Michelle McCarthy dog training reviews

Michelle McCarthy

Expert Dog Trainer, Michelle McCarthy

See below for all reviews for Michelle McCarthy, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Lauren D
Lauren D Suffern, New York | April 16 2018
We adopted an excitable Pointer mix (Felix) who we thought would settle in with our family. After almost a year, he was still barking at my husband, lunging at people and dogs on walks, and greeted anyone who came to our house with incessant barking and jumping. We were at our wit's end and my husband was ready to give Felix back to the foster family. I picked up a Bark Busters card at my Veterinarian's office with Michelle McCarthy's name and title of Dog Behavioral Therapist and Trainer. Can I say that that was a most superb decision? Michelle came to our home and spent time with us, educating our family on everything from the different ways dogs communicate to our own body language and voice tones. After "training" us, we trained with Felix both inside and outside of our house using solely natural methods. We worked on everything from reclaiming our front door and his constant barking to walking on a leash. The improvement was immediate! Already the lunging at passersby (We live on a cul-de-sac.) has stopped. Our neighbors were shocked! I highly recommend Michelle McCarthy at Bark Busters if you are looking for a trainer, and I have already referred her to a neighbor down the street after he complimented Felix's leash behavior and responses to my commands. She was thorough with "training" us humans, incredibly patient, and we felt she genuinely cared about Felix. She was so wonderful that our elderly dog took some training tips just by listening and observing her with Felix! We look forward to our future sessions with Michelle and we are grateful for the lifetime support! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Lauren! Your dedication to Felix is amazing and I am so happy to hear how well you have done with him! I'm always here if you need help! ~Michelle
Samantha G
Samantha G Suffern, New York | April 16 2018
Michelle did a great job! Felix learned the skills and behaviors quickly. Even a day later, he is a much calmer dog! Thank you so much for your help! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Samantha! It was my pleasure working with all of you and Felix! I'm always here to help if you need me! ~Michelle
review image
Kristin W Warwick, New York | April 01 2018
My husband and I were at our wits end with our 10 month old puppy; he would walk nicely on a leash until encountering another dog on the street and than become an absolute menace; barking, pulling etc. We contacted Michelle after seeing the positive reviews online and also receiving recommendations from both our vets office and our dog walker and I am so happy we did. She was kind and very professional and her positive approach to training was a breath of fresh air. We are very satisfied with the training so far, and cannot wait to see what our puppy can accomplish with the training guided by Michelle! Can't recommend her enough! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Kristin! Both your boys are awesome and I look forward to continuing to support you in your training goals for them! ~ Michelle
Jessi A
Jessi A PEARL RIVER, New York | March 17 2018
After we adopted Spikey, our handsome pit-bull mix, we realized he had some neurological issues, and was eventually diagnosed with a brain tumor. With these medical concerns, combined with the negative stereotype pit-bulls often have, it was very important that we find a trainer who was not biased and who was willing to work with our family. We contacted Michelle to try and address the new behaviors, aggression and stress that he was showing and she was more than happy to work with us! She personalized the training methods to fit our household as well as to Spikey's specific needs, and was able to distinguish between the behaviors he could and could not control. Unfortunately we recently had to make the hardest decision of all to allow Spikey to cross the rainbow bridge, but with Michelle's help, Spikey's last few months were stress-free and happy. When our family is ready to save another dog we will definitely be calling Michelle to help the 'pack' stay happy and stress-free! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Jessi. It really was my honor and privilege to work with you guys and Spikey. He was an awesome boy and so very lucky to have you guys come into his life and make his last few months ones filled with love and happiness. I look forward to working with you both again, when the time is right for you. ~ Michelle
review image
Carrie S Valley Cottage, New York | February 11 2018
This week training session Our puppies hit a milestone this week six months old. I was having issues with walking them on a leash because they were walking me! I contacted Michelle for a revisit and indeed she came to my rescue. With the proper guidance and tools, our boys are walking like show dogs now! They also learned the stay command which I was having issues with. Thanks to you Michelle they are doing great! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Carrie! Your pups have come such a long way and it's always such a pleasure to work with you guys! I'm always here when you need me! ~ Michelle
Andrea P
Andrea P Highland Falls, New York | February 05 2018
We were at wits end managing two rescued terriers, (aged 6 and 5) with serious issues. Tucker has been aggressive with visitors to the home and had begun to turn his aggression on us. Roscoe reverted to messing in the house. Both were leash pullers and had assorted problems while on leash. Barkbusters was recommended to us by friends who had used the service and had great success with their rescued pitbulls. Our trainer, Michelle, came to our home, the site of the problems, and we began our education about behaviors...ours of course! By the end of the 4 hour session, we learned how to correct our pets, with body language, voice, and some tools. None of the techniques are hurtful to the dogs and we especially appreciated that. The next day we began the re-education and reorganization of our pack, with us as the leaders for the first time. We are already amazed at how relaxed the dogs are, and how much their quality of life has improved. (not to mention ours). We understand that it is just the beginning of weeks and months of reinforcing and praising the new behaviors. We are committed to becoming the Pack Leaders and giving our dogs a better life. Michelle was knowledgeable and patient, demonstrating everything for us and then letting us have a go. She coached us through the behaviors until we felt ready to try on our own. The BARKBUSTERS guarantee is for an entire year and she will be back in a few weeks and always available to us for questions, tips, relapses, or any issues going forward. We are so thankful and excited to have the Barkbuster resource for happy dogs and humans. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry, Toileting
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Andrea! I'm so happy to hear how well you guys are doing with Tucker and Roscoe and that they are more relaxed. Good for them, and for you guys too! I'm here when you need me! ~ Michelle PS I LOVE the pic of the boys that you posted!
Jeff C
Jeff C Suffern, New York | December 28 2017
Michelle was very knowledgeable on the issues we asked her to address and had a passive yet firm approach to how to figure out our dog's issues. From just the first visit (which was only a few hours long) Karma responded positively with results and with the training provided, she also progressed over the next couple of weeks. I found the training to be very helpful and I'd recommend it to others without hesitation. Thank you Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Trainer note from Michelle : Hi Jeff, Thank you! Karma is a smart girl and you guys have done so well with her! Well done to all of you! I'm here to help anytime you need me. ~ Michelle
Kristy E
Kristy E Piermont, New York | September 06 2017
You can teach an old dog new tricks! Our 9 yr old boxer was getting aggressive towards strangers both in and out of our yard and barking all of the time. He is a totally different dog after one session! It is like he quit his job as full time protector and is taking it easy now. The weight of the world is off his shoulders and he is relaxed. He is listening, attentive and responsive to our commands. I highly recommend Michelle and her techniques - she truly is a dog whisperer. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thanks so much Kristy! It is such a joy to see dogs relax when they understand they no longer have to be in charge of everything, nor be responsible for keeping everyone safe. Now your sweet senior is getting his well-deserved retirement from service. Good for him, and all of you too! ;-)
Robert A
Robert A Central Valley, New York | July 24 2017
Michelle is an expert on dog behavior and dog training. She has helped me solve several behavior problems I was having with my puppy. She is an excellent teacher who clearly makes sure you understand and practice the skills of the training session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Robert! It's been such fun helping you with your puppy. He's got a strong will, but is cute as can be and is such a loving companion. It was a good decision to start working with him now to ensure he starts off heading in the right direction. As always, I'm here anytime you need me to help you with training!
review image
Eileen S Blauvelt, New York | April 28 2017
Michelle McCarthy is wonderful to work with. She helped me train our 4 month old mini goldendoodle in easy steps, and Reilly was accident free in no time. She has a terrific way with dogs; she is calm and knowledgable. Michelle has continued to work with me and Reilly--training Reilly to walk on leash, come, sit, stay, leave it, and currently, keeping her off the kitchen table. She is reliable and professional. I give Michelle my highest recommendation as an excellent trainer. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Eileen! It has been a pleasure working with Reilly and your family and watching her grow into a well-behaved, loving member of the family. Well done to all of you! Michelle

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter