Theresa Nichols dog training reviews

Theresa Nichols

Expert Dog Trainer, Theresa Nichols

See below for all reviews for Theresa Nichols, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Marion S
Marion S Alexander City, Alabama | March 14 2021
Our family was Very impressed with Theresa yesterday. Bella and Piper barking was really out of control. Theresa gave us different techniques to use to let them know who's boss. And communicated to Robert & I how we needed to take control and be the pack leader. Already see improvement. Looking forward to more Peace and Quiet.. ??? Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Jackie S
Jackie S Midland, Georgia | March 09 2021
I cannot tell you how pleased I am with our first session. Joey & I learned so much & his reaction to me demonstrating my mama pack leader status was fantastic! Theresa is a real professional who is also a kind gentle warm person. I cannot recommend her highly enough! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Shellie P
Shellie P Columbus, Georgia | March 08 2021
Theresa has been a fantastic resource for us. She was professional, knowledgeable, prepared, and energetic from the start of our initial lesson! She helped us outline realistic goals for our pup and explained their methods in ways that helped us understand the importance of good training. Theresa is also very responsive and is willing to go the extra mile for her clients. An example of this would be when our pup wasn’t doing well with our Bark Buster collar, and she drove back over to our house the next day to give us the Bark Buster harness. Thank you Theresa for helping us build a better relationship with our puppy Zeke! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Sandra J
Sandra J Opelika, Alabama | March 07 2021
Last September we adopted a German Shepard named Soldier. We had no clue what we were getting into. This dog jumped, barked, pulled, mouthed, and had no manners. He had high anxiety when my son went to work and you could forget approaching the car when he was in it. One night he pulled me down onto the ground, jumped on my daughter and that was a wake up call. I knew that Theresa from Bark Busters had worked with several dogs at the humane society, so desperately I gave her a call. After explaining our situation, Theresa assured me that she could help. We saw a huge difference in his behaviors after the first session. We learned that Soldier believes that he's the leader of the pack when he shouldn't be. We continue to see daily improvements using the training tips Theresa gave us. We're looking forward to the second session. Thank you Theresa I'm so glad I called you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Meagan R
Meagan R Columbus, Georgia | March 01 2021
Our dog, Piper, was a completely different dog in just the few hours that Theresa was in our home. Having a less stressed dog who listens and knows who is in charge is going to make a world of difference in our home. In just a few hours, she was responding so different than what we have been used to for the last six months. We were at our wits end with her behaviors and in the few hours Theresa was here to help me work with her I could tell a difference in her anxiety level and her behavior. I was able to go in my kitchen without a dog under my feet, answer the door without her coming too, walk her on a loose leash without her pulling in front of me. The results were amazing. Theresa will be back in a month and we will continue to work with her everyday at home to see a dramatic difference in our sweet dog. After a few hours of training she is worn out and sleeping peacefully in our living room, which would have never happened before. I am so glad we sought some extra help with Theresa from Bark Busters! We truly couldn’t have done it without her. She is so patient and kind. We never would have gotten this with other forms of training we looked into! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Digging, Jumping up, Pulling
Alison B
Alison B Fort Benning, Georgia | February 27 2021
I hired Theresa to help with my rescued dog, Oscar whose fear and anxiety led him to biting. As a self professed type A personality, I had done an exhaustive search for any and all information to help me help my new canine pal but the information out there is overwhelming and conflicting to say the least. After our first session, I felt confident that Oscar’s behavior would change for the better so long as we could maintain the new dynamic that Theresa had helped us to create. What’s more is that Theresa even ensured I was set up to use the same lessons and tools with my other dog, who I’ve had for 5 years now, in an effort to get the entire house living peacefully. I so appreciate the time and patience as well as the genuine caring Theresa invests into those who ask for her help. I would absolutely recommend her to anyone looking to improve their relationship and their life with their dogs. Well worth the money. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Digging, Jumping up, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Chris K
Chris K Auburn, Lee, Alabama | February 21 2021
Theresa came highly recommended by the Lee County Humane Society when I asked them for help with our family dog that had bitten one of the children. After we decided to work together, she sent me some information to get me prepared for our first meeting. Even though she was greeted at the door with loud barks and bared teeth, she kept her cool and within about 1 hour he was eating out of her hand. I was impressed, but the real work was yet to come. She walked me through several different exercises/activities to recondition his behavior and train me to set the tone for what was expected in the house and out on walks, and gave me some equipment to use while training. While neither I nor Bodie were perfect right away, the progress was astounding. She recapped each of the activities with me before she left, and I felt very confident in 6 or 7 of the 8, but that's ok. Part of the package she sent me later was a detailed action plan for the first 4 weeks, including a checklist for the daily activities we are supposed to practice, and a reminder on what I was supposed to do with each one. OK! Even now just a day or two after Theresa has started with us, this dog is the best behaved it's ever been. He used to bark in my face every time I would get dressed because he knew I was going out somewhere and there was a chance he could go on a car ride or a walk. He also used to crowd me in the kitchen while I was making dinner or getting his food ready or his treats ready. But one of the early things she taught me was how to hold a space in the kitchen to work when I want, and to let him in during normal times. I decided to test that right after she left by making myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Normally when he smelled peanut butter he was *right in there* hoping to get some for himself but this time he stood patiently about six feet away, and just watched until I called him and I was finished. It was the same thing for filling his food bowls and stuffing his toys with treats. Amazing!! I cannot tell you how much more enjoyable it is to get dressed in the morning and come downstairs and put my shoes on and have a breakfast without a dog barking in my face the whole time because he expects to go for a walk or go for a ride. He's still there next to me happy as ever, he's just not barking! We're still working on the "loose leash" walking techniques, and it seems weird to have to correct him all the time instead of letting him wander around, but he's starting to figure it out, and that means less corrections. Honestly it's better exercise for both of us when he does it correctly because we keep a good pace. He still gets to pee and poop and enjoy the outside, but we actually get moving well enough to get some real exercise, and it's much more enjoyable and less strain my back if he's not pulling the whole time. I'm excited to see how far Bodie and I can take this training, we're both learning at the same time. I feel like I made the right decision to hire Theresa with Bark Busters, and I look forward to showing her how much progress we've made by the next time we all get together. Thank you for making my dog more fun to be around, and safer too. I can't tell you how much it means, but you saw it on my face. I WISH we had done something like this earlier. If your dog is running your house, and/or sometimes out of your control, please do something about it - call Theresa and get some help. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Recall, Toileting
Erin M
Erin M Fort Benning, Georgia | February 21 2021
Theresa was great at answering our questions during and after training. She was very knowledgeable and responsive. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Julie V
Julie V Auburn, Alabama | February 20 2021
Theresa is amazing! After only one training session our dog, Kenzie, is already behaving better. Theresa showed us how to effectively communicate with Kenzie by establishing ourselves as leaders in the dogs eyes. Having the knowledge to address behavior issues is such a relief. Some of the issues we worked on are growling/barking at people, jumping up on people, claiming our space(eg keeping her out of the kitchen when we’re cooking...), and walking well on a leash with distractions. Kenzie is worn out from the session, so we’re done for today, but I am excited to practice our new skills tomorrow. We were feeling really frustrated with our dog’s behavior and heard about Theresa’s training after trying several other places. The combination of Theresa’s methods and that she came to our home seem to be just what we needed. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trica B
Trica B Cataula, Georgia | February 04 2021
My sweet Lil Bud, the barker, has already changed his tune. I hope I’m as fast a learner as he is! My house is already quieter than before Bark Busters arrived. I believe he’s happier and calmer... and so am I! He’s worn out from all his learning this morning. I’m so happy we’re on the right path and we now know who the pack leader is...thank you, Theresa ? Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more