprised that the program had evolved over the years, with better handouts and a color-coded guide to how your dog is reacting at a given moment. I loved that. Michelle spent a lot of time with us. She was patient and supportive and we got an email the next day checking on us. Great value, since it is for the life of the pup. Rocky is already doing better and we've only been working with him for 3 days! Thank you Michelle! You're the best! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Christine! I loved working with you guys again and helping you with Rocky. He's a lucky little dog! I've loved seeing your successes with him and you know I'm always here to help! ! Michelle PS Love this pic!
Blaire B
Blaire B Haverstraw, Rockland, New York | May 17 2020
Michelle helped us so much with Bagel, even with just one session! He was nipping constantly and was so difficult to get in his crate at night. He was also sneaking into small places and refusing to come out. After a few hours with Michelle (virtually), the nipping was basically gone, no more crate issues, and he comes when called. She’s amazing! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Blaire! I'm so happy to have been able to help you with Bagel during these trying times! It's such a wonderful time to rescue a new puppy and I'm glad I'm able to help you have him fit into your home. I'm always here to help as he grows and learns new behaviors. ~Michelle P.S. He is just too cute!!

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter