Michelle McCarthy dog training reviews

Michelle McCarthy

Expert Dog Trainer, Michelle McCarthy

See below for all reviews for Michelle McCarthy, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Blaire B
Blaire B Haverstraw, Rockland, New York | May 17 2020
Michelle helped us so much with Bagel, even with just one session! He was nipping constantly and was so difficult to get in his crate at night. He was also sneaking into small places and refusing to come out. After a few hours with Michelle (virtually), the nipping was basically gone, no more crate issues, and he comes when called. She’s amazing! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Blaire! I'm so happy to have been able to help you with Bagel during these trying times! It's such a wonderful time to rescue a new puppy and I'm glad I'm able to help you have him fit into your home. I'm always here to help as he grows and learns new behaviors. ~Michelle P.S. He is just too cute!!
Jeff K
Jeff K Cortlandt Manor, New York | April 11 2020
Our 23 month old Labradoodle had some behavior issues that we needed to correct and we are so glad we found Michelle. Turns out we were her first "virtual" customers due to Covid-19. We've had 3 weekly calls so far and have seen a big improvement. It's reassuring to know Michelle is available for us at anytime and we will have her out to the house when it's safe to do so. Important: Michelle will give you the tools to improve but it's up to you and your family to implement them with repetition. There is no magic cure. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you, Jeff! Well, we're all learning new ways of interacting and I'm just glad that I was able to give you tools to work with your dog to improve your relationship and his behaviors. Our dogs don't change just because our world is changing, but I can help everyone adapt together! Thank you for putting your trust in me at this time! I'm ALWAYS here to help. ~Michelle
Yosi H
Yosi H Monsey, New York | April 02 2020
We have been working for a while with Michelle and she is absolutely amazing. She has been to the house a few times to show us the ropes, empower us, but this training is really more about the daily exercises. She always makes herself available to answer any questions and has been enormously helpful. This training has really changed my relationship with my dog, Leo. Thank You Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Recall
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Yosi! My goal is always to enhance the relationship between you and your best friend,so this is wonderful to hear. :) I see myself as the facilitator in that process! You guys have been awesome to work with and I'm always here to help you and Leo. ~Michelle
review image
David B Monsey, Rockland, New York | February 19 2020
Hi my name is David, I rescued my Pit mix Logan from NYC.  I was told he was tested with cats but when I picked Logan up and brought him home I was very upset to see saliva pouring out of his mouth as he tried to get at my friendly tabby cat!!  He was so aggressive that I absolutely couldn't believe it!!! I tried everything,  introducing them through a gate, a door with a window, on a leash. Logan wanted to get at him in the worst way. The horrible thing is my cat is like a dog and gets along with all animals.  Logan got along with my other pit mix and my cooker spaniel so I feel like he never saw a cat in his life. One day I came in from outside and Logan had his head on a swivel trying to locate my cat.  I reached out to the person who fostered Logan and he told me Logan had a very high prey drive and has brought back some dead animals.      I would cry at night as a grown man not knowing what to do and I didn't want to give up on Logan as he was already on the kill list at the ACC and he really became close with my other pittie.   I begged people to please take him as I feared for the safety of my cat. I was given a name of a trainer by a woman in the county that does rescue work with dogs and she gave me a dog trainer's name so I called him. When we spoke he basically said I'm not going to waste my time and I'm not going to take your money because he has a high prey drive and it's in his DNA, nothing you can do. He was very pleasant but just felt as their was nothing that could be done. I cried all night and called my sister and she felt so bad. A few days went by and my phone rang and it was my sister, she says David I think I found someone who can help you!!  I said dude please who?  She said this lady Michelle Mccarthy from Barkbusters and I said OK please send me the info and she did. So I called and spoke to Michelle and went over everything and she made an appointment with Logan.      So the day comes and Michelle comes to my house to work with Logan.  Here is the end result, after just 3 sessions I can leave the cat alone with Logan AND I even rescued a 2nd cat. Logan no longer tries to kill anyone but he does lick them to death,  lol but when I call him he leaves the cats and comes. Michelle is AMAZING!!!  we still have so much work to do with Logan but the home front is great regarding the cats.  I'll be calling Michelle over for some other issues but the main issue has been nipped in the bud.  I would tell anyone if your dog has any issues Michelle Mccarthy is the only 1 to call.  I give her 5 stars. She's professional,  caring,  very knowledgeable,  honest and she takes her time and has a phenomenal personality.  She even found me a great dogsitter!!!  THANK YOU MICHELLE!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression
Trainer note from Michelle : THANK YOU SO MUCH, David, for your kind, heartfelt words! Wow. It was truly my honor to help you with Logan and get him adjusted into your fur family. I have loved hearing from you and being kept up to date on the progress you continue to make with him. This is why I do what I do and any time you need help, I'm here for you! ~Michelle
Alexandra B
Alexandra B Nyack, Rockland, New York | January 22 2020
We rescued our Chi-Pin, Austin, when she was about 4 months old. The first few weeks were challenging to say the least. She was destructive, barked incessantly, kept us awake at night, terrorized our two cats, frequently went to the bathroom on the carpet and she demanded constant attention. Contacting Michelle was truly the best decision we made. She really took the time to understand and evaluate our pup’s needs. Most importantly, she taught us how to effectively communicate with Austin both verbally and through body language. Remarkably, Austin’s behavior changed after only one session. Using the tools Michelle showed us, Austin has become more obedient, quiet and calm. She’s even been able to bond with the cats, which we never expected to happen. During our session, Michelle did warn us that future changes in the household could disrupt her progress. We didn’t understand how true this was until we moved into our new home. After months of perfect behavior, Austin began to revert to her old ways. We immediately contacted Michelle again and she was eager to help. It's incredibly reassuring to know that should any problems arise in the future, she is just a call or text away. We can’t even begin to express how thankful we are for all of her help. Michelle McCarthy is a wonderful trainer and we highly recommend her for any dog owner! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Alex! Austin is little sweetie and is a lucky girl, having found her way to both of you. I'm so glad to have been there to help her settle in when she first arrived, and then again into your new home. I'm here to help every step of the way! ~Michelle
Mary R
Mary R New City, Rockland, New York | December 03 2019
Zucc responded right away to training! We are still a working progress but even my other dogs are beginning to follow his good behaviors. Michelle truly worked her magic with my boy Zucc. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you so much Mary! Zucc is an awesome Goldendoodle and really wants to please you guys! You have done wonderfully with him and I look forward to seeing your progress as you continue to work with him. I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Brittnay A
Brittnay A Nyack, Rockland, New York | September 24 2019
Michelle empowers dog owners to speak the same language as their puppies and is a wealth of knowledge. My little Doberman is learning his manners thanks to Bark Busters' tools & techniques. Of course it is a work in progress with a puppy, but I know Michelle is with us every step of the way. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Pulling, Puppy management
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Brittnay! Your little Doberman is ADORABLE and is growing up to be a well-behaved boy! Well done on your consistency and it is my pleasure to be here to assist you as he grows into your family. I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Carla K
Carla K Chester, Orange, New York | September 15 2019
Ok so I am not even exaggerating Michelle came into our home at about 4 Pm — and met us and our dogs , we discussed the issues and she taught us the techniques and JUST like on TV when you see these shows my dogs ALL 4 of them were behaving like they were supposed to ! We had a major barking issue and I was actually able to sit and watch tv without interruption. The next morning it was the same thing — I had a quiet cup of coffee and was able to watch the news in peace and quiet with no barking and no demanding pups - i NEVER in my life would believe it if I didn’t see it with my own eyes — my dogs listen - it’s a miracle! Thank you Michelle !! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Carla! I really enjoyed working with your family and all 4 of your dogs! I could sense the relief your family and the dogs were feeling as they stopped the barking and started to relax. Good for all of you! Reach out at anytime; you know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
review image
Patricia G Tomkins Cove, Rockland, New York | September 06 2019
Michelle could feel how much we wanted Spanky back to his old self. She promised she would do everything to make that happen. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Hi Pat, yes, I will do everything I can to help both of you and Spanky! Nothing is more important to me than helping my clients with their dogs and I promise to be here to help you as you work to get your calm, loving Spanky back. :) ~Michelle
Dolores B
Dolores B New City, Rockland, New York | July 27 2019
Michelle is a great trainer! Her patience and competence are wonderful assets. She is always there for follow up! Kudos! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Dolores! You have been so dedicated to your rescue Pomeranian, Sally, and it has been MY pleasure to help you with her! (What a gorgeous little face!) She's come such a long way, and you know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter