Michelle McCarthy dog training reviews

Michelle McCarthy

Expert Dog Trainer, Michelle McCarthy

See below for all reviews for Michelle McCarthy, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Lisa D
Lisa D Middletown, Orange, New York | July 15 2019
Michelle empowered me to take training into my own hands and improve both of my dogs behavior. I am grateful to her commitment and genuine desire to truly help me understand their language and regain my role as the pack leader. For the past couple of years my English Bulldog, Jerry, would act aggressively towards visitors, barking and growling and even trying to nip them if they went to pet him at all. Within a day of training with Michelle, we had him obeying our commands and remaining away from new guests until I called him over to say hello. His disposition seemed to change immediately as soon as Michelle taught me how to refocus him and maintain control over the situation. Not only did these strategies work for Jerry, but they also did wonders for our stubborn, noisy beagle Stella. She remains calm before walks now instead of barking like crazy and acting out of control. Michelle gave me the skills and knowledge to effectively train my dogs by keeping them focused on me and my leadership ability. I am utterly amazed at the results. I look forward to continuing my homework with both of them to further their improved behaviors. Thank you Michelle! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you for your kind words, Lisa! It was wonderful to see Jerry and Stella respond so quickly to you. You did an amazing job, and you know I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Joan C
Joan C Piermont, Rockland, New York | July 03 2019
Marco is a 2-year old Morkie rescued from the streets just hours before being placed in our home. He is house-trained and very affectionate but he is also very frightened of other people and dogs. His response to this fear is aggression and uncontrollable barking. Michelle McCarthy came to our home and helped us to better understand the motivations and triggers behind Marco's aggressive behavior. She patiently worked with us and him to customize training exercises to help redirect his behavior and make him more comfortable in his new home. In just one day there was a noticeable difference in his demeanor and we continue to work with him, confidently, knowing that we can call Michelle at any time for support and advice. We would highly recommend both Bark busters and Michelle McCarthy. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you so much Joan! Marco is very lucky to have you guys on his side. He's a great dog and with some dedication he will begin to feel safe and trusting. I'm here to help every step of the way! ~Michelle
review image
Shaynelle M Stony Point, Rockland, New York | May 16 2019
We had lost all hope with our Australia shepherd. He was becoming increasingly aggressive against the family and strangers and every day was a struggle. We had used another trainer before and done multiple private lessons with little to no improvements. We could not take him out of the house anymore and we're also scared to have guests over. As our last chance decided to try Michelle based off the reviews. I was honestly doubtful at first but after the first lesson I was amazed. This is a whole different approach to training that I never imagined. We saw improvements immediately! After working with our dog for the last 4 weeks he has greatly improved. We now have respect from and control over our dog. I recommend Michelle over any other training programs out there Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you for your kind words, Shaynelle. I loved working with you and your Aussie. He's a sweet boy who had found that aggression was a strategy that worked for him. Once he learned he didn't need that strategy, he was able to relax and make better choices. I'm always here for you guys. ~Michelle
review image
Helene D Pearl River, New York | September 14 2018
Michelle was amazing!! I highly recommend her. She was patient with our entire family. It was well spent money. My puppy stopped jumping and nipping and pulling on the leash with a few simple commands.We need to follow through on everything Michelle taught us. Thanks so much Michelle!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Helene! You have a wonderful family who is very dedicated to your two pups. Keep at it and I'm always here to help! ~Michelle
Jodi B
Jodi B Monroe, Orange, New York | August 04 2018
Michelle is amazing! She is kind and patient. She really took the time to explain things to the entire family. We had immediate results with our 7 year old dog who usually does not listen to anyone. Our new puppy is also learning! I highly recommend Michelle!!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Other, Puppy management, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Jodi! I really enjoyed working with your family! You guys did great and I look forward to seeing your progress as you continue to work with your pups! I'm always here to help when you need me! ~Michelle
review image
Marsha A Tappan, New York | July 16 2018
Michelle really understands how dogs think, and how and why they respond to us humans in the ways they do. We spent a lot of time practicing what I need to do with him so that his behavior is appropriate. Permalink
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Marsha! I have really enjoyed working with you over these years. You and your dog have been through a lot together and I am so glad to have been here to help you see things from his perspective. I'm always here to help if you need me. ~Michelle
review image
Eliamarie S West Haverstraw, New York | July 05 2018
Totally awesome, Michelle was amazing! In just a few hours I had a totally different dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Elia! Your pup was definitely a feisty little fellow, and I'm so happy to hear that he is settling down and being calmer now that you are in control. Good for all of you! I'm always here to help if you need me! ~Michelle
review image
Christine G Airmont, New York | July 02 2018
Michelle is absolutely wonderful and has helped us so much with our dog! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Christine! Valentina is an adorable little pup and I so enjoyed working with you guys to help her fit into your busy family! ~Michelle
review image
Mariah D New Windsor, New York | June 08 2018
AMAZING RESULTS IMMEDIATELY First off let me say Michelle is an angel. She has such a calming demeanor that will bring confidence to any dog owner with any kind of issue. Upon our first encounter, Michelle was very attentive as well as engaging and completely in tune with exactly what issues we were having with our great Dane, Harley. She really took the time to completely understand the scope of what the issues were that I was desperately struggling to address. Before Michelle came, Harley showed overprotective, dominant, and assertive behaviors to the point that we couldn’t even invite friends or relatives into our house. We were not able to introduce him to anyone without it ending in growling and barking. Which brings me to the barking, both dogs would bark from dawn to dusk at anything and everything. For the last 2 years, we have not had much of a social life nor have we been able to have guests over because the dogs were essentially running the household. Within 1 hour Michelle gave us the tools we needed to communicate with the dogs to begin reclaiming our household. By the second hour, Michelle was able to enter our home and have a conversation standing in our living room. Normally Harley would have charged towards her but he stayed put in the other room. She is the first person in 3 years to enter own home without the dogs being secured via gates, crates, or closed doors; and it not because she trained the dogs. Instead, she taught us how to change our behavior. My husband and I were both shocked and amazed! We didn’t expect those kinds of results in a few hours. The best investment we have yet to make! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Mariah! I absolutely loved working with you guys and was so impressed by your dedication to your relationship with your dogs. I'm always here to help if you need me! ~Michelle
Lauren D
Lauren D Suffern, New York | April 16 2018
We adopted an excitable Pointer mix (Felix) who we thought would settle in with our family. After almost a year, he was still barking at my husband, lunging at people and dogs on walks, and greeted anyone who came to our house with incessant barking and jumping. We were at our wit's end and my husband was ready to give Felix back to the foster family. I picked up a Bark Busters card at my Veterinarian's office with Michelle McCarthy's name and title of Dog Behavioral Therapist and Trainer. Can I say that that was a most superb decision? Michelle came to our home and spent time with us, educating our family on everything from the different ways dogs communicate to our own body language and voice tones. After "training" us, we trained with Felix both inside and outside of our house using solely natural methods. We worked on everything from reclaiming our front door and his constant barking to walking on a leash. The improvement was immediate! Already the lunging at passersby (We live on a cul-de-sac.) has stopped. Our neighbors were shocked! I highly recommend Michelle McCarthy at Bark Busters if you are looking for a trainer, and I have already referred her to a neighbor down the street after he complimented Felix's leash behavior and responses to my commands. She was thorough with "training" us humans, incredibly patient, and we felt she genuinely cared about Felix. She was so wonderful that our elderly dog took some training tips just by listening and observing her with Felix! We look forward to our future sessions with Michelle and we are grateful for the lifetime support! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Michelle : Thank you Lauren! Your dedication to Felix is amazing and I am so happy to hear how well you have done with him! I'm always here if you need help! ~Michelle

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter